We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blew me out of the water!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   711 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Blew me out of the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have traveled to Manitou Springs and stayed in several different places around town, but this is by FAR the best experience we've ever had. The hotel is AMAZING and furnished to a T. The rooms are large, comfortable and well provisioned. The owners are the nicest people you could ever meet. But the BREAKFAST was the topper. Bananas Foster. My mouth is watering as I type! Avenue Hotel will certainly be our 1st choice for lodging from now on!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the front of the house. The windows look straight down on Manitou Avenue. It was de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    26
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
161
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ilford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived early but Gwen let us in straight away.Our bedroom which was very comfortable had an annex room so it was like two rooms,with a beautiful view overlooking the main street. Breakfast which was great was served on the veranda which was about 50 feet above street level so provided a lovely view of life passing by.Downstairs the rooms were very large and well decorated where one could just sit and relax or borrow one of the many dvd's available.Manitou Springs also turned out to be a gem worth visiting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Well appointed and very clean room, fantastic breakfast (pecan-crusted French toast!), and a location that can't be beat! Came home very well-rested (and a little sad to be gone so soon). We will continue to return and thanks again for another great weekend getaway

Room Tip: The Ruxton room is lovely with, lots of sunshine, dark wood paneling for a more masculine feel, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Gwenn and her staff were amazing! I hosted a writer's retreat at Avenue Hotel this past weekend. Our group was beyond impressed with the lovely accommodations. The rooms were large, comfortable and beautifully decorated.

We arranged ahead of time to have to Gwenn supply snacks for a reception on Friday night. I left it up to her to decide what to serve. Everyone was delighted with the delicious assortment of goodies. Breakfast each morning was divine.

We couldn't have found a better place to host our event than Avenue Hotel B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

this is absolutely an incredible place to stay! Gwen was a fanulous host (and cooks a great breakfast, try the bacon it is to die for) and because of a cancellation she moved us to the Ruxton room. She was very knowledgeable of the area. very well appointed, romantic and full of ambience. We have already talked to our friends about returning for a long weekend. Manitou Springs is a great little community. Lots of interesting local shops. fantastic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfasts were large and delicious, and it was fun to meet the other folks at the table each morning. The location in Manitou Springs is perfect! I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the Carriage House Loft for 3 nights. The carriage house offers extra privacy, but we looked at the other rooms and all of them were great. Gwen, the owner/operator is just so down-to-earth and helpful for any questions that we had. She doesn't try to "sell" her b&b because she doesn't need to...it's just perfect. Her breakfast's were wonderful and got me up the Manitou "incline"! The deck area in the rear of the house is spectacular and you can enjoy the hot tub after a long hike (and you can have drinks in the hot tub as long as it isn't in glass) The complementary wine was an awesome welcome as well. Very clean, great location, wonderful breakfast, and a friendly host. What else can you ask for? Thanks Gwen for an awesome stay...we'll be back for breakfast soon!

Room Tip: The Carriage House offers extra privacy and has a great kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast

Address: 711 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience, the Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast a Manitou Springs bed and breakfast inn, the venue voted the best bed and breakfast in the Colorado Springs metro area the past 3 years. The 1886 Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, a stately Queen Ann, is beautifully restored with the guests comfort in mind. We offer a comfortable retreat and warm friendly atmosphere with complimentary beverages, wine or beer in the afternoon, homemade cookies and a scrumptious breakfast. Let us pamper you! Hosts Gwenn and Randy provide thoughtful amenities; locally made bath products, free movies, free WIFI. Explore the picturesque area then soak in the hot tub on the patio. Massage therapy can be scheduled in advance. With an ideal location in the downtown historic district all shops, galleries and restaurants are just a walk out the front door.The Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast is a great starting point for your Colorado adventure. Enjoy the many area attractions in Manitou Springs, such as Pikes Peak and the Cog Railroad, Garden of the Gods, Manitou Cliff Dwellings, and Cave of the Winds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avenue Hotel Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.