We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Time Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Lewisville, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Time Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

After months of research, we chose BMR for our summer 2012 vacation...and so glad we did! Oh, where to begin, the horses, the food, the rides, the staff, the May family, and our wrangler Victoria made this a vacation to remember! So many activities to keep any family member busy and content, or (for this single mom) not-so-busy and content. Already signed up for 2013 and "chomping at the bit" to get back! The research is done...choose Black Mountain Ranch. It's the best of the best!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    93
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
18
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Even though I wasn't a horse rider I had agreed to join my partner here for a weeks vacation. I had seen all the other activities on offer and that was good enough for me. However, I ended up riding every day. The staff were extremely patient and helpful. I was able to try different horses & saddles. It was the most amazing experience. OK I'm no John Wayne but I can highly recommend a stay here. Previous 'tripadvisors' have said all the great things about this ranch and activities but what ties it all together is the May family and wranglers who run the place....I can't praise them all enough. What a lovely environment to spend some truly quality time. Enjoyed it so much I'm coming back with my son!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have chosen Black Mountain Ranch after receiving information from all dude ranches in Colorado.

Here are our impressions:

Details:

Accomodation: The rooms at BMR are are very good equipped, designed with love and were very clean. (similiar to 4 or 5 star hotel)

Food: The Kitchen crew created some outstanding meals which are definately high above average hotel food. You would never expect such good food at a dude ranch. Absolutely high class.

Staff: The staff is very kind, all wishes were fulfilled and as a guest you are treated like a good friend or even a member of the BMR family.

Activities: We had much fun riding riding varied trails. (not a single one twice!!!). The wranglers are well trained and even a good and skilled rider can still learn from them. We also loved the shooting range.

Overall: It´s the May familiy and the staff that made the Cowboy experience so outstanding. We have been to more than 200 differnt hotels, bed and breakfast ... and have never felt such a great hospitality as on BMR. If you are worried why there is no TV in the room: The last thing you will need ther is a TV. You will have so much fun and such a good time, with a mixture of adventure and relaxation that you won´t even think about a TV (or going home after the week))

We would absolutely reccommend BMR and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time on this trip. As others have said, really friendly, great food (Bob rules), and the very best views. There is so much to do whether you are an experienced rider or a total novice. We will be back.

Arran

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This vacation is the best place to bring your family, or as we did spent our 25year Anniversary there. The May Family & Staff our very friendly, and lots of fun. We played the true part of Cowboy & Cowgirl...We have already booked for next year!!!! No doubt we will be back! Plenty of Food and serious partying going on. This is our favorite vacation spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This ranch couldn't be friendlier, better organised or more comfortable. All the staff without exception were friendly and fun, the accomodation superb, the food (thanks to Bob) was way beyond my expections (I won't forget that prime rib in a hurry).

The ranch is very relaxed, there is a packed program but no obligation to do anything you don't want to do. If you want to ride trails, work on your skillls in the area, fish, shoot or whatever, they will make it work.

The saloon is the social centre of the ranch, many don't have one!

Hot tubs and pool well maintained.

Much smaller than some ranches enabling a much more intimate and friendly atmosphere.

PLUS excellent value.

No wonder they have such a high percentage of repeat guests. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Elm Park (number 10) which was one of the newer cabins. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

this vacation at bmr was one of the top vacations i have ever been on. the staff and the owners were the nicest and friendliest people you will ever meet in the world. they were always there for anything you wanted or needed. the food was outstanding and plenty of it, if you went hungry at bmr it was your own fault. the riding, the scenery the other guests were just amazing. i highly reccomend anyone who wants to have the time of their life visit this ranch as soon as possible.

Room Tip: cabins were very spacious and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mc Coy
Lodge & Spa at Cordillera 4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews Super 8 Kremmling 3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
View all 0 hotels in Mc Coy, ranked by popularity

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Black Mountain Ranch to your Saves list