We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Getaway and Host Ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mancos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Getaway and Host Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I were overdue for a vacation and wanted a place to go that was interesting and relaxing. We took the advice of a person that had stayed here before. We were not disappointed at all! Flagstone Meadows is an excellent bed and breakfast whose host is so friendly you just want to make him part of your extended family. Harris (our host) is a wealth of knowledge about the surrounding area of Durango, Mancos, Cortez, as well as the national and local parks that are of interest to see. He also has a unique insight into the culture of the Native American people.

The experience at the bed and breakfast was just like being with family only better. It is quiet there and we didn't miss the sirens and craziness of Las Vegas at all. Each morning at 8 AM you will enjoy a home cooked breakfast (that is more than just tea and muffins), delicious, and will stick with you until about 2PM. Nothing goes to waste here. The scraps of food left over are offered to the magpies, wild turkeys, and jays. The feeding of the hummingbirds is definitely an event to see. The hummers will land on Harris's hand as he refills the feeders!

Harris will check in with you about your plans for the day and make suggestions that could enhance your original plan. In our case, we knew we wanted to go to Mesa Verde national park. Harris told us to go to the visitor center to get tickets ahead of time so that we didn't waste time in line the day when we wanted to go. The next day we didn't have anything planned. Harris told us about a day trip that included a winery, Hovenweep, and the Cortez Cultural Center (which harbors a lot of info on the Native American culture). We never lacked for something to do. In fact, as long as you can be flexible, you can pick up things on the fly. We didn't arrive with the intent of seeing a play while in Durango. While having lunch one day in Durango, we noticed that a local troupe was putting on a Neil Simon play. We bought tickets and had a great time! After your day is done and you return back to Flagstone Meadows, Harris will chat with you to see how your day went, what you liked, and suggest other things to do based on what you liked.

In conclusion, we set out to unwind, decompress, and have a good time that was not necessarily schedule driven. We got all that and more. You walk away with a new friend. The area is rich with Native American culture and beautiful scenery. The bed and breakfast is as comfortable as an old friend. And, the host is stellar! Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast is on our list of places of which to return.

Enjoy...you won't be sorry.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lourdes, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in June whilst visiting Mesa Verde. Harris is a very welcoming and informative host and provided a couple of very tasty breakfasts - he even had proper english tea and real milk for us. Our room was large and comfortable with a balcony. The house is attractive with a large airy lounge for relaxing in the evening. The road to the house is unpaved and requires a little concentration in the dark particularly if you haven't got a 4X4. There are a few restaurants in Mancos which is only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We are frequent B&B users and found this to be one of the best-- beginning with the booking, Harris' desire to get to know us and meet our needs and even meeting us to drive us to the house. The home is glorious and our room had a balcony where we had a wonderful view of mountains and stars. Harris helped us see the International Space Station go by one night and walked us through the logistics of visiting Mesa Verde. His breakfasts were delicious and served promptly at 8AM. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Defiance, Az
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here one night on our way to hiking in the area, and then on to Telluride, CO. Our host was so interesting to talk to, as were the other guests at the breakfast table. We learned a great deal about about the area, as well as about places to visit throughout the world. We chose one of the smaller downstairs rooms, which was lovely, with windows all around and sliding door to the small deck. Pink glow on the mountains to the east in the evening...aspen leaves rustling throughout the night and hummingbirds buzzing out your windows in the morning...and you can't miss the hundreds of hummers and other birds visiting the feeders throughout the day. Breakfast was unique and delicious. All in all, this is what a bed and breakfast experience should be like!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great kept secret! Stumbled upon website in planning a multi-stop trip and so glad I booked our stay here. It was one of the highlights of our trip. Great views of Mesa Verde from our rooms 10 minutes from Mesa Verde and 45 minutes from 4 Corners Monument. Our rooms were gorgeous, each having balconies, fireplaces, bathrooms and fantastic views. Fell asleep lulled by the sound of rustling Asp trees. No TVs in our 2 rooms but we hardly noticed. Free Wi-Fi. Breakfasts were made with care and nicely filling. Beautifully furnished, very large home. Very clean and well kept. Inn is quiet and relaxing but our well behaved kids under 10 fit right in. Consider leaving time for the 2 hour horseback riding 15 minutes away. Laundry 10 minutes away. Harris a natural, helpful host. Way better than a hotel.

Room Tip: We had 2 side by side rooms on the top floor for our family. This served like a large suite to our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

3 nights here were the most pleasant and relaxing of our entire vacation. Harris is an incredible host, ensuring your stay will be comfortable and memorable. His breakfasts were home cooking at its best. My favorite part was his hosting us for breakfast at the head of the table and the lively conversations to be had. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. The house is filled with Native American artifacts and you will feel right at home. The property is secluded with wildlife and lots of birds. Close to Mesa Verde National Park.

Room Tip: If you are there during a heat-streak, pick a room with ceiling fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Harris is a great host! He took the time to talk to us and our son during our 3 night stay. The house is beautiful. We had a small bedroom with a bathroom. It was very clean. Breakfast was at 8 sharp. He was nice enough to get up early and serve us breakfast because we had to be at the train in Durango by 8. He asks every guest is there anything you will not eat. Please be specific! He served fish for breakfast one morning and it was very good. We would stay there again! Happy traveling!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast

Address: P.O. Box 1137, Mancos, CO 81328
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come experience this beautiful and spacious timber lodge, on 36 serene acres; only 30 minutes to Durango, just 10 minutes to Mesa Verde. Gorgeous 360 degree views of mountains, valley and meadows. Eight charming and uniqely decorated guest rooms each with private full bath; four have decks. Enjoy the soothing Hot Tub, Infrared Sauna, Billards table, Foos Ball, Satellite TV, video library, delicious hearty breakfasts, sunshine days and star-filled nights. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flagstone Meadows Ranch Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.