We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hidden gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Crags Estates

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Red Crags Estates to your Saves list
Red Crags Estates
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   302 El Paso Blvd., Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Getaway Packages!
South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

It's a little out of the way and hard to find but our cab driver had a gps so it was really no problem. I can't say enough good about this bed & breakfast. My husband and I stayed in the Carriage House Room at Onaledge and had the best time. If you are looking for something fun and different, this is the place for you. It was very private and quiet. We even had the large jacuzzi all to ourselves. Couldn't have asked for a nicer Inn Keeper either. Lots of fun trails to walk right out the back door. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We want your visit to be "worth every penny" so we definitely thank you for stating the same! Our Carriage House is very unique, not for all, but the privacy with quick access to the grounds is very appealing to many! Again, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    23
    6
    6
    7
See reviews for
25
86
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

My husband and I visited Manitou Springs for the first time this May. It is a Lovely town, very fun and romantic. We found Onaledge B&B becaus I had done some previous research and it looked very inviting and romantic. I called and asked about availability and Mo was very friendly and welcoming. She showed us all the available rooms and we chose Onaledge, as it felt very private. It was very comfortable and quiet and we really enjoyed ourselves. We walked to dinner next door and it was delicious.

Mo's breakfast basket with her AWESOME breakfast muffins and boiled eggs were very welcome in the morning! We REALLY enjoyed our stay and look forward to visiting again someday! Highly recommend for a Romantic getaway!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Onaledge during a trip through Colorado. We happened upon it while walking through Manitou Springs and decided to check it out. The staff was very friendly and gave us a great rate. The rooms were all great but we chose the room that used to be the carriage house, which was very no frills but perfect for us, because it was a little more budget friendly and honestly we liked being secluded from the rest of the house. It had all stone walls which kept the room dark and cool. It felt like a romantic little cave. The bed was new and very cozy! The bathroom was small for my husband of 6'5'', but that is to be expected in a house of that age. The room even had a large flat screen tv and dvd player, so we were able to watch a movie before bed. The grounds were well kept, the jacquzzi out back was so relaxing, and the views were stunning. Overall, it was clean, cozy and unique.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
You have kindly stated the positives of the Carriage House, as well as indicating it may not be the best choice for tall individuals...yet you explained! Yes, this is an old home and guest rooms were designed around the historic architecture, maintaining the integrity of this historic estate. Thank you for your positive and informative feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

I was so excited when I heard this is where my son and his future wife was going to spend their honeymoon night together. I wanted to surprise the couple by paing for the room which I called 3 weeks in advance and wanted to order the special packages as a surprise for them to be in the room that honeymoon night. The special package I purchased was:(1) Cheese/Fruit/Cracker Tray w/sprakling cider for $35.00 and (1) Bath Basket $45.00 I asked what the basket contained and was told bath crystals, soaps, bubble bath, loofahs and few more things which I was told was a good size basket that looked really nice. WOW! So I ordered them to be in the room. Traveled from Florida to Colorado Springs for the wedding and went to the Bed & Breakfast on the day of the wedding Dec 5 with my son to pickup the key. Got a tour of the Bed & Breakfast Inn and the room they would be in and was very impressed it is a beautiful place. Before I left I wanted to be reassured that the special packages I ordered as a surprise would be in the room when the couple got in the room that evening and was told yes and they would make them really nice for them. WELL.... come to find out the next day at the airport flying home and talked on the phone to my son and was told that no such packages was there! My son mentioned to the manager Bruce about the bath basket and was told they forgot...now before my son and his new wife left gave the couple a small basket that had not one thing in it that was told to me when I ordered the specials. Okay so I called and talked to Bruce and complained about being told what was in the basket and what they received after the couple asked about the basket and told Bruce they did not even get the Cheese tray that I ordered and paid for as well and of course it was not a pleasant conversation with Bruce. We did settle on at least receiving half of what I paid and he would send me a check for that amount. WELL as of today January 11 NO CHECK NO COMPENSATION AT ALLll!!!! HAVE I HEARD BACK FROM BRUCE NO AND I'M OUT THAT MONEY. I would have gone back for a vacation at the Bed and Breakfast but after being lied too NO not going to happen!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Unfortunate experience with staff that no longer serve Red Crags Estates. Our packages are very nice and this should have been a very pleasant surprise. We are very diligent in providing the room and services ordered/requested. This will not happen again. Humble apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Oh,

I miss all the Inn Keepers at the Rockledge and all its associate's homes. Thanks to Moses, colonel, Santa Klaus. Marcus thanks for all of your recommendations from the fried chicken to the bias son burgers and other restaurants suggestions. Lupe thanks for your friendliness and Kevin just for being yourself. Thanks for opening your home to the public! you guys are unforgettable and your hospitality as well. Sorry to Brett's breakfast on the last day, but I had to rush off to take care of existing health problem. The Lord willing, see you all in the Spring!

H&Mo, Boulder, USA

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiloh, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and taken on a quick tour of the main house to learn about the history of the estate, after that we were promptly shown our room in the Rockledge Country Inn and were given firewood for our woodstove. Some rooms have a fireplace, some have woodstoves and some just have regular vented heat. I recommend a stove/fireplace to add some romance to the air. The bed had a french feather topper on it and was extreamly comfortable. Rooms have a coffee pot in them so each morning you can sit on the outside deck and take in the breath-taking views. Breakfast was served at the main house and was delicious, freshly cooked each morning, not microwave crap. There was a hot tub at our house if you wanted some bubbles at night. Manitou night life was a mile down the road with lots to do from eating, shopping to even stopping for some beverages. There are also lots to do not far from the estate as well.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed at the Red Crags over a weekend in late Oct. and have to say its a truly charming place. The house was very well maintained, as were the rooms. The views were priceless! Top that off with wild deer running around the property eating and playing, it was a wonderufl stay.

The CaraBell room is a very nice room for two people! Plenty of room with a nice home feeling. Check out the Red Crags, you will not be disappointed. Brett is as friendly as can be, as is Lupe who makes you feel like family. Thanks to both for a great stay. We hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, General Manager at Red Crags Estates, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Such kind words, I am humbly grateful....Brett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Crags Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Crags Estates

Address: 302 El Paso Blvd., Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Crags Estates 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our historic 1874 B&B located in Manitou Springs, Colorado offers style and elegance for Pikes Peak area visitors. Continuing a long tradition of hospitality, Red Crags Bed & Breakfast Inn's renown spans more than 100 years. Serving as a bed and breakfast since 1989, this celebrated 4-story Victorian manor envelopes the discerning guest in a time of beauty and impeccable atmosphere. The main house of the inn is more than 7,000 square feet and presides over a 2-acre estate overlooking Manitou Valley. From the B&B, Colorado Springs, Pikes Peak, and Garden of the Gods may be seen, providing the guest with a unique perspective of the area. Stepping inside the manor is like stepping back in time. The main floor common area is characterized by lovingly preserved antiques, hardwood floors, and soaring ceilings. Gather around the fireplace for some conversation in the parlor, which also features a large bar and antique piano. On a sunny day, take some time to relax in the solarium and enjoy views of the surrounding mountains and Pikes Peak. A rare cherry wood Eastlake fireplace is the focal point of the formal dining room. All guestrooms are appointed with king-size beds with additional amenities as wood or gas-burning fireplaces, jetted tubs, antique ball and claw tubs or other aspects unique to providing our guests with live history.Outside, sit on the covered decks or walk through the beautifully landscaped grounds and gardens. You can relax by the gurgling brook. Meander to the bluff and take in the best view of the Manitou Valley. Beneath the Colorado blue skies, our air is clean and clear virtually every day of the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Red Crags Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Crags Estates, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.