We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dog-Friendly Gem of a Motel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mesa Verde Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mesa Verde Motel to your Saves list
Mesa Verde Motel
191 W. Railroad Ave., Mancos, CO 81328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mancos
Denver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dog-Friendly Gem of a Motel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We loved the Mesa Verde Motel! What a treat to discover this place. A modest, clean family-run old-time motel that is super welcoming to dogs. A sweet welcome basket for your doggie with treats and a towel, sheets, and more, plus a fenced-in, grassy area for your pooch (along with a hot tub for his/her humans). So nice at the end of a day on the road! Good restaurant next door and don't miss the Absolute Bakery and Cafe down the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    32
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
38
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice old motor hotel on the old highway. Rooms are small but clean, new tvs, comfy bed and pillows. Working AC and a hot tub spa. Owners are friendly and helpful. Military rate offered. 1/2 the price of hotels in Cortez. Right next door to a restaurant and a couple blocks from the coffee shop for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Don't let the setting fool you. This is a little gem of a motel located in an overlooked little town near Mesa Verde National Park. The motel is unassuming but the facilities and service are a several cuts above what you would expect in a small motel. The owners have done a face lift of the property over the past two years. The rooms are fresh and up-to-date. They have installed new "sweep" shower curtains, eco-friendly soap dispensers, and provide a night light for each room - all nice touches. More to the point the rooms are immaculately clean and the beds are very comfortable.. On a recent visit I caught Curt vacuuming the edges of the parking lot in the middle of the day - compulsiveness turned to a beneficial end. The office has literature on nearby activities and attractions, as well as a K-cup coffee maker.

The property is well cared for and the Henderson's hospitality is genuine. When the town experienced a wildfire last year the Henderson's opened their motel to displaced residents at no charge. A recent funeral filled the next door parking lot so they offered up their parking lot to the town's attenders.

Mancos itself has come a long way in the past ten years. It is now becoming a bit of an artisans hang-out with new shops scattered around town. Try Zuma or The Absolute Bakery for breakfast and lunch. Try the Millwood next door for dinner.

the truth is I don't know why Mesa Verde visitors travel to the big motels in Cortez when they could experience a little bit of southwest hospitality right here in Mancos , the nearest town to the National Park to the west and Durango to the east.

Room Tip: The rooms are surprisingly quiet given the proximity of Highway 160. But then the town rolls up whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencerville, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The rooms are immaculate. Fun little town close to Durango Silverton train and Mesa Verde. Has a small fridge--little grocery close by. The breakfast wraps at the local bakery are a great deal and there's a park close by you can stop and eat breakfast. Beds were fine and just a nice clean room for the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were in the area to visit Mesa Verde and I'd heard bad things about the accommodation in the park itself so I looked elsewhere and came upon the Mesa Verde Motel. Good location (maybe 45 minute drive to the visitor centre in the park) with clean and decent sized rooms, nothing fancy just real good value. There's not much in Mancos but there is a decent restaurant pretty much next door and the laundrette just down the road came in handy. Make sure you go to the Absolute Bakery for breakfast, and any other time you want food really - yes - it's that good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullaburra
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Exactly what a good motel should be. Friendly owners, even happy to take a booking from the other side of the world, Australia. The rooms are plenty big enough, beautifully maintained and superbly clean. The value for money is fantastic, we used it as our base to visit Mesa Verde National Park, and couldn't be happier with our choice. Mancos is a sweet town, we had a great dinner at the Millwood Junction restaurant, next door, and a lovely breakfast at the café just off the main street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

It's not the Ritz but it's a huge improvement on camping out or the budget chain hotels! My room was so clean that I immediately took off my hiking boots and placed them on the boot tray tucked behind the door. I asked for and received two large "motorcycle rags" so I could wipe off my gear without ruining the guest towels. There's a coffee maker with coffee, an ice bucket, and an alarm clock in the room. The ice machine is outside between the two wings of rooms and I think I saw a vending machine. There's lots of tourist brochures in the lobby, and there is a ringbinder with local menus in the room. No breakfast, but there's a very good City Market grocery in Cortez and a bakery/cafe about a block north in Mancos. Also, there room has a liquid soap dispenser next to the sink and in the shower--no bar soap or shampoo. (I didn't use the hot tub.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mesa Verde Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mesa Verde Motel

Address: 191 W. Railroad Ave., Mancos, CO 81328
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The motel is located at the intersection of Hwy 160 & Hwy 184 in Mancos. We have 16 non-smoking rooms, 8 rooms with two full beds, 7 rooms with one queen bed and 1 family room with three full beds. All rooms are air conditioned and equipped with 32" flat screen televisions,coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators and microwaves. We have 2 dedicated pet rooms. Rooms are very clean, AAA approved. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mesa Verde Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mesa Verde Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.