We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Skies Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Skies Inn
Save
You added Blue Skies Inn to your Saves list
402 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Elizabeth, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Can't wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

By far my best experience at a B&B EVER! Romantic, quiet and comfortable. We stayed in the Morning Glory room. LOVED the arbor over the bed with the lights on dimmer switch! Enjoyed the jet tub and I now can't imagine having to get up and get dressed for breakfast anymore - is there anything better than that beautiful basket discreetly delivered in the morning? We felt like the ONLY couple staying there - it was so quiet. Can't wait to go back for another stay!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Uh-huh, another lovely review about our full hot breakfast that we deliver to each suite in the morning. It is all "baked from scratch" with wholesome ingredients, and we can tailor it to special dietary needs. Allergic to gluten? Allergic to eggs? We have a breakfast for everyone. We are totally committed to delivering an amazing breakfast every morning. Eat it while still in your jammies, go back fo bed to snooze a while longer, enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    8
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
55
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed as a family of 4 in the Indian Paint II room. The grounds were beautiful, the breakfast was fantastic, and the location was convenient and quiet. My children said the trundle beds were a little lumpy but they loved having separate beds. The king slept great. The shower was delightful. The microwave, coffee pot, and fridge were convenient. The free dvds to borrow were fantastic as the children were often worn out by mid afternoon with all the nearby hiking and the altitude change. I would highly recommend this suite for families.

Room Tip: Has a Hot tub, no swimming pool. Indian Paint II great for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Just a note to say that we have a lovely memory of your family stay with us. Your children were very *interesting* as well as being very *interested* in their daily activities. As is tradition in the mountains, they left the walking sticks that they had fashioned under our ancient apple tree for the next hiker to need one. What a fun reminder for us of meeting you! It was excellent to visit with the four of you because you chose many educational activities which we will share with other families who visit us. We think that our area is a great home schooler opportunity. Looking forward to your next visit to Colorado!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife, son and daughter got to spend only one night at this outstanding B&B. The owners were totally accommodating as well was the rooms and amenities on their property. We loved out two rooms which were clean and decorated very nicely -- the tile work in both bathrooms was amazing. We loved being close to downtown Manitou which has great shops and restaurants and spring water flowing from decorative fountains for all to enjoy. The owners were also great at telling us where to go to enjoy ourselves, such as the horseback ride they suggested to Garden of the Gods. They were also a phone call away to assist with directions to the property and to the Academy where we went horseback riding. Breakfast was excellent with a crust-less quiche, muffins, fresh cut fruit, coffee and all the rest. We are vegetarians and have not had a better breakfast. Agree with Steve-BEADG, read the history of the proprietors and the property when there. We will definitely go back and stay at Blue Skies if ever in Manitou Springs. Thanks Mike and Sally -- your are wonderful hosts!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be excellent given location of the B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
It makes innkeepers happy to have happy guests! We have room books in which guests write us fun-to-read stories about their stays, and online reviews are just as much fun, too. We are pleased that you liked our breakfasts since we have designed them to appeal to almost everyone. We find that the biggest question about breakfast is whether there will be meat or not, so we have learned not to include it. We can meet other dietary requests as well - just ask Sally, the innkeeper cook.

Years ago, we started bragging about being "The Muffin Queen of Manitou" because our baked-from-scratch muffins are the *Star* at breakfast time. A guest suggested that Royal Title for us. Repeat guests request muffins by their favorite flavor - fresh blueberry, pineapple/coconut, apricot/orange, applesauece spice, pumpkin, date and our irresistible Magma Cappucino Muffins. Why "magma?"... because they are served hot and the chocolate chips' yummy goodness is still melty, like magma in a volcano.

Please visit again: we've baked over half a million muffins in 16 years, and we'd like to reach a million!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My family and I (husband, myself, children ages 12 & 9) just returned from a lovely 7-night stay at this B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The room was immaculate and beautifully decorated, the grounds are enchanting, the hot tub is relaxing, and the breakfasts are a vegetarian feast (eggs, muffins, fresh fruit, coffee, milk, cereals, juice)!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
We still remember this little family and their interesting, home-schooled children. Each day of their trip had a theme or goal, and the children absorbed every detail of the places that they visited. In true western tradition, the children fashioned walking sticks for hiking trips. Just as early pioneers did upon their departure at the end of their stay, they left their hand-fashioned walking sticks here for others to use. The walking sticks leaned against the apple tree where they had been left until other guests took them to use. It was very sweet and was a lovely teaching moment about how people took care of each other in the Old West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My wife and started staying at Bed and Breakfasts whenever possible when we travel. We started our tour of Colorado at Blue Skies and are glad we did. The room was clean and well appointed; we think we had one of the handicap friendly rooms as the bathroom and shower were enormous. Take time to read the history of the Inn in the binder...you will find that Blue Skies is Sally's handiwork and it is wonderful.

One of the things we enjoy about a B & B is meeting the other guests over breakfast. With the breakfast being delivered hot in a basket to your door, we missed this, but found this alternative rather romantic.

Room Tip: Take time to wander around the grounds if there isn't a wedding going on. Very peaceful setting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Weddings lead to anniversaries, and romantic our inn is chosen for both. We thought it was sweet that on your 30th anniversary, a young couple was saying their wedding vows here in one of our gardens. We hope that they are together for as many happy years as the two of you! Just a note to other future guests - our weddings are scheduled for mid-day when most guests are out for the day, so your quiet will not be affected during the evening. We hope to see you on another anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 201 cities Reviews in 201 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Mike and Sally are a magic pair! They have created a wonderland at BLUE SKIES B&B. As you stroll through the 2&1/2 acres it's impossible to believe that you are still in a town. The landscaping, the surprises around the next turn, the varied multitude of plants, and the artistry that it takes to create this fantasy seems beyond imagination. BUT this is only the beginning. Once you enter your "room" ( I say "room" because suite doesn't exactly fit and room certainly doesn't) it's more like a personal fantasy. Just when you think that you've seen all of the amazing details another one catches your eye.
It's hard to believe that this couple has built and maintained this fabulous wonderland of relaxation, beauty, and fascination. However, as you listen to Sally and Mike tell about their life experiences and determination you can understand how this magical couple has fulfilled their dreams as well as helping to give us a small part of that dream
Thank you so much, Mike and Sally, Jeri and I hope to see you next year!
Hassie
P.S. To anyone reading this revue please realize that there is a negative revue or two out there, DON'T BELIEVE IT! This is the BEST B&B ever!

Room Tip: It really doesn't matter, they are all FANTASTIC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
How fun to have our B & B described as magical. Like everyone who has something that they do every day, we tend to forget how fortunate we are to be here in the funny, wonderful, quirky place that we have created. People tell us that we are "living our dream," and that is surely true. We love having our guests share it with us through their eyes. We hope that all of our guests will experience some magic here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just returned from our eighth stay at the Blue Skies Inn and it never fails to be exactly what we needed.

Six years ago I was looking for a B&B for a getaway for my husband and myself. We had never stayed at a B&B and were looking forward to the experience. To say the least Blue Skies Inn set the bar very, very high. We have stayed in a couple of other B&B's since then and none have even come close. There is a reason we keep returning......

The rooms, the hosts, the amenities, the food and the atmosphere are second to none.

The Rooms:
They are absolutely beautiful, welcoming, comfortable and impeccably clean. Each one is a work of art, large yet cozy, all with incredible bathrooms.

The Hosts:
Mike and Sally are wonderful people, they make you feel welcome and as if you have known them forever. If interested, please don't hesitate to ask, they will give a wonderful tour (inside and out) and answer any and all questions you may have with pleasure. They are warm and engaging people.

The Amenities:
Each suite is wonderfully appointed with everything you would need. If you can find something you want all you have to do is ask. The gardens are plentiful and gorgeous. The hot tub is wonderful. The list of movies that can be delivered to your room is incredible.

The Food:
The hot, homemade breakfast delivered to your room each morning in a picnic basket is mouthwatering. Breakfast in bed? in your room? in one of the gardens? or anywhere you choose……. maybe the Garden of the Gods? The choice is yours.

The Atmosphere:
I have yet to stay at Blue Skies when I don't see the deer waking through the property as we eat breakfast on the porch or in the gardens. Close to everything but tucked away so you feel like you are in your own little world. The atmosphere is what you want it to be, romantic, relaxing, adventurous, rejuvenating........whatever YOU need.

This is the magic of the Blue Skies Inn, and Mike and Sally make it happen. Not a single detail is overlooked and they have an innate talent for understanding their guest’s needs and adding special touches to make your stay memorable.
The best part of leaving, is knowing you can come back, and when you do you will be welcomed like an old friend.

Thank you Mike and Sally, for everything………

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at Blue Skies Inn. Each room is individually and exquisitely decorated, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueSkiesInn, Owner at Blue Skies Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2014
Some guests visit so often that innkeepers began to feel like part of their family. Conversations from the last visit automatically resume, and we ask about each other's children. Perhaps the precocious granddaughter has just started kindergarten, or maybe there has been an addition to the family. We share recipes or the best source for Colorado peaches. We are privileged to meet parents, and we hear stories of other places. Thank you to these faithful guests and to all of our guests for making our lives richer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Skies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Skies Inn

Address: 402 Manitou Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 2.5 secluded acres with year round stream and surrounded by hillsides of trees at the base of Pikes Peak. Our quaint village of Gothic Revival architecture holds ten unique 3-room suites handpainted by an artist. Spacious tiled bathrooms with tubs and enormous showers. Dine in our hidden garden courtyard or let us deliver a full breakfast to enjoy in your sunny sitting room. Enjoy a romantic retreat, family vacation or garden wedding. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Skies Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.