We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lyons Soda Fountain & Bakery

Lyons Soda Fountain & Bakery
400 Main St, Lyons, CO 80501-5535
(303) 823-5393
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Lyons
Restaurant details
Lyons, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The malt and ice cream choices are vast.....and way too expensive.and really yummy. I ordered a guacamole burger and it was very average

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodland Hills
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved the Soda Fountain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very cute shopping place right on the main street downtown with a fun soda fountain with some of the best ice-cream we've tasted in a long time. The atmosphere is fun and the place brings you back in time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
557 reviews 557 reviews
397 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
977 helpful votes 977 helpful votes
“Excellent malts and milkshakes....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I come to the Lyons Soda Fountain once every year on my way up to Estes Park, CO. My family always stop for some of the best malts I have ever tasted. I love the chocolate peanut butter malt with hot fudge and vanilla syrup. The vanilla syrup is key. The malts are thick and delicious. It takes them awhile to prepare because there is no soft servce here. It is worth the wait. It does get hot inside during the summer, so enjoy the ice cream goodness outside. Service is always with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You don't see places like this anymore...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

When you walk in the door, you walk back to the way it used to be. A real "soda jerk" soda fountain. No fancy menus. Great burgers and hot dog combinations. They'll make whatever ice cream or soda based concoction that you can think of. Very nostalgic starting with the soda fountain bar, juke box, Coca-Cola memorabilia, etc...

Obviously, very family friendly.

I can't say that we'll be back next week because we live in Georgia, but next time we are in the Estes Park area, we will definitely stop in again.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Local Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Where has this place been all my life??? I've driven by this place many times, but never thought to stop by. Lyons has many restaurants that you drive-by before you get to this little hidden gem on Main Street. Lyons Soda Fountain is now on my permanent list of places to stop by at least once per month. The atmosphere is a throwback to simpler and slower times when the local Soda Fountain ruled small town Main Streets across America. The food was old-fashioned Soda Fountain oriented. I had a cheeseburger...and I've had hundreds of cheeseburgers in my life...but when I first tasted this cheeseburger, the exact word thought was "Mmmm...TASTY" I mention this because the person I was with had a Hot Dog and with our first bites of our food, we both looked up at each other with this same thought of how "tasty" the food was. The service was attentive with light and folksy conversation. I took of advantage of the Soda Fountain perspective of this little gem of a restaurant and I'm so glad I did...I had a Dr Pepper / Vanilla concoction that sounded weird, but tasted Awesome! The floor plan was large with plenty of room around all the tables and booths....you could actually have a private conversation without the rest of the restaurant listening in. And, this place is SPOTLESS...the glass was clean, not a crumb on the floor, the salt/pepper shakers shined and the napkin dispensers had a mirror finish. The cleanliness was very noticeable. So, with this type of review you'd think I was the Owner or a family member! I'm not, but I am incredibly happy that I found this local hidden treasure...it's one of those "where have you been all my life?" moments. So, stop reading this review and simply GO THERE!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyons Soda Fountain & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Lyons Soda Fountain & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyons Soda Fountain & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.