We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge to your Saves list
336 El Paso Boulevard, Manitou Springs, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Channahon, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our stay at Onaledge was absolutely delightful! The location was perfect, the grounds are stunning, and the house and views of the mountains are breathtaking! This B&B is a grand gem! Incredibly delicious breakfast, lovely antique furniture, fantastic inn keeper, courteous and attentive staff. It was so wonderful to see everyone's warm and welcoming smiles everyday they made you feel right at home! We had so much fun exploring the grounds and the B&B.
My husband and I had also decided to have our vows renewed while we were on our vacation. Brett renewed our vows for us right there on the grounds! We had a lovely experience and he did a fantastic job preparing this for us!
I would also like to mention how much there is to do there. We did so many fun things with our family! We visited Garden of the Gods (a few times), hiked up the incline, hiked the barr trail, went up Mt Cutler trail in Cheyenne Canon Park, visited Helen Hunt falls which is also in Cheyenne Canon Park, visited Cave of the winds, Shopped, and much much more. There was always something for us to do, but then it was so nice being able to go home to the peaceful and charming B&B.
Thank you again Brett and Staff for making this one of our most memorable Vacations!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    6
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
7
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Thank you for a wonderful stay at the Onaledge. Georgia (daughter) and I were there May 23 through May 25 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves—so much so that we did not want to leave. Georgia was thrilled with her paranormal encounter when she felt a definite tugging of her shirt while in the small bedroom. We were both in love with all of the Estate, but felt especially privileged to stay in the Onaledge Room. We hope to come back and stay in one or some of the other rooms. Manitou Springs feels like home to us, thanks to our stay with you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we arrived at Onaledge we couldn't believe how beautiful the entire estate Red Crags estate is. We were first met by Robert at the gate,who then directed us to his wife Susan up at the office. Before being shown our room we had wine and cheese out on the patio with Susan, who gave us a history of the town and estate. She helped us with places to go and things to see. Our room was the Red Crags room in Onaledge. Everything was immaculately clean, antiques were beautiful. Beds very comfortable. Our bathroom all so had a claw foot tub with shower ( I'm 5'8'" and had no problem standing under shower). We were able to see every beautiful room in the Inn as we had the place to ourselves for 2 nights. We meet Santa (Bret) later that night. Everyone was very friendly. Breakfast every morning was delicious. We enjoyed our stay so much that we booked an extra night! We definitely are planning a trip back soon! P.S. No problem with parking, plenty of spaces.

Room Tip: There didn't seem to be a bad room in the INN. Our room was the Red Crag and it was very large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
These are the results we seek to attain with all of our guests. We thank you so much for your kind words. Yes, we believe you cannot go wrong with any of our rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at the Historic Onaledge Bed and Breakfast in Manitou Springs, CO in March. Even though we live only about 25 minutes away, it was a wonderful get away from where we live. The Onaledge is in a quiet and peaceful area. A few minutes away you can walk around the shopping area or visit the near-by Miramont Castle, there are places to eat, etc.. The Onaledge was built in 1912 in the craftsmen style by the original owner. Inside are still touches of copper that he added to the house. The house is very charming and well kept. You are free to explore all the rooms in the house and enjoy a 10 person hot tub. The staff are all very friendly and Brett, the innkeeper is most gracious and willing to tell stories about the B&B. The next morning we enjoyed a very good breakfast next door at the Rockledge B&B. We had a great time. I would recommend staying at the Onaledge any time. Great place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Fireplace room which really is a suite. We enjoyed a cozy fire in the evening. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Our Fireplace Suite at Onaledge is indeed a very spacious and unique room. We are so very happy you agree. Your words are most gracious. We thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We recently stayed here and had a great time. The wife was skeptical when we entered our room because it didn't have A/C, but I assured her that the Colorado nights would cool it off. Boy did it. By morning we were both grabbing for the blanket. The rooms are immaculately decorated, but with touches of the modern. We did have a nice flatscreen that I could watch Manchester United's first game of the season. The property is conveniently located and the road that all 3 properties are on parallel Manitou Ave which is really nice. Breakfast in the mornings on the veranda are a must as you have a superb view of Pikes Peak. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that the Rockledge Suite does not have air condition. It can get stuffy during the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
We thank you for you very kind words and input on the air conditioning situation for the Rockledge Room. The room is air conditioned but we have taken your words and worked on the venting as this room is on the central system. Again, thank you for the complimentary review of Onaledge at Red Crags Estates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed here on Memorial Day weekend. There are three properties all within walking distance of each other owned by one person. He seemed understaffed or overcommitted or maybe a bit of both.

When we arrived, we had to wait for someone to come to the office. There was no way to let them know we were here. Also, another time when I went to ask for something, I again, waited and waited.

The room was o.k. - we stayed in the Carriage House. It wasn't oriented the way the photo on the website and the way they changed it made for a tight squeeze to get around the end of the bed, especially when one wakes in the middle of the night to use the bathroom and knocks their shoulder into the TV hanging on the wall.

Also, if you are over 5'3" you probably won't like the shower. I'm 5'3" and my eyes were level with the shower head so I had to bend down a bit to get my hair wet. My husband who is 5'9" had the water hit him on the chest. It also has a low ceiling in the shower so much taller and you'd hit your head on the ceiling.

One of the draws to staying here was a private entrance with a pretty little sitting area outside. It was not inviting at all. The chairs and fake plants were covered in dust. I finally had to ask that it be swept.

The parking was extremely tight and at one point instead of continuing to see-saw to get out of the area, we just backed into the grass.

Breakfasts were good and the views from the main property were nice.

There are other places in Manitou Springs that we've stayed and when we go back, we would probably choose one of these over Onaledge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Your review is very true in regards to staffing. We were one month removed from losing two valuable staff members and I was in the midst of training new staff. As such, items were missed and I humbly apologize. We have "reloaded" with professional staff and would love to have you return as you will undoubtedly see and feel the difference. And yes, the economical Carriage House room is a bit challenging for taller individuals, which is brought up in reservation conversations. Again, we would love to have a return visit for reassure you and others that our efforts are to correct issues described. Always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Onaledge in the Carriage house for 3 of 8 nights on our Colorado vacation and wish we had spent all 8 nights there! The view are amazing, the breakfast is fantastic and the property is unreal. Brett is an excellent Innkeeper and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. I can't say enough good about this place. Will be back as often as I can!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcrags, Manager at Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
As one can tell from reading our reviews, we continually seek an optimal experience for our guests. I thank you for the personal compliment.... energizes me to continue the pursuit of excellence for any and all guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge

Address: 336 El Paso Boulevard, Manitou Springs, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast at Historic Onaledge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.