We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Adventure!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dillon Motel
Save Saved
You added Dillon Motel to your Saves list
134 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 hotels in Manitou Springs
Elko, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“New Adventure!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you are tired of the same old thing time and again, I suggest you stay right here. These adorable little bungalows are fantastic for singles, groups of friends, couples and families. The customer service was outstanding! The owners were fantastic during check in, very understanding and accommodating in working with me on extending my stay another night. I was there during fourth of July weekend and the surround areas were packed with people, however, this hotel was so quiet and peaceful one could easily get lost in the tranquil atmosphere. This smaller hotel was just the ticket for some rest and relaxation!!

The rooms are older but very clean and the pool was fantastic. The cute adobe exterior added a quaint ambiance to the overall feel of the premises. If you are looking for a change of pace and a new adventure in your travels, I highly recommend making this your place to stay. Centrally located no matter whether you are wanting to spend the day on Pike's Peak, a hike in the Garden of the Gods, or shopping in the old downtown district, this is the place is it! Not too far from Fort Carson either if you are visiting a family member like I was. Isn't it about time to step out of the comfort zone and experience a new adventure?

I highly recommend staying here. Cleanliness, peace and customer service far outweigh having multiple flat screen televisions or fancy gadgets in a room. After my extensive travels across the country over the years, I no longer find it appealing to stay in the cookie cutter hotels. I'm ready to add to my travels and experience adventures of enjoying quaint, off the beaten path places to stay. This is one of those places I will be staying in again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to
please our guests. Our motel was built by my grandparents in 1947
and we try and preserve a little history. It’s our pleasure to make everyone
feel at home.
Thank you very much.
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
22
15
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Staying at the Dillon brings back memories of traveling as a child when a lot of motels were family owned and operated. The motel is in a great location in Manitou. We stayed in a newer section, and the room was quite large and very clean. George, the owner, is a great reference for nearby food and activities. I enjoyed morning coffee with George and learned a lot about the history of the area. If you want a clean nice place to stay in Manitou then stay with George and his wife at the Dillon. Thank You George

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your stay. We enjoyed having you.
George and Joanne James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Kansas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This kind of place is what Manitou Springs is all about. Nice family run older motel. If you are wanting the ritz this is not it. But if you want a nice clean room, big pool and a friendly greeting then the Dillon Motel is the place. It was sold out every night we stayed that should tell you something. We stayed July 12th & 13th in unit 5 - Remember it is a older Motel but clean and a great place to lay your head

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you I am happy you enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Dillon mid May. We decided that since we would be sight-seeing and visiting with family that we would not be extravagant with our hotel expenses. I was skepical when we reserved our room. I was plesantly surprised though when we arrived and the rooms were clean and comfy. The best part came though getting up in the morning and chatting with George and watching the deer in the parking lot. It was wonderful, I would most assuredly stay here again and highly recommend it if you are looking for a comfy place to rest your head and a hot cup of coffee and good conversation to start your day....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try hard to make you fell at home
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid may. As it was a bit off season the price was right and we had the run of the place. It was quiet, clean and had plenty of parking. I would stay there again. The hotel is owned by a friendly couple who seem to take pleasure in running the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We try very hard to accommodate and please our valued guests and enjoy some Bunk House chat at morning coffee. Our Housekeeping staff takes pride in their work and appreciates comments such as your. We’re glad you enjoyd your stay !

George and Joanne James- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Dillon was nice, and clean! It's an older roadside hotel, basic, well worth the price. Loved the morning coffee waiting for us outside the office. George the owner was outstanding. We got a rock chip in our windshield on our trip out. We asked about windshield repair and he wasn't sure,but by the time we got back from a short tour of Garden of the Gods, George had found a place close by,and had called to find out their hours. Now that is service! I would recommend this to many of my friends, however not ones who prefer big chains and wouldn't appreciate the quaintness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We try our very best to please our valued guest.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
George and Joanne James - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
600 helpful votes 600 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Last fall we stayed at the Dillon for two nights while we toured the area. This fall we were just driving through Colorado Springs and we preferred to stay at the Dillon in Manitou Springs again just because it was good and fun. It is an older but nicely kept up motel but they have a few newer rooms and this time we were booked into one of the newer rooms. It was roomy, clean, and all we wanted. Last fall we were two but this time we were four so we wanted a bit more room. The motel is probably one of the more affordable places to stay in a strip of motels along one street that leads to the downtown of Manitou Springs. It's at the far end of the street that leads to downtown so it might be a mile walk to where the shops and restaurants are located. However, there was a small diner just two minutes away in the other direction so we did not have to go far for breakfast. The motel provides coffee early in the morning and they also provide entertainment since they put out feed for deer and have them come in every evening and morning. I don't know if the deer show up in the middle of the day but they are fun to watch at a close up range. Thanks to the owners of the Dillon Motel for providing your own entertainment. We will continue to stay here should we be passing through again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay. We try very hard to please our guests and make them welcome. My grandparents built our cabin units in 1947 and we keep them very clean and try to preserve a little history. We also have new very large luxury rooms. We are centrally located to most attractions, shops and restaurants. Glad you enjoyed the deer and your time with us. Looking forward to your next visit and more chat.
Thank you. George and Joanne James, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dillon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillon Motel

Address: 134 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dillon Motel offers cabin units to accommodate 2-4 people. Individual units include car port. private bathroom with shower,AC, cable TV,double, queen or king size beds.large luxury rooms with 2 queen beds that offer 2 rollaways. Free WIFI, large heated seasonal pool. Just minutes away from all area attractions, shopping, dinning, local galleries and the Famous Mineral Springs. One mile from Historic Downtown Manitou Springs. George and Joanne James Owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillon Hotel Manitou Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.