We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mc Coy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Mountain Ranch
Save
You added Black Mountain Ranch to your Saves list
4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Munich
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We have chosen Black Mountain Ranch after receiving information from all dude ranches in Colorado.

Here are our impressions:

Details:

Accomodation: The rooms at BMR are are very good equipped, designed with love and were very clean. (similiar to 4 or 5 star hotel)

Food: The Kitchen crew created some outstanding meals which are definately high above average hotel food. You would never expect such good food at a dude ranch. Absolutely high class.

Staff: The staff is very kind, all wishes were fulfilled and as a guest you are treated like a good friend or even a member of the BMR family.

Activities: We had much fun riding riding varied trails. (not a single one twice!!!). The wranglers are well trained and even a good and skilled rider can still learn from them. We also loved the shooting range.

Overall: It´s the May familiy and the staff that made the Cowboy experience so outstanding. We have been to more than 200 differnt hotels, bed and breakfast ... and have never felt such a great hospitality as on BMR. If you are worried why there is no TV in the room: The last thing you will need ther is a TV. You will have so much fun and such a good time, with a mixture of adventure and relaxation that you won´t even think about a TV (or going home after the week))

We would absolutely reccommend BMR and we will definately be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
19
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a fantastic time on this trip. As others have said, really friendly, great food (Bob rules), and the very best views. There is so much to do whether you are an experienced rider or a total novice. We will be back.

Arran

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This vacation is the best place to bring your family, or as we did spent our 25year Anniversary there. The May Family & Staff our very friendly, and lots of fun. We played the true part of Cowboy & Cowgirl...We have already booked for next year!!!! No doubt we will be back! Plenty of Food and serious partying going on. This is our favorite vacation spot!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

This ranch couldn't be friendlier, better organised or more comfortable. All the staff without exception were friendly and fun, the accomodation superb, the food (thanks to Bob) was way beyond my expections (I won't forget that prime rib in a hurry).

The ranch is very relaxed, there is a packed program but no obligation to do anything you don't want to do. If you want to ride trails, work on your skillls in the area, fish, shoot or whatever, they will make it work.

The saloon is the social centre of the ranch, many don't have one!

Hot tubs and pool well maintained.

Much smaller than some ranches enabling a much more intimate and friendly atmosphere.

PLUS excellent value.

No wonder they have such a high percentage of repeat guests. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: We stayed in Elm Park (number 10) which was one of the newer cabins. Very spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

this vacation at bmr was one of the top vacations i have ever been on. the staff and the owners were the nicest and friendliest people you will ever meet in the world. they were always there for anything you wanted or needed. the food was outstanding and plenty of it, if you went hungry at bmr it was your own fault. the riding, the scenery the other guests were just amazing. i highly reccomend anyone who wants to have the time of their life visit this ranch as soon as possible.

Room Tip: cabins were very spacious and comfy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

So my wife finally talked me into going here for a summer vacation. I was very hesitant as I'm a type of person that likes sand between their toes when taking a trip. Needless to say, this was my most favorite vacation--and we've been on many! I got to be a cowboy for a week and loved it...from the trail rides and cattle drive with the beautiful scenery, to the skeet shooting, the petting zoo, the four wheelers, "my" horse Bandit, the saloon(!), the food, and of course, the endearing staff. You can do as much or as little as you'd like and either way, take home a life-changing experience. You simply can not go wrong with BMR.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC Suburb
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Pros: The food was a highlight and attention to detail at mealtime was much appreciated! You are treated like family and it is very genuine. The location is amazing.....some of the most breathtaking views you will ever see. One reason we chose this ranch was the private accommodations. The saloon is also a plus and a lot of fun, not for young children. This is def not a dry ranch like many I reviewed. The hot tubs were a huge relief after a long day. Pack camp will be an experience of a lifetime.....one reason we choose BMR. The wranglers are very well handpicked and are a huge assess to this ranch. However, If you are use to riding horses ......this is your dream vacation...Which leads me to.....

Cons: I was not prepared at all for the long rides and once your 2 hours into the
mountains guess what, you have to ride all the way back. Up and down treacherous, very
steep terrain. When a wrangler says "I hope this is the right way".....I just wanted to whip out
my GPS and get home! If your afraid of heights this is not for you. My horse was not well
chosen for my riding inexperience but eventually was given a better horse. If you are a person
who likes to feel in control.....this may not be for you....if your a free spirit, don't delay!

I have since recommended BMR to many of my friends who are "horse people". We made some great memories and I lived outside my box and have not regretted it!

I almost forgot....no one prepared us for the altitude adjustment. We are very active and in good health. To walk from the dining hall to our cabin required us stopping to catch our breath....and not because we over ate.....when we arrived in our cabin we would crash for 30 min to regain ourselves.....no one ever mentioned this and we were shocked! Thought you should know.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Mountain Ranch

Address: 4000 Conger Mesa Road, Mc Coy, CO 80463
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mc Coy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mc Coy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us for a taste of the wild west. Your week long package includes lodging, all meals, unlimited horseback riding, an overnight pack trip, a longhorn cattle drive, whitewater rafting, fly and spin fishing, rifle and trap shooting, archery, a trip to a local rodeo and so much more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Black Mountain Ranch Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.