We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sahara Cafe

Sahara Cafe
954 Manitou Ave, Manitou Springs, CO 80829-1759
+1 719-685-2303
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $14
Description: The Sahara Cafe offers a variety of the Middle Eastern foods such as Falafels,Chicken,Hummus,Kabob,Baba Ganoush,and caters alot of events.
Restaurant details
Description: The Sahara Cafe offers a variety of the Middle Eastern foods such as Falafels,Chicken,Hummus,Kabob,Baba Ganoush,and caters alot of events.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food was okay, but not nearly as good as the Mediterranean we can get where we live. The decor was pretty much non-existent. The service was friendly, but we wished we had chosen some other place as this was just not at all memorable.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    32
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Republic MO
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Thanks TripAdvisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

On our first night in the area, we headed down to Manitou Springs to stretch out our legs. Based on the reviews, we decided to try Sahara Cafe. As previously posted, it doesn't look like much from the outside. But the food is excellent. We ordered dolma as an appetizer and really enjoyed them. The hummus is excellent. The kabob plates were very tasty and filling. My wife and daughter loved their chai tea latte. And even our 10 year old commented that our server obviously loved his job. Don't let the outside appearance fool you - this is a great place to stop and eat.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We went there because of other reviews from Tripadvisor and it was worth all that praise.

The server was so helpful in making suggestions as well as accommodating our requests

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“It's alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I ate here recently and the food, well its OK. For us it was not bad, it was not good. My husbands lamb dish was butchered terribly, and the meat very grissly and fatty. My falafle was decent. Nothing too spectacular. All in all nothing to write home about, but I was glad we tried it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wait staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We saw the good reviews but had a much different expierience. My wife and I ordered the Falafal platter and found it to be very dry and greasy on the bottom (i can only asume it was the bottom). The person waiting on us seemed good at first until friends came in then we did not see or here from her again. Finally another waitress cam over after 20 minutes to take care of us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sahara Cafe also viewed

Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
Manitou Springs, El Paso County
 

Been to Sahara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sahara Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.