We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, incredible location, amazing staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
West Lafayette, Indiana
1 review
“Great experience, incredible location, amazing staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Although I was already excited about my family's reunion at the ranch, once we arrived I was thoroughly impressed and even more excited. One of the main ideas impressed upon the ranch is that each guest is to be treated like family, and the staff really stood out in this.They are extremely friendly from the moment they pick you up at the airport, learning your name and the relationship you have with others you arrive with, even taking time to learn about your personal history.

When we arrived, the rooms were clean and tidy, and had a very distinct western cowboy flair. The beds are surprisingly very comfortable, even the small twin beds. All the normal amenities are provided and the rooms are serviced just like a hotel, despite being cabins.

The experiences here are fantastic. Integral to this ranch is horseback riding. There are trips almost every day, during which you grow accustomed to your assigned horse and vice versa. At the end of the week, your pair is a well-oiled machine - which is important for the week-ending cattle drive.

The view from the ranch, situated on the side of Black Mountain, is awesome. Even better is the variety of views seen around the mountain as you ride up and down each day, and especially the one from the top of Black Mountain.

If you like the outdoors, horseback riding, great views, fantastic staff and endless enjoyable activities and entertainment, this is your place. I'd recommend this to anyone who has ever been even slightly interested in being a cowboy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Couldn’t have asked for a better place for our family vacation; which consists of 17 people!!! The setting is wonderful; away from all the daily distractions. The views are breath taking. The staff makes you feel like one of the family. So much it was sad to leave all our new friends. The horses are personally matched with each rider’s ability and are well taken care of. The food is beyond amazing! The cabins and rooms are all very comfortable and we did not want for anything. The pool is refreshing after a long ride. The saloon calls your name for relaxing and making new friends after a day’s activities.
The memories of our week at Black Mountain will be hard to match! In fact, we are working to plan our future trip already!! Not to mention our children are anxious to be old enough to work at Black Mountain for the summer!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

This was the 3rd time in 5 years that we've stayed at BMR and, as my husband said when we left....'see you in 2012!' You can't beat the staff; the friendliness of each and every one of them makes you feel like you're spending the week with family. The food, whether it's the first night BBQ, steaks at Jake's lake, fajitas at pack camp or Chris's 3 course meals at the lodge, is first class and you never walk away hungry. We've stayed in the same cabin each time only because it's at the top of the hill and furthest from the lodge, letting us walk off the desserts we couldn't resist. For us, this vacation is all about the riding and being outdoors as much as possible. My husband has less riding experience than my daughter and I (she wasn't able to come with us this year), but they're always able to match our horses so that he can go on the same rides as us. We've gone on some long rides (6-7 hours) and seen some beautiful country with BMR, but even on shorter rides you definitely aren't shorted on the scenery. Ending up in the saloon with a cold drink, a game of pool and a visit with the other guests and wranglers is just an added bonus to each awesome day.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

After reading many dude ranch reviews and doing lots of homework , we chose BMR. This place lived up to our expectations. The ranch is well off the beaten track and takes you well into the mountains, all very picturesque. Due to our holiday itinerary, we only stayed 4nights, but when we did arrive we were overwhelmed with the reception we received from the staff and the other guests, everyone was so very friendly. Within an hour or two of our arrival, we were on our horses (Quigely was a star!) and off for our first trail into the hills lead by our very own wrangler Molly. The accommodation was a very rustic wood cabin with real log fire and very comfortable beds, very welcoming at the end of an exhausting day. The food was top notch thanks to the Chef Chris and the kitchen staff. At the end of each evening guests and staff gathered in the saloon for drinks, chat and on occasional dancing. It was here you really got to know your everyone, who quickly became very good friends. Included in the week was a days white water rafting which was exhilarating. My wife was unsure at first, but afterwards said it became a highlight of our trip. Later in the week we also went to the rodeo. This became more than we expected as we experienced an awesome thunder and lightening storm with torrential rain. We travelled with our 9 year old daughter who made some great friends straight away, we hardly saw her from morning till night because she was having so much fun. Finally a thanks to the staff who were all really nice but a special mention to Molly who took great care of us all, to Jimmy whom I got on with like a house on fire and helped plan some of our holiday and his wife Chris who cooked up a storm in the kitchen every day and to all the other guests who made the trip so special. If we were to plan another ranch holiday, we would be afraid to book any other as it is unlikely they would be able to compare with this wonderful place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

There was never a dull moment for the grandchildren. The variety of activities satisfies guests of all ages. Family style food served in the dining room was above our expectation for a ranch setting. Expect the cabins and facilities to be rustic but comfortable. The owners are personally involved and ensure individual attention to each guest and group. They matched up each guest with a horse according to their riding ability.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

Can I rate Black Mountain Ranch higher than 5 stars? I would if I could! The staff was SO nice and accommodating, the rooms were clean and I loved how rustic they were, beds made out of logs, old horseshoes as curtain tie-backs, cowboy pictures, ect.
Every day was a new and incredible experience that my family will NEVER forget. The dinner ride, where they cooked dinner over an open fire at Jakes Lake; the Pack Camp, where we rode horses up in the mountains, ate dinner, sat around a campfire and told jokes and sang songs (thanks to Andrew!!), slept in tents, and woke up to a full breakfast cooked over an open fire! (complete with HOT TOWELS to wipe the grime off!); we went on a ride and had lunch at a quiet spot, went to a rodeo in Beaver Creek, went White Water Rafting, and went on a Cattle Drive, which was SO much fun. The kids even got to rope the calfs and help hold them down while they got branded. How cool is that?
We have 3 boys, 17, 15, and 11, and I"m sure it's a trip they'll remember for a lifetime. We had our own wrangler (Amanda) which was awesome! She tailored each day to meet OUR needs and what we wanted to do, and made sure we had a good time.
And one of the best parts of each day? Hearing the dinner bell! The food was truly AMAZING, and the kitchen staff couldn't have been better! Most meals were buffet style, but we had 2 sit down dinners, both with incredible food and service! We would all meet down at the saloon after dinner, where you could have a drink, play pool, listen to music, sit around the fire and talk, and it was always a lot of fun; especially talking to the owners and hanging out with the wranglers and all the staff. They were ALL super nice people, and so much fun to be around.
It was also a lot of fun meeting the other families that were there, I'm sure we'll remain friends and keep in touch.
If you're contemplating a vacation to Black Mountain Ranch, JUST DO IT! You'll be glad you did! It's a trip of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadsworth, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

My family and I spent the last week of June at Black Mountain Ranch. We cannot begin to express the awesome time we had. My daughter (age 11) cried the night before we left, as well as, the morning of the day we were leaving because she did not want to leave. The entire staff , from housekeeping to kitchen to wranglers, was always courteous, friendly, helpful and happy. The meals were gourmet, not hamburgers and hot dogs. The horseback rides were customized to fit our needs and wants. Our wrangler checked with us every morning at breakfast for the type of ride we wanted: long, short, high in the mountains, or down in the valley, fast or slow, and if we wanted to ride morning and/or afternoon. The ride up to the top of Black Mountain was extraordinary. At the top you could see for miles the beautiful Rocky Mountains. The horses are well trained to keep even the most inexperienced rider calm. The overnight pack trip was loads of fun. The dinner ride was at Jake's Lake where we ate grilled steak and chicken. We even learned to fly fish! The cattle drive had us all yelling, and laughing and calling to the cattle to move them down to the ranch. Learning to rope young calfs made my arm hurt, but I would do it again in a heartbeat.

The cabin accommodations were very clean, very comfortable and spacious. The beds were soft and warm, because at night it got a little chilly, but it was relaxing to hear the brook gurgling outside our cabin window.

I am unable to pinpoint one specific thing that we liked because we thoroughly enjoyed everything. My daughter got up every morning to watch the wranglers bring the horses back onto the ranch and every night we watched the "horse stampede" back out to the pasture.

On our last evening, the guests were invited to the owners mountain ranch home for appetizers and cocktails. If that doesn't give you a warm, toasty feeling, I don't know what will. Take my advice and go to Black Mountain Ranch for a week of spectacular views, loads of fun and entertainment and most importantly, family bonding. The Lerch Family, Wadsworth, IL.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mc Coy
Lodge & Spa at Cordillera 4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews Super 8 Kremmling 3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Mc Coy, ranked by popularity

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Mountain Ranch to your Saves list