We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vistor from Iowa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs to your Saves list
Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   311 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Boone, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Vistor from Iowa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed 3 days at the Magnuson Hotel in Manitou Springs. Price is very reasonable. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful. The place was CLEAN, and QUIET. They have a nice indoor pool that feels outdoorsy, and a hot tub. I used the laundry facilities twice, and both times they were clean. They are also inexpensive, and the dryer runs long enough to dry jeans for a dollar. The rooms are non-smoking, but there are pleasant balconies and patios with chairs outside of each room for smokers. While there, I saw staff outside picking up cigarette butts and sweeping the drive. There are places to eat within walking distance, and the city of Manitou Springs runs a shuttle you can take downtown. The only "downfall" would be that there is a refridgerator in the room, but no microwave. Very pleased with this hotel and will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    11
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

The hotel is on the outskirts of town, so you can't walk into town, but there is a restaurant or two in walking distance. Our room was clean and updated. There are a lot of sites to see around this hotel, in fact you can walk to Garden of the Gods...a beautiful site to see. The breakfast was good too!

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor, on the east side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I come to manitou every year for the pikes peak hill climb and 4th of July. This year I stayed at the Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs. I enjoyed it very much. Amazing staff and Very affordable, The rooms were very clean as was the rest of the property. Internet was decent and what I expected being in a mountain town like manitou springs. Breakfest was free and had many choices. In my opinion the location was the best in town, less then 5 minutes from downtown manitou and 10 minutes from old Colorado city. Oh ya can't forget the great view of pikes peak. I would recommend the Magnuson hotel manitou springs to anyone wanting to stay in manitou springs or even the west side of Colorado springs.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here for 5 days. Nice stay. Touristy little town- could walk to the main downtown area in 15 minutes.
Clean rooms, okay breakfast of waffles, coffee, juice, toast and apples. Would liked to have seen more.
Not good wifi connection to work out of the room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Manitou Springs. This hotel was one of the few with a vacancy. They were mostly all full. Nice and spacious. Clean and cozy. Priced reasonable. This isn't a nice new modern hotel and many aren't in Manitou but accommodating. Great location for various fun activities.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wickenburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Magnuson Hotel in Manitou Springs during our holidays spent in Colorado. We had very interesting visits at Garden of the Gods, the Pike's Peak tram and the Dragonman's Military Museum. The worst experience was the Magnuson Hotel. Their WiFi worked sporadically, at best. It generally wasn't working at all unless you took your laptop into their lobby. The 'included breakfast' was minimal with no eggs, bacon, sausage or toast. Nothing hot except a waffle. No microwave, either, in the room or the dining area. The experience was so poor that I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If the room you choose is close to the lobby, you might receive Wifi internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SilverSaddleAB, Owner at Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at our hotel. We strive to provide great customer service here at the Magnuson Hotel. To address the issues you had with our hotel I would like to start by explaining that in our mountainous village internet service providers do not offer the standard "lighting fast internet" that most people are used to. They simply do not have the technology to provide in our area. We offer in room internet, Hard wired in each room, and a wifi signal throughout the entire property. The download speed averages about 4-5 mbps which I understand is not great but when guests visit this area their main goal is to explore the outdoors and have fun with their families, internet and TV is usually on the bottom of the list when visiting Manitou Springs. The second issue that needed to be addressed was our Free Breakfast. We advertise a free continental breakfast, not a full hot breakfast. In total we offer 37 different menu items which include an assortment of Coffee, Tea's, Juice, Danishes, Sweet Muffins, Bagels, Toast, English Muffins, Hot DIY Belgian Waffles, Hard Boiled Eggs, Oatmeal, Assorted Cereal, Assorted Fruit, And Yogurt. (including many condiments). We feel that for our price point, this is an excellent selection, also considering that the hotels in town that do offer a full hot breakfast are $40 higher in price. We are also 120 yards from an amazing breakfast only restaurant so if you are in the mood for scrabbled eggs and sausage its only $5 for their breakfast special. The Third issue was not having a microwave. We do not offer microwaves in our rooms because we have had an issue with guests burning popcorn which creates a very foul odor which prevents us from renting the room for up to 2 days. We do however offer a microwave in our Lobby for guest use during hours of operation so if they do need one they have access to it whenever they would like. I hope this response addressed your concerns adequately and we hope you will reconsider your next visit to Manitou Springs. I encourage anyone reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor to read our other amazing reviews and see that we are a Clean and Friendly home base for your visit here in Manitou Springs

Warm regards

- Arthur
Owner
Magnuson Hotel In Manitou Springs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great motel! Great price! The rooms were exceptionally clean and the beds sooo comfortable. Centrally located for all the sites and shops. Really nice indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi. Super contintental breakfast, ( not the ordinary coffee and donuts). And most importantly, the staff was extremely friendly and accommadating. Will be back next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs

Address: 311 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the foot of Pikes Peak and within minutes of area attractions, dining and shopping. The Magnuson Hotel of Manitou Springs offers clean and comfortable first class accommodations at affordable prices that will insure your family a comfortable stay. Major attractions including the Manitou Springs Cliff Dwellings, Cave of the Winds, Miramont Castle, and the Pikes Peak Cog Railway are all within 10 minutes of our hotel. Enjoy shopping in the Manitou Springs downtown historic district or eat at one of the unique restaurants Manitou Springs has to offer. After a fun filled day of adventure relax in our heated pool or jacuzzi. Our property offers many amenities including free high speed internet access, coffee maker, hair dryer, mini fridge, iron and board, free local calls, air conditioning, and flat screen TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnuson Hotel Manitou Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.