We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging Hike. No pain, no gain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manitou Springs Incline

Manitou Springs Incline
Downtown Manitou Springs, Manitou Springs, CO
Improve this listing
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Challenging Hike. No pain, no gain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Actual Visit: Several times over a 2 year span while in CO.

First time doing this and I was absolutely exhausted but proud to had made it to the top in a decent time. Each time after I tried to beat the previous time. You see people of all ages out there and on a few visits there is a guy that will do it 2x in one day and will lap you. There are even school sports teams that come out and do it together. I usually hike up and run the trail back down. Not only is it a good workout but the views are amazing, in some ways it's relaxing, and you can chat with people along the way. Do not do this without a water source!!! And if you can, carry a small snack with you to munch on so you're not feeling completely depleted.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    20
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Challenging for this stay at home mom but worth every step!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have done the incline four times now with my friend. The incline for me is one of those things you dread doing but once you reach the top you have a great feeling of accomplishment! Parking can be hard to find in the summer time if you don't get there early. The cost is $5, which is why I marked below there is a fee for this attraction, machine takes cards and they do check to make sure you have paid. Portable bathrooms are available just past the parking lot on your way to the base of the incline but that is it. Once you start remember to go slow, drink plenty of water and breathe if you are new to the incline. To avoid crowds go early in the morning before the sun comes up. The people you come across are very encouraging. Several spots are sketchy on the steps and some spots I need to use my hands to keep balance because of how steep it gets. Just be mindful of folks that are trying to make time and stay to the right so they may pass you safely. I have never taken the incline back down, I don't think I am ready for that challenge,instead we take a leisurely 4 mile hike down the Barr trail. There is also a bail out point from the incline if you need it. Enjoy it, the views from the top are amazing!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Springs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great cardio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Get a very early start especially during the summer. Lots of people and when the sun comes up it can be a more strenuous journey to the true summit.

Recommend that you refrain from heavy drinking the night before. Encountered several very young soldiers early one morning who were struggling and they were not even 1/2 way up! They confessed that they had been drinking the night before hence the struggle. Also suggest hydrating yourself hours before beginning the enjoyable, memorable, scenic ( if you look back towards town )
and challenging journey. It is a tough climb however it is exuberant to stand at the top while watching other people strive towards joining you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquille, Oregon
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Just looking makes my knees ache......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Long climb & quite a few people on the steps. If you are a fitness buff, this climb will test your cardio capability.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stadium Steps on Steroids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is an ambitious hike. If you just arrived from lower elevations, you might want to wait a day or two to acclimate. Just about anybody can make it to the top if you have plenty of time. Don't take your dog! Do take plenty to drink. Don't come back down by the steps, take the social trail to Barr Trail. Any of the locals that you meet at the top can help you find your way down to Barr Trail.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manitou Springs Incline also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Manitou Springs Incline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manitou Springs Incline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.