We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dillon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Manitou Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dillon Motel
Save
You added Dillon Motel to your Saves list
134 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Manitou Springs
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in mid may. As it was a bit off season the price was right and we had the run of the place. It was quiet, clean and had plenty of parking. I would stay there again. The hotel is owned by a friendly couple who seem to take pleasure in running the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We try very hard to accommodate and please our valued guests and enjoy some Bunk House chat at morning coffee. Our Housekeeping staff takes pride in their work and appreciates comments such as your. We’re glad you enjoyd your stay !

George and Joanne James- Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
23
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Dillon was nice, and clean! It's an older roadside hotel, basic, well worth the price. Loved the morning coffee waiting for us outside the office. George the owner was outstanding. We got a rock chip in our windshield on our trip out. We asked about windshield repair and he wasn't sure,but by the time we got back from a short tour of Garden of the Gods, George had found a place close by,and had called to find out their hours. Now that is service! I would recommend this to many of my friends, however not ones who prefer big chains and wouldn't appreciate the quaintness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We try our very best to please our valued guest.
Glad you enjoyed your stay.
George and Joanne James - Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
476 reviews 476 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
622 helpful votes 622 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Last fall we stayed at the Dillon for two nights while we toured the area. This fall we were just driving through Colorado Springs and we preferred to stay at the Dillon in Manitou Springs again just because it was good and fun. It is an older but nicely kept up motel but they have a few newer rooms and this time we were booked into one of the newer rooms. It was roomy, clean, and all we wanted. Last fall we were two but this time we were four so we wanted a bit more room. The motel is probably one of the more affordable places to stay in a strip of motels along one street that leads to the downtown of Manitou Springs. It's at the far end of the street that leads to downtown so it might be a mile walk to where the shops and restaurants are located. However, there was a small diner just two minutes away in the other direction so we did not have to go far for breakfast. The motel provides coffee early in the morning and they also provide entertainment since they put out feed for deer and have them come in every evening and morning. I don't know if the deer show up in the middle of the day but they are fun to watch at a close up range. Thanks to the owners of the Dillon Motel for providing your own entertainment. We will continue to stay here should we be passing through again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your stay. We try very hard to please our guests and make them welcome. My grandparents built our cabin units in 1947 and we keep them very clean and try to preserve a little history. We also have new very large luxury rooms. We are centrally located to most attractions, shops and restaurants. Glad you enjoyed the deer and your time with us. Looking forward to your next visit and more chat.
Thank you. George and Joanne James, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Loved staying at this motel. The owners are friendly and helpful about finding places to eat and how to get to various attractions. The gentleman who owns the motel told us that his grandfather built this hotel in 1947! Deer visit almost daily, very early in the morning and sometimes in the evening. The rooms are in a "U" shaped courtyard, and are separated from each other by smallish, enclosed parking spaces. The rooms with 2 beds have a 5+ foot high partial wall that separates the beds, which were comfortable. The bathroom is tiny, with a very small stall shower; a very large person might have problems getting to the toilet or taking a shower; the bathroom needs some renno and/or TLC. The room does have a mini-fridge, microwave and sink. All surfaces looked clean, clean, clean. There is a TV with a cable/satellite box, but we didn't use it during our stay. There's a very nice, clean pool which we didn't use either. The location is in the less-trendy, less busy part of Manitou Springs, which we enjoyed. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back part of the court to minimize road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We try very hard to make everyone feel at home.
Thank you very much.
George and Joanne James
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphy, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Clean! Clean! Did I mention it's clean? Don't expect anything fancy. It's plain, old, and clean. I actually saw the owner washing the bedspreads! You know, the nastiest thing in most hotels? I saw him washing em in the washing machine! This place is clean... Not real nice. The location is lame, busy road, kinda loud. It's clean! The deer in the pictures did show up and the owner is very friendly. Oh, the pool... Guess what? It was very clean!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your stay and we enjoyed having you. My grandparents built our cabin units and we have new, very large luxury rooms as well. Many of our guests return year after year. We try our very best to accommodate our wonderful guests and make them feel at home. We do have special events in the summer and Manitou Springs is very busy. Oh, we do keep our property very clean. Thank you so much. George and Joanne James, Owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a comfortable stay. Rooms are a bit dated, but comfy enough. Would have loved a bath, shower was a bit small. Room was clean. Micro and small fridgeAlthough pool is heated it was a bit cold for my liking...might be because it rained some nights. Owners are GREAT people, very friendly and helpful. Clean towels and toilet paper daily. Towels for swimming, although very small but at least I didn't have to worry about packing and drying my own. Daughter loved the deer and squirrels coming to eat and be fed. Check in and Check out was fast. Office smells a bit like smoke. Room smelled clean. Lots of brochures and information in the office. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George J, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your stay. We enjoyed having you!
George and Joanne James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Classic, old school motel, rooms are almost cabin-like with a front and back "room" (there was a wall with an open doorway between the bedrooms), clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette area with a fridge and microwave--always appreciated. The owners are very nice and live onsite, Joann is from Pittsburgh which is a plus! And all at a very good price which ups the "value" factor considerably. Pool was also appreciated on our warm, early June visit.

Location is about a mile away from downtown Manitou but pretty much all of "motel row" is in the same area. Offsetting this is easy access from Rt 24.

Room Tip: We liked the older "cabin" rooms, but there is a newer (relatively speaking) wing as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Dillon Motel, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
We are a small property and try our very best to please our wonderful guests and make them feel at home.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you so much. George and Joanne James owners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dillon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dillon Motel

Address: 134 Manitou Avenue, Manitou Springs, CO
Location: United States > Colorado > El Paso County > Manitou Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manitou Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dillon Motel offers cabin units to accommodate 2-4 people. Individual units include car port. private bathroom with shower,AC, cable TV,double, queen or king size beds.large luxury rooms with 2 queen beds that offer 2 rollaways. Free WIFI, large heated seasonal pool. Just minutes away from all area attractions, shopping, dinning, local galleries and the Famous Mineral Springs. One mile from Historic Downtown Manitou Springs. George and Joanne James Owners. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dillon Hotel Manitou Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dillon Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.