We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cabin and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundance Bear Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sundance Bear Lodge to your Saves list
Sundance Bear Lodge
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Need 2 rooms & breakfast?
Ranked #2 of 6 Mancos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful cabin and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had one night in the cabin and wished we could have stayed longer. Homely and well furnished, with all sorts of utensils for cooking, a BBQ set, etc. Sue, Bob and their pets really added to the homely atmosphere, with fantastic views. I will certainly be back should I be near the Mesa Verde National Park again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
The log cabin does have a way of helping guests fall in love with their Mesa verde experience! Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
78
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay with Bob and Sue. Our room in the main house was very comfortable. The B & B is a little out of the way but easy to find. The setting is quite and laid back. Bob is well versed on all the local attractions and helpful in planning trips to see the sights. They served an outstanding full breakfast in the morning (not like some B&B that serve a continental breakfast).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Agree with almost everything said - Bob and Sue are wonderful and welcoming. We stayed in the main house where we felt as though we were guests in their home - but as others mentioned they live downstairs and certainly do not crowd or impose themselves. Morris the cat lead us to our room and was a gem.

One review mentioned being in the middle of nowhere - which in my mind is an asset - quite frankly we wouldn't want to be in downtown Mancos - plus It's only a short 4 miles anyway.

Highlights included strolling around the 80 acres (with the dog in tow) followed by a beer in the jacuzzi while watching the sunset.

Would suggest this place to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a long drive from Denver and when we found this great B&B - it was a wonderful welcoming surprise! We were greeted by their 2 big friendly dogs and found a beautiful big log cabin. Our room was in the back and wonderful and fully stocked with all the necesities and a great view all around. We drove into town and had a great dinner at the local resturant "Mill Wood Junction" and than drove back and met a nice couple from London staying there as well. We shared some wine and conversation with them and our hosts. The next morning they fixed a nice breakfast - at a time we all agreed on - and then off to Mesa Verde. There were wild turkeys stopping by for a drink of water and some deer in the area finding their breakfast. A great fire was in the huge fire place when we returned and we felt very welcome. The hosts are great and very informative. We really enjoyed our time with them in their lovely home!!

Room Tip: The back corner room in the main lodge was great and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The only negative thing to say about this place was that it was difficult to find as it is located in the middle of nowhere but this is a plus as it is very quiet and peaceful,yet 10 minutes from Mancos,20 minutes from Cortez where we went to see the indian dancing and 20 minutes from Mese Verde National Park our reason for visiting the area. Bob and Sue are friendly hosts living in a beautiful house with a small lake outside the fromt door. The scenery is magnificent from the front door ,the rooms are lovely and the dining table (which is in a large unbelievable beautiful room) is out of this world. Breakfast is brilliant and in the evening you are left alone to enjoy the house...no crime in the area.We are cat lovers and they have the most friendliest cat I have ever come across, jumping on our lap and sleeping on our bed.This is one of the most charming B & B we have stayed at and would have no trouble recommending this place for its charm and peacefulness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SundanceBearLodge, Owner at Sundance Bear Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thanks for the kind words! Yes, rural Colorado is "out in the middle of nowhere." We are only 4 mi. out of Mancos but to a visitor it will feel like 10, especially after sunset. Morris (our cat) believes it is his job to welcome lodge guests; if you love cats, he loves to be with you. If you don't like cats, he also takes rejection pretty well. Thanks for staying with us, and we hope you'll return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights here on our honeymoon.

We stayed in the Log Cabin, which is a detached building off of the Main Lodge. The cabin is described as "self-cater." There's a fridge, four-burner stove with oven, full sink, coffee maker, and a full compliment of cooking utensils. You can get breakfast in the main lodge for $10 per person per day, but we opted to buy groceries in town to make some food, and go out to local restaurants.

Bob and Sue are great hosts. They pretty much left us alone, but they were around and happy to offer recommendations or any assistance. You can tell they really take pride in their place, and with good reason.

The best part of Sundance Bear is the scenery. The cabin has a porch that faces east towards the San Juan National Forest, and there's a deck that faces west towards Mesa Verde. The views are so good it's almost comical.

The location is great too. Considering you're pretty much in the middle of nowhere, things are fairly accessible. The Mesa Verde entrance is about 15 minutes away. It's only about 5 minutes or so into "Downtown" Mancos. Cortez is also a relatively quick drive away where you'll find a bunch of restaurants, Walmart, Walgreens, etc.

If the Four Corners area or Mesa Verde is part of your itinerary, I highly recommend Sundance Bear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in cottage in grounds for 2 nights which is spacious and very comfortable [ shared kitchen and seating area ] . Owner was very friendly and helpful . The whole place seems immaculate and it is in a beautiful position .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mancos
12.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.0 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
13.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Circle K Guest Ranch
Circle K Guest Ranch
#2 of 2 in Dolores
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mesa Verde Motel
Mesa Verde Motel
#1 of 3 in Mancos
4.5 of 5 stars 141 reviews
12.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundance Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundance Bear Lodge

Address: 11555 Road 39, Mancos, CO 81328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Mancos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mancos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sundance Bear Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sundance Bear Lodge in Mancos, CO is near Mesa Verde National Park and 30 min. From the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad. The foodies in the group will love eating in Durango, at Kenebec, or Olio's! SBL sits on a mesa top with 360 degree views. We have 2 B&B lodge rooms,a log cabin and Forest Edge (guest House). Guests can select their preferred ambiance and level of service. Forest Edge is your optimal vacation rental, with no special check in/out days. Families welcome; bring Fido & Trigger, too. Come play in the great outdoors: lots of history with the Anasazi culture and cliff dwellings -- Mesa Verde is a World Heritage Site. Come to hike, bike, motorcycle and more; lots of day trips with Mancos as your base camp. Open all year. We will bet - you'll want to stay one more day! Sue and Bob Scott, owners/your hosts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sundance Bear Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundance Bear Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.