We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Bear Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sundance Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sundance Bear Lodge
38890 Highway 184, Mancos, CO 81328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
nashville, tn
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Sundance Bear Lodge has a few rooms in the main house and two very close houses that are good for families. The public space in the main house is filled with light and with artifacts, art, pottery, etc. from the area. The best part, however, is that Bob and Sue do a first-rate job of running the inn and making the guests feel at home. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the stay. Because the inn is about 4 miles from Mancos, there is no light pollution and the stars stand out in the night sky. Our room was very nice. The bathroom was stocked with everything and anything that you might need (spare razor, moisturizing cream, etc. etc.).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    110
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
66
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fairview, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The owner's of this delightful property have gone out of their way to provide a pleasurable experience for their guests. We stayed in the cabin near the main house and watched the moon rise over the splendid landscape from the front porch. This was a romantic anniversary celebration and exceeded our expectations. We hope to return with our family and friends. The property will accommodate everyone from a large family gathering to a solo traveler.

Room Tip: Let Bob and Sue know your desires. We wanted a romantic retreat and they made it happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Absolutely lovely accomodations, so welcoming and homey--and sparkling clean. Hosts ever so pleasant and supportive; they showed a genuine interest in us as individuals, offered benefit of their experience and helpful information about surrounding opportunities for meals, adventure, and learning opportunities. Bob and Sue demonstrated complete understanding of what a B&B can and should be--in setting (including grounds), furnishings, amenities, and the remarkable breakfast menus!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful accommodations with a treasure trove of western art surrounding you. Knowledgeable hosts sit with you at breakfast and help you get to know the local area, and when it's time to leave, you don't want to go. Sundance Bear is just 10 miles from the entrance to Mesa Verde, it's close to some good restaurants, and staying there is Southwest Colorado personified. Breakfast is a real gastronomic treat, and you are sitting in a room that makes you want to just stay there and drink it all in. There are two friendly cats and two friendly dogs with personalities to supplement the otherwise homey atmosphere. A real treat all around!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thanks so much for the kind words. Things change quickly, however. Chester, our 16 yr old aussie shepherd, died this week. He has been a wonderful ambassador and passes that mantel to Oreo, the border collie. Many children learned to like doggies after a few minutes with Chester!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Sundance Bear Lodge is definitely worth stopping at if you're in the Mesa Verde area.

4 legged hosts Morris, JD, Oreo and Chester, and their 2 legged slaves Sue and Bob made the stay an enjoyable one. We got in exceptionally late on our first night, and Bob, Oreo and Morris made sure that we were well looked after on arrival (If someone tells you to take the scenic route from Denver, leave early and not a midday like us!!).

Our room was a good size, clean and comfortable with an ensuite bathroom. The bed was great to sleep on - very comfortable (almost didn't want to get out of it!).

Breakfasts were hearty and full of flavour and there was a good variety of foods to choose from.

The well set up common lounge area has a great range of novels, and information about the area. Bob and Sue gave us some good tips on what to see and where to eat.

The B&B is also reasonable close to Mesa Verde NP (15-20 minute drive), and other attractions in the area

Highly recommend Sundance Bear as a place to call home!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Ah yes...anyone who has pets know they are slaves to the animals! We have 2 cats, 2 dogs, 2 horses. The dogs are our doorbells. Morris is the guest greeter. Bob and I keep everyone well fed! When folks left pets at home, they really enjoy loving our group of animals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My friend and I searched for a weekend-type getaway and found a treasure!!
Easy access, reasonable prices and super comfortable and cozy.
The owners/chefs (Sue and Bob) created breakfast masterpieces!. Their use of local produce along with tried and true recipes, made for a culinary feast.
We will make this place a destination in the future!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
It was a delight to have you gals stay with us, and we hope to see you again. Hopefully you are high and dry in Erie; I have never seen such flooding on the front range in the 16 yrs we have lived in CO. It is raining some more in the 4 Corners but I don't think the rain is headed your direction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Sundance Bear Lodge was really excellent Bob and Sue were great hosts and willing to chat or leave you alone, we only spent one night there but would certainly stay there again if the opportunity arises. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast plentiful with good choices. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Address: 38890 Highway 184, Mancos, CO 81328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. from the Durango Silverton narrowgauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. We have 2 B&B lodge rooms,a log cabin and Forest Edge (guest House). Guests can select their preferred ambiance and level of servic. Forest Edge is your optimal vacation rental, with no special check in/out days. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too. Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.