We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice jewel in Manitou Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Crags Estates

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Red Crags Estates to your Saves list
Red Crags Estates
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   328 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway Packages!
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice jewel in Manitou Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently stayed here and had a great time. The wife was skeptical when we entered our room because it didn't have A/C, but I assured her that the Colorado nights would cool it off. Boy did it. By morning we were both grabbing for the blanket. The rooms are immaculately decorated, but with touches of the modern. We did have a nice flatscreen that I could watch Manchester United's first game of the season. The property is conveniently located and the road that all 3 properties are on parallel Manitou Ave which is really nice. Breakfast in the mornings on the veranda are a must as you have a superb view of Pikes Peak. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the Rockledge Suite does not have air condition. It can get stuffy during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We thank you for you very kind words and input on the air conditioning situation for the Rockledge Room. The room is air conditioned but we have taken your words and worked on the venting as this room is on the central system. Again, thank you for the complimentary review of Onaledge at Red Crags Estates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    30
    8
    8
    7
See reviews for
30
104
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

An early October in '97 (?) snow storms hit CO while we were at the Crags. No way in or out for three days. All of us had the greatest time in the hot tub, sharing life experiences, and stories. The staff made the best of what food was left, spaghetti with tomato sauce never tasted so good, day four!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you! Yes, the wood fires crackling and the "quiet" of the snow falling makes for a very delightful atmoshere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Oklahoma, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We look for unique places to stay on our trips. The Greenstone Cottage Room at the Rockledge Country Inn met all expectations. The feather top bed was so comfortable that I wanted to take it home with us. Brett, aka Santa, and his elves were very hospitable and very accomodating. Brett gave us excellent advice on what to do in Manitou Springs on a rainy day. It is close to all the attractions in the Colorado Springs and Manitou Springs area. The trails at the Inn are well worth the short hike as they are very tranquill and scenic. We would love to come back during the Holiday season as I'm sure the Inn is decorated to the max - since Santa lives there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
I share these wonderful comments with staff on a regular basis and point out that we seek perfect scores across the board. But we are soooo happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend. There are three properties all within walking distance of each other owned by one person. He seemed understaffed or overcommitted or maybe a bit of both.

When we arrived, we had to wait for someone to come to the office. There was no way to let them know we were here. Also, another time when I went to ask for something, I again, waited and waited.

The room was o.k. - we stayed in the Carriage House. It wasn't oriented the way the photo on the website and the way they changed it made for a tight squeeze to get around the end of the bed, especially when one wakes in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and knocks their shoulder into the TV hanging on the wall.

Also, if you are over 5'3" you probably won't like the shower. I'm 5'3" and my eyes were level with the shower head so I had to bend down a bit to get my hair wet. My husband who is 5'9" had the water hit him on the chest. It also has a low ceiling in the shower so much taller and you'd hit your head on the ceiling.

One of the draws to staying here was a private entrance with a pretty little sitting area outside. It was not inviting at all. The chairs and fake plants were covered in dust. I finally had to ask that it be swept.

The parking was extremely tight and at one point instead of continuing to see-saw to get out of the area, we just backed into the grass.

Breakfasts were good and the views from the main property were nice.

There are other places in Manitou Springs that we've stayed and when we go back, we would probably choose one of these over Onaledge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Your review is very true in regards to staffing. We were one month removed from losing two valuable staff members and I was in the midst of training new staff. As such, items were missed and I humbly apologize. We have "reloaded" with professional staff and would love to have you return as you will undoubtedly see and feel the difference. And yes, the economical Carriage House room is a bit challenging for taller individuals, which is brought up in reservation conversations. Again, we would love to have a return visit for reassure you and others that our efforts are to correct issues described. Always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
295 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This B&B was up a winding lane in a beautiful setting overlooking Pike’s Peak. It was located in a beautiful old house amidst beautiful landscaped grounds.

Brett, aka “Santa”, checked us in and (owns?) the B&B. He was very talkative and nice and showed us around. We were in the Fleur de Lis Suite on the first floor. Very nice; King size bed with a feather-topped mattress; a faux fireplace; a High Definition large screen television; windows with stained glass; and robes.

The bathroom was huge w/ a Jacuzzi and a shower with a long “strange” shower head. There were curtains on both sides of the shower/tub, but not across the front, so water got all over the floor. There were also lots of mirrors in the bathroom, but the lighting was not as good as I wanted, and there were no mirrors in the bedroom. (I have noticed this in other B&B’s and can only surmise that a man did the decorating! How's that for being sexist!) There was also a bidet in the bathroom, and I am wondering if anyone ever uses it!! It is supposed to be for hygiene, and to be honest, this was the first one I had ever seen.

We enjoyed wine and cookies on the terrace, and Brett made reservations at The Craftwood Inn just down the hill. Highly recommend.

We slept great. It was a wonderful bed and linens and it was very quiet. Breakfast was served outside, and we met some very interesting guests. We enjoyed a huge Apple Pancake with Walnuts / Fruit / Juice / Coffee – Everything was delicious and very filling.

The view was beautiful overlooking Pike's Peak. We looked through his telescope and saw lots of people climbing “The Incline Trail”. It looked very steep and not something I would ever tackle. Getting down would be worse than going up. We could also see Pike’s Peak Visitor Center. An absolutely beautiful morning and we wish we could have stayed another night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Well, we wanted the mirrored shower to be part of the unique shower for two and yes, the shower head is actually a body sprayer, but we were seeking the enjoyment of two under the shower! Enough said about that...the rest is up to your imagination! Thank you for your wonderfully encouraging words and look forward to your return visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Onaledge in the Carriage house for 3 of 8 nights on our Colorado vacation and wish we had spent all 8 nights there! The view are amazing, the breakfast is fantastic and the property is unreal. Brett is an excellent Innkeeper and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. I can't say enough good about this place. Will be back as often as I can!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
As one can tell from reading our reviews, we continually seek an optimal experience for our guests. I thank you for the personal compliment.... energizes me to continue the pursuit of excellence for any and all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewood, co
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Rockledge was the perfect find for us. Everything about this inn was unique and wonderful. A bonus for us were the extensive pathways throughout the property that were fun to explore. On property, there are 3 B&B homes, with a total of 22 rooms, I believe; all run by the same team. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Zoe who provided a glass of wine, some nibbles and a tour. Our room, El Ocaso, was nicely sized, bedding was great, the bathroom was large. Very bright (with amazing block out shades for sleeping in), and quiet, being at the end of the hallway on the second / top floor. There is a large DVD library available in the living room. That night, we walked to a fine restaurant 2 homes over, recommended by Brett. It was so nice to not have to climb into the car again after the 2 hour drive from Denver + sightseeing earlier in the day. The next morning, while my husband slept in, I headed out for a morning power walk. I wandered through the surrounding neighborhood, down the Garden of the Gods river trail, and along the road that leads to Garden of the Gods (plenty of hills). Breakfast on the terrace afterwards was fabulous; the pink canyon walls provided an amazing backdrop. I truly appreciated the quiet atmosphere that we encountered at Rockledge, as versus battling the masses at larger resorts. This inn provided the upscale comfort that we were craving and more. Sadly enough, soon thereafter, we were off to our business meeting 10 minutes away at the Broadmoor. We are so happy that we selected the Rockledge and look forward to returning again.

Room Tip: We were able to peek into most of the Rockledge rooms; all were oversized and well appointed. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
What more can I say other than thank you for your kindness and encouragement to keep doing what we do! What you stated is what is soooo special about the inns at Red Crags Estates, quiet solitude with the enjoyment of other wonderful guests that, in another setting, you would not have the pleasure of meeting. Yet, if absolute solitude is sought, you may find this at our inns!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manitou Springs
1.0 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
#5 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garden of the Gods Club and Resort
Garden of the Gods Club and Reso...
#6 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Manitou Springs
Days Inn Manitou Springs
#4 of 13 in Manitou Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 246 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange, A Wyndham G...
#3 of 107 in Colorado Springs
4.5 of 5 stars 1,340 reviews
0.8 mi away
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Manitou Springs
5.0 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Crags Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crags Estates

Address: 328 El Paso Blvd, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Crags Estates 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1874 B&B located in Manitou Springs, Colorado offers style and elegance for Pikes Peak area visitors. Continuing a long tradition of hospitality, Red Crags Bed & Breakfast Inn's renown spans more than 100 years. Serving as a bed and breakfast since 1989, this celebrated 4-story Victorian manor envelopes the discerning guest in a time of beauty and impeccable atmosphere. The main house of the inn is more than 7,000 square feet and presides over a 2-acre estate overlooking Manitou Valley. From the B&B, Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, and Garden of the Gods may be seen, providing the guest with a unique perspective of the area. Stepping inside the manor is like stepping back in time. The main floor common area is characterized by lovingly preserved antiques, hardwood floors, and soaring ceilings. Gather around the fireplace for some conversation in the parlor, which also features a large bar and antique piano. On a sunny day, take some time to relax in the solarium and enjoy views of the surrounding mountains and Pikes Peak. A rare cherry wood Eastlake fireplace is the focal point of the formal dining room. All guestrooms are appointed with king-size beds with additional amenities as wood or gas-burning fireplaces, jetted tubs, antique ball and claw tubs or other aspects unique to providing our guests with live history.Outside, sit on the covered decks or walk through the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. You can relax by the gurgling brook. Meander to the bluff and take in the best view of the Manitou Valley. Beneath the Colorado blue skies, our air is clean and clear virtually every day of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Crags Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Crags Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.