We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, impeccable service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Save Saved
You added The Cliff House at Pikes Peak to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   306 Canon Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay Longer, Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Manitou Springs
Richardson, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful hotel, impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I had promised my wife this year, I would take more time away from work. We planned a long weekend, Thursday through Sunday, and chose the Cliff House based on a friend's recommendation. We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice! Such a beautifully restored hotel with impeccable service to match!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    245
    70
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
40
234
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I took a weekend trip to get away and had a wonderful time. The service at this lovely, historic hotel was outstanding. Everyone was so professional and courteous that it really felt like a pricey getaway, without the high price! I don't like to be hovered over too much, but the staff at the Cliff House seemed to know the right amount of attention.
For those who rated this hotel lower, due to the older fixtures should plan to go to a different type of hotel. This 100+ year old hotel was updated in the '90s, and still has a lot of historic decor and touches. Is it all perfectly updated? No. But is it well-kept and comfortable. The fireplace in our room was cozy and the short walk to shopping was perfect, with the huge snowflakes floating down.
To top it all off, the food was delicious. The free breakfast was more than you get at most continental breakfasts and lunch and dinner were outstanding! My husband still hasn't stopped talking about the trout. I would recommend eating at the hotel, but if you want something different for a night, try PJs Bistro.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Family unit needed digs for a few nights as we departed Denver and wanted to settle into our old stomping grounds in Colo Springs.

Lived and worked in Manitou Springs back in the early 90's, and even though it's nothing like it used to be, the Cliff House is now open and operating -- it was a burned out wreck the last time we saw it.

So, off to the web we went and lucked upon The Cliff House offering a Winter Special - $150 per night junior suite for 4 of us, plus a complimentary bottle of California wine (we chose the cabernet to take home to my in-laws).

The historic vibe of the hotel was enough to draw us to it's vintage environs but the room we got was filled to the brim with amenities. The suite is called the Katherine Lee Bates suite, named for the LGBT pioneer who penned the lyrics to what would eventually become the unofficial national anthem, America the Beautiful.

Practical history lesson for our kiddos, check.

Two comp bottles of water in the mini fridge, turn down service complete with chocolates, two-person jacuzzi tub, heated towel rack, heated toilet seat, flat screens in each room, room safe, sublime view of the mountains, and overly friendly staff (Ryan the valet rocks it pretty hard, and scored points with my 14-year old when he recognized the Aperture Laboratories logo on her Portal2 jacket) - check, check, checkity check check.

Complimentary breakfast was spot on (running it until 10:30 a.m. was a blessing for our late rising brook), hot and tasty. Room was clean and smelled fresh. Plenty of towels on the rack, plenty of complimentary toiletries for the kiddos to fight over.

Negatives - no ghosts on premises (at least none that the staff would admit to), and the spa tub/shower combination can only be filled with the shower head...no tub nozzle to speak of. Kinda weird, but we just pretended to be taking a bath in a warm rain shower and went with it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

The Cliff House was an amazingly beautiful hotel and was the perfect place to stay when it snowed 6+ inches during our stay. We were able to amble around the Manitou Springs area without having to worry about driving on the slick roads. The hotel itself was beautiful on the outside and very posh on the inside. The service was great and we especially enjoyed the steam shower and fireplace of room 415. It was really neat to stay in one of the "turret" like rooms with the super high, rounded ceiling, too. Our biggest issue was the price of our stay. We were charged an extra $9 per person, per night for what was supposed to be assistance with bags and other general services. However, we never received such services. The hotel parking also wasn't free. I wouldn't have minded paying a little extra for parking if we weren't already being charged an extra $9 fee per person for services we weren't actually receiving. It's unfortunate that this hotel is trying to milk their customers for more money when the price for a night is already so high. We also weren't terribly impressed by the sad pillows. I usually don't complain about things like an uncomfortable pillow, but these things were flatter than pancakes by morning and offered no support whatsoever. Lovely place, but we won't be staying there again. The Academy Hotel in Colorado Springs was a much better deal and had just as many (if not more) amenities for a much cheaper price.

Room Tip: We loved room 415 with it's high ceiling and steam shower with multiple shower heads! The firepl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I was just at the hotel for one night. We had a small wedding here and it was the perfect setting.
the staff was all super friendly and helpful. the rooms were charming and well furnished with period style furniture. easy walk to enjoy the rest of Manitou! would recommend for anyone looking for a romantic get away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Our recent stay was very enjoyable. My husband and I have never stayed in a historic hotel, so this charming place pleasantly surprised us. Breakfast was very delicious, the staff helpful, views beautiful, room comfortable. I would recommend this to others who are looking for a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed one night, and really enjoyed it. I thought the value was reasonable as well. We picked the place because it looks so romantic on the website, and it really is. We stayed in 412, junior queen suite, with a fireplace and jacuzzi tub. The check-in was quick although check-in before 3pm did not work out for us, which was fine because you can valet park leave your bags at the front desk and take a leisurely walk around the little town and its shops. It is historic and creaks a bit at night, but very cozy. Room is quite large considering. We had dinner at their restaurant, which is the best food we had in all of Colorado during our 3 day stay. They also have a free breakfast, which most other places would charge you $15-$20/person. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff House at Pikes Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff House at Pikes Peak

Address: 306 Canon Ave., Manitou Springs, CO 80829
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Manitou Springs
#3 Family Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Cliff House at Pikes Peak 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes a hotel truly special?Prestige? Romance? Luxury? As a four diamond Colorado Springs Hotel, these attributes are very important, and we have each of them in abundance, but none of them matter as much as... the stories. The stories that are started here, by brides and grooms celebrating their weddings. The stories that are commemorated here, when couples choose us for their anniversaries. The stories that are shared here, when family vacations become unforgettable memories. Our stories really do matter: they define who we are. You see, as the premier historic hotel of the Greater Colorado Springs area, our history is forever intertwined with what we are today. In fact, The Cliff House is older than the State of Colorado itself! And just like your story, we have had our ups and downs: we have played host to famous dignitaries, and we have been a barracks for soldiers. Later floods and fires have even threatened our hotel's very existence. But, just like you, we've persevered. After our extensive remodel and grand re-opening in 1999, we quickly proved that The Cliff House is once again one of Colorado's finest luxury hotels. Nestled at the foot of majestic Pikes Peak, we've managed to keep all the trappings of Victorian elegance and luxury and also become a leader in innovative room features with state-of-the-art technology. Since 2001, we've consecutively received the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Award for both the hotel and our dining room. Our dining room has also received the DiRoNa Award, and Wine Spectator's Best of Award of Excellence, every year. From our world-class fine dining, our amazing rooms, personalized service, our fun new bar and grill, to the limitless experiences and activities Manitou Springs has to offer: we are confident that you will love your stay here... and what a story you'll have to tell! We're proud of our history. Come share yours with us! We're within ten minutes of downtown Colorado Springs, but (rest assured) a world away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Cliff House at Pikes Peak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff House At Pikes Peak Hotel Manitou Springs
Cliff Hotel Manitou Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff House at Pikes Peak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.