We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
Save Saved
You added Black Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

What an amazing vacation! My (new) husband and I chose Black Mountain Ranch for our honeymoon. It might seem a bit crazy to spend your honeymoon on a Dude Ranch but it was exactly what we were looking for and I can't recommend it enough!

During our week on the Ranch we met families and independent travelers - the Ranch can handle any group of travelers, all you have to do is bring your adventurous spirit.

The staff are so warm and truly lovely. They are great with kids, great with adults who are kids at heart and great with adjusting city folks to life on a working cattle ranch.

The setting could not be more stunning. Every day you're surrounded by horses and landscapes as far as the eye can see. Your daily schedule is really up to you! Trail riding, arena riding, a trip to the shooting range, learning to rope, playing horseshoes, shooting pool, take a swim in the pool, go rafting, fishing, canoeing...see what I mean!

One night dinner is served at the lake, you ride there and back. One night everyone sleeps out at Pack Camp, and you ride back the next day. You pick the difficulty of your ride (easy, medium, hard) and once you arrive at Pack Camp your tent is set up and hot food is waiting for you. Plus campfire songs and the most beautiful night sky and stars you could ever imagine.

The food is so delicious with lots of options for your whole family. Breakfast and lunch are buffet-style and most days you order breakfast at dinner from a few options. Plus endless cookies on hand fresh-baked daily.

I love vacations like this - limited decisions! All you have to do is pick a few things every day and the rest is taken care of.

Your wrangler is your guide for the week but anyone on the property will help you with questions and everyone has skills they're really great at and willing to share their tips and tricks from practicing roping to learning to Texas 2-step in the saloon in the evenings. Kids included!

Your horse is your best friend for the week. You'll be shocked at how much more comfortable you feel on a hose by the end of the week. This goes for both experienced and non-experienced riders.

Not having a cell phone was a blessing and we didn't miss it one bit. What a treat to really be on vacation and not be attached to your phone. There is limited wifi, but we didn't use it and didn't miss that either. There are of course phones on the property and ways to check back in with work/family if you have to.

Towards the end of the week, I mentioned to some of the families that I was surprised not to see one single kid meltdown or anyone not smiling all the time - the parents all agreed that since there were endless options and activities the kids were always occupied and that left everyone happy and tired at the end of the day. Same goes for adults!

As for us, it was a really romantic trip. We had tons of time to spend alone in the wilderness but also time to get to know some really cool families and some amazing staff, cowboys, cowgirls and wranglers.

Thank you to the May Family at Black Mountain Ranch for over 20 years of service. It was absolutely a vacation we'll never forget and will be telling friends about for years and years to come.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
19
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This for me was a dream come true. What an amazing and life-changing experience. From start to finish I lived the dream. First of all, the ranch is just amazing. The scenery, the views, the horses, the cattle drive...there are no words to describe the beauty and adventure of a lifetime. You get assigned a horse and by the end of the week you know him/her very well. Ranch is like a little town, even have their own saloon with music and dancing into the night!!! You have the freedom to participate or not in activities, depending on your taste. The food is amazing. Cooking out under the stars we had the most delicious food made on a campfire!! Every morning we had buffet breakfast (even pack camp we had marvelous food); lunch varied but always excellent, and some of the dinners were gourmet dinners you would spend lots of money for. If you love to eat...this is the place. Trail rides were awesome and breathtaking. Someone always available to take you where you wanted to go or available to partake in the other activities such as skeet shooting or arena work. There's also the pool and hot tub. The accomodations were amazing...so clean...beds were so comfortable and comforter so comfy. Day of water rafting was an amazing fit. Colorado River was awesome. And the people at the ranch.....so down to earth, hard working, and there for you....to make you happy. They couldn't do enough for you. I cried when I had to leave and hope to go back again real soon. If you're looking for a working dude ranch and the vacation and fun of a lifetime...this is the place to go!!!!

Room Tip: Our cabin was lovely and at top of hill. All the accomodations were generally in the same area and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Black Mountain Ranch is a one of a kind vacation. The owners and wranglers make you feel a part of the ranch not just a visitor. Everyone is especially friendly and all of the staff goes to great lengths to make sure your every need is taken care of.

The accommodations are extremely clean and comfortable.

The food is 5+ star (amazingly even the packed lunches we took on trail rides. I won't spoil the surprises)

I was especially impressed with the quality and care of the horses. These animals work hard and all (75+) are in excellent condition. They do an amazing job of matching the horse to the rider's ability.

The range of activities is also a plus. You can choose what you want to do from riding all day, to soaking in a hot tub or pool, white water rafting, camp out or just hanging out and relax.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Until now I’ve never been motivated to post an internet review but after our holiday at BMR I felt compelled to change that. At the time it felt like we were having the best holiday ever and several weeks later my view hasn’t changed. Whether it’s the family owners or the rest of the staff, all of them are hard-working, enthusiastic, fun loving and dedicated to making sure you have a great time – day and night. Add that to the stunning mountain scenery, wonderful riding terrain, a full program of optional events and a hefty supply of great food etc. etc. and you can see why it works so well. One important tip - think carefully before you book BMR, only those people who can cope with a totally brilliant holiday should go.
Bill, Jen, Robert, England

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Amazing experience. Black Mountain Ranch is run by a friendly, caring family and staff, and do everything they can to make your time at the ranch a wonderful experience.

Beautiful setting for a range of adventures: horseback riding (on trails in the mountains or in the arena for barrel racing, etc.), trap shooting, lassoing calfs, cattle driving (on Saturdays), hiking, whitewater rafting, fishing, swimming, hot tubbing, and more. The setting is great, but it's the people that make it a great experience.

When you arrive, you meet your wrangler for the week, meet your horse, and start to outline your week. Your schedule is up to you: while there are some activities scheduled throughout the week (whitewater rafting, camping out one night, dinner rides into the mountains, cattle driving), you have the opportunity to create your own schedule. Want to relax, nap, read, hot tub? Go ahead. Want to go ride your horse hours into the mountains? Your wrangler will help make it happen.

Every day starts with a great breakfast, and every day ends with a great dinner. And on most nights, dancing, drinking, and playing pool with the cowboys at the saloon on the ranch.

Get away from it all, get off the grid, and go.

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but consider a private cabin for a special experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great vacation and awesome location for a family reunion!! We had a large group with ages 9-56 and there was something for everyone. This is the 4th ranch we have visited and was the best. Nice cabins, excellent food, superb horses and wranglers and some of the most beautiful rides in the west! The staff went out of their way to accommodate our large group. If you want a vacation that REALLY gets you away and that the entire family will remember, this is the place....Best memories... shooting guns, herding cattle, hanging out in the saloon (yes, the kids too), spectacular scenery, sleeping under the stars (on the one night pack trip) and meeting wonderful people (staff and guests).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is truly the best vacation you could ever want even for those who have never riden a horse. The staff makes sure that the horse and activities fit each and every person. They treat you like family the entire week and make sure you do what you want to do when you want to do it. Ride up into the mountains or on a slow trail, take a fast ride in the flats, practice riding in the arena. The wranglers are very skilled and work with every rider to make sure they are comfortable on their horse. Learn or practice your target shooting at the range. Take a great whitewater raft trip, throw a line in the lake and sit back and relax. Then really be prepared to have the best meals ever. From Breakfast to Dinner you will never be disappointed with the amazing food cooked and served by a first class staff. The cabins are very clean and kept up daily by another great set of house keepers. You are treated like family from the minute you arrive and when you leave. Leaving is the hardest part because you just made friends for life with the entire staff and othe guest. We plan to return for another vacation. This is truly the one vacation spot you will never forget.

Room Tip: Ask questions all the questions you want - there are no surprises here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.