We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and Comfortable!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff House at Pikes Peak to your Saves list
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 Canon Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Littleton, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Cozy and Comfortable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed here for our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful!! They asked if we needed directions to any of the local attractions which is something I almost never get asked.

The room we had was fabulous! Even though it is an old mansion, the room had plenty of modern technologies with a large flat screen tv, gas fire place and jacuzzi bath tub. The room had a very cozy feel to it with these amenities and the wonderful bed. The air conditioner was very quiet and you didn't hear the typical "THUNK" when it turned on. It was very quiet and we did not hear any of our neighbors during our entire stay.

Another great thing about the hotel is that it is located close to downtown, but not too close. This made walking through Manitou a very easy and fun experience.

We also ate dinner at the restaurant and it was excellent!! We had seafood and steak and both were cooked perfectly. The lobster bisque was also incredible! The service was excellent as we didn't feel rushed nor did we have to wait. The meals were also reasonably priced for what you received.

Overall, we would recommend staying here if you want a clean, comfortable, cozy room with a wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Request a room facing south to get a good view of the mountains and town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your anniversary here with us. We hope you will make a tradition of staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    87
    25
    15
    10
See reviews for
48
273
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wentzville, Missouri
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location and great place to stay when making a trip to Pike's Peak. Traveled with my sister and had the twin suite. It was just like being kids again sharing a room. But this bathroom was much nicer :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
It is nice to hear how families reconnect while at the Cliff House. We are happy to hear your sister and you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

In April, 2014, my parents stayed at the Cliff House at Pikes Peak for their 62nd anniversary. While it was their first visit to the Cliff House, they had been to the Pikes Peak region before ... the first time on their honeymoon in 1952! I believe they still have some memorabilia from that first trip.
I contacted the Cliff House the day of my parents' planned arrival on the outside chance we could upgrade their room. Maggie took my call and without hesitation was able to upgrade the room to the Simmons Suite with a view of Pikes Peak. While Maggie recognized the significance of my parents' visit and paid close attention to their comfort during their stay, I believe I can say with confidence that Maggie handles all of the Cliff House visitors with the same care and five start treatment.
My parents have traveled many countries, and the highest compliment they can bestow upon a hotel is to say that they genuinely felt "at home", which was how they felt while they were at the Cliff House. In the Simmons Suite, mom and dad sat comfortably by the fire reading books and enjoying the view of Pikes Peak from their bay window. They would have also loved to enjoy time on the front porch, but said the weather was a little too cool during their stay, however, have vowed to return.
The breakfast served in the beautiful dining room was another treat. The food was delicious, and Anthony efficiently attended to mom and dad, as well as to the other guests. The view from the dining room invites one to linger, and makes the hearty morning meal even that much more enjoyable.
Later in the month of May, a co-worker and her sister were visiting Colorado from Minneapolis and asked where to stay if they wanted to visit Pikes Peak? Of course I said "the Cliff House". I've just hung up the phone with her. She said that she and her sister are so thankful for the recommendation. They felt like "little girls" again exploring the historic hotel and enjoying visits with the locals. During their stay there was a rain storm. After the storm passed, she and her sister went to the Cliff House Red Mountain Grill for dinner and sat on the porch enjoying the food, the drinks and the view. She said she's never felt so peaceful and relaxed as she did during her stay at the Cliff House. They too have vowed to return, but this time with "significant others".
My husband and I try to book a trip to the Cliff House at least once per year. Last year my husband decided we must endeavor to stay in every suite.....he's wacky that way. We'll give it our best shot ! Don't miss out on the magic of Manitou. Make the Cliff House your home base for exploring this enchanted region. You'll be glad you did.

Room Tip: We have high praise for the Simmons Suite, Edison Suite, Firestone Suite and will keep adding to thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Terri,

Thank you for your review and for recommending us to your friends and family. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The staff here were all super friendly and helpful. The hotel has a lot of charm. It was also very close to pikes peak. And a short walk to shops and restaurants. The only drawback was the lack of lighting in the room. Very pleasant stay that I'd be willing to repeat.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Many of our guests love that we are walking distance to so much in Manitou Springs. On your next visit if you need additional lighting in the room please let us know and we will do our best to accommodate your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Took my wife here for her birthday - got a romance package in the Firestone suite. The room was fantastic - very unique and the wine, rose and strawberries that came with the package were very nice. Only downsides were the music that kept up until 10pm - there must be a loud bar nearby, and the bed itself - which is about 5 years overdue for a mattress replacement. We were both in the center of the bed due to the depression in it.

Had dinner downstairs that was good but not great. Overall a nice experience - 4 star, not 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there the night of May 27th in room 205, which was prince Ferdinand suite. The bathroom was spectacular, a heated seat as well as a heated towel rack, 2 sinks and a nice tub. Great view. The major down side was that we could hear water running through the pipes ALL NIGHT LONG probably for cooling purposes. We couldn't sleep all night. The manager, Carroll was super understanding and we agreed on a $75.00 deduction. Thank you to Carroll for being the perfect manager! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The Cliff House is a classic hotel that has been well maintained, upgraded and yet has kept the details of its time. The restaurant was wonderful with truly talented staff, incredible food (wow) and quiet, romantic dinner music. I loved it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carroll H, Front Office Manager at The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you so much for our kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#4 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.