We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Colorado Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Colorado Lodge to your Saves list
El Colorado Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   23 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
Hotel amenities
Durango, Colorado
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had stayed here years ago. This time, we were traveling with dogs over the Christmas holiday. I wanted a room large enough to hold two large folding dog crates since we would be a week. We got a cabin with two rooms - it was great since I am early riser and husband is not. Dogs and I could use the other room early in the morning - turn TV on. Rooms were wonderfully warm, nice shower, good bed, park right outside your door. Great place to walk the dogs around the large complex.

Wonderful place for families. Picnic table outside most cabins. in nicer weather barbecues scattered around, vollyball court, pool, play equipment and those wonderful Buffalo in the front yard!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    10
    10
    7
See reviews for
40
11
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the El colorado Lodge last weekend and had the best time ever. Our cabin was abosolutly charming. We had a cozy fire both evenings there. The cabins are spotless and the service was top notch. The owners are truly the nicest people we have ever met. We have already made a return reservation for December and plan on going back every November when my mother visits from North Dakota. Check it out and have a great experience for yourself. Thank you El Colorado Lode and see you all soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have fire places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This was the second time I've stayed at El Colorado Lodge in Manitou Springs. The rates are great ($49-79/room depending on bed size).

This time, I stayed in a king room with a fireplace. It actually had two bedrooms with a bathroom. The rooms are a good size and would be fine for a small family.

This isn't a typical hotel. The rooms are actually little duplex-like buildings. The adobe walls are thick and make for a very quiet stay. The rooms are equipped with a fridge and small microwave, and mine had a desk as well.

Because the walls are so thick, they don't have wifi in the rooms but they do have Ethernet connections for laptops.

In the back, there is a playground, pool and hot tub. (We saw four deer at the playground in the morning!)

It is an older place, so if you're looking for new and fancy, this isn't for you. But, if you are OK with a rustic feel and modest, but comfortable accommodations, it's a good fit. The only thing I didn't care for was the super-powerful (sting-y) water pressure in the shower. Evidently the rooms have different shower heads though b/c my friend said that wasn't an issue in her room.

If I'm back in Manitou Springs, I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We picked the El Colorado Lodge on a whim as we drove through Manitou. It was an excellent choice! Ended up with a 2-room, 3-bed lodge which was more room than we needed. The place had a quaint cabin feel and we slept well with the windows open. In the morning I found two deer roaming the lawn behind our cabin! The location is great, walking distance (if you're amibitious) to Garden of the Gods, or a short drive. It's just a quick drive into the heart of Manitou or, the other way, to Colorado Springs.

The staff was also very friendly and helpful. I left some belongings behing on accident and they were very helpful in finding and returning them to me!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

El Colorado Lodge is a very quaint lodge in the cute little town of Manitou Springs. It is very affordable and in a great location. It isn't very modern, but perfect for a mountain retreat and relaxing time. It's literally 5 minutes from the beautiful Garden of the Gods and many other attractions. Easy to find and very accommodating!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Rooms 15-18 were clean with new TV and 2nd bedroom is very friendly for children (2 double beds in BR 2, King in main room) Kept to much better standard than reported in prior reviews. Recommend for family mountain vacation.

Room Tip: rooms 15-18. New TV, clean, not as reported by earlier reviews. 2 bedrooms ideal for family. Recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is the second time our family stayed here. Not fancy but there were comfortable beds and a serviceable kitchen.Pool and hot tub are great. Not a lot of housekeeping-clean towels and coffee but many times the beds weren't made. Not a big deal to us but might be to some. Staff were very accommodating. We will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Colorado Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Colorado Lodge

Address: 23 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Colorado Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adobe cabins at the foot of Pikes Peak on 4 acres. Distinctive, Rustic Southwestern Flavor. Seasonal Fireplaces & Heated Pool. Hot tub. Meeting Room,Party Pavilion,BBQ grills, some kitchenettes, Playground, Volleyball Court, Picnic Area, A/C, and Some Pet Friendly units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your El Colorado Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Colorado Hotel Manitou Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Colorado Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.