We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins to your Saves list
Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   18055 North St. Vrain Drive, Lyons, CO 80540   |  
Hotel amenities
Eldora, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stone Mountain Lodge has some great things going for it. We stayed in room number one of the lodge.

* The path behind the lodge is awesome!
* They were replacing the roof during our stay and so it now has a new roof. =)
* The staff were friendly and helpful when we went to get fresh towels and cleaning supplies.
* The kitchen was wonderful to have available. It didn't have a ton of dishes etc but we made do. (set of 4 plates, cups, a fry pan and pot, strainer, and a handful of silverware, and a can opener) There was also a 4 cup automatic coffee pot, microwave, sink, fridge (apartment sized with freezer) and gas range.
* The price per night was great! We stayed for 10 days and got a reduced rate because it was extended stay.
* We loved being able to bring our dog with us.
* No problems with the internet or the TV.
* It is only 2 miles or so from the town of Lyons, which was great, as that was where I had classes during the day. And my travel partner was able to make the short drive to check out the many things the town had to offer.

We did have a couple issues.
* The office hours are limited during the day (during the office season at least) and so I had to communicate with management by email. Which worked out okay.
* The sheets on one of the beds either had not been changed or was stained.
* Our main issue was that the shower appeared to have not been cleaned for at least a week. There was mold and mildew on the grout and shower curtain. After informing the office by email, they replied that it was merely black caulk, not mold. We bought a new shower curtain and some mildew/mold cleaner spray and fixed the issue ourselves. When I let them know that we fixed the issue ourselves, I did not receive a reply.

Overall the stay was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

It's a small mom and pop place in the MOUNTAINS. I read these and I don't know what people truly expect in the mountains. Wireless? You're in the MOUNTAINS and I saw how much work they went in to upgrading it. Everyone there was keeping us updated and they had multiple contractors trying to get it even STRONGER. I was there for a few weeks and watched them all work hard. I watched as people locked themselves out and there was always someone coming up the mountain - even late night with kids to let these people in! I think that goes above and beyond and I got what I expected which was a nice time that was quiet and away.

Room Tip: If you want just an overnight stay, the rooms are fine for the value. If you need room, get a cabin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed a couple nights here and the room had CLEARLY not been cleaned before my arrival. There was hair in the shower and trash under my bed. The cabins look nice from the outside but beware. This place is gross. Also, the internet didn't work and the manager didn't care. And they got irritable with me when I asked for clean towels after nobody had come to clean my room for 2 days. Talked to some of the residents here and NOBODY had anything good to say about this place. I'll find another cabin next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moutainman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lyons hotels

Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I reserved a room in the lodge after many discussions with the staff and planned to arrive on a Wednesday afternoon or early evening and stay for 3 nights. I was informed that if the office was closed they had a late check in box and keys would be left inside. Just to be sure I called the day before, no one returned my call. So while in route on Wednesday we called again and were told not to worry the keys would be in the late check in box. We arrived at 5:30 p.m. After driving 500 miles and guess what? No keys, no one in the office and the lodge room we were told would be ours was rented to someone else. We called both the office and the emergency after hours number and no one answered, we didn't get a call until Thursday at 10 a.m. Unbelievable!!! We drove to Boulder and had a great experience at The Homewood Suites on Baseline Rd. Great staff, clean rooms just a wonderful time. If I were you I would forego even considering the stone mountain lodge!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank RoyW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a wedding that took place on the premises. The place is quaint, but somewhat past its prime. Rooms are small, with the bathroom in particular inconvenient for toiletries for two people. Still, the place was fine for a couple of nights and ultra-convenient for the wedding.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodneyHerndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grant, Nebraska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

For a short anniversary getaway, my husband and I stayed in a cabin on this property and loved it! It was roomy and homey and had everything we needed. The grounds are gorgeous, and even though it was very early spring and everything wasn't in full bloom, it was obvious that it soon would be because employees were outside diligently working on the grounds. The help was friendly and accommodating. Carrie's personable managerial skills are evident by the way all of the employees cohesively work together and interact with each other. Bonnie is knowledgeable, friendly and very pleasant and accommodating, both over the phone and in person. Gabbi is friendly, willing to help, and makes everyone feel at ease. Chelsea was very accommodating with directions and assistance for a side trip to Denver. We would definitely stay there again! Even though it is located along the highway, once we pulled in, it felt very private and quiet. We loved the experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Today I called Stone Mountain Lodge to find a venue for my wedding on 09/15/12. I explained my situation to Bonnie and unfortanately she didnt have any availability for her venue. About 5 minutes later she called me and asked what she could do to help. This was probably one of the best things that could have happened to me in this stressful situation. If I were someone looking for a wedding venue I would reccomend working with these ladies they truly do care, obviously since they offered to help someone who is not even getting married at their venue. Thank you for being so kind.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaren87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyons
14.3 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
14.2 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 338 reviews
16.6 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#5 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Boulder Adventure Lodge
Boulder Adventure Lodge
#3 of 19 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
16.6 mi away
Streamside on Fall River
Streamside on Fall River
#26 of 78 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
17.1 mi away
Chautauqua Cottages
Chautauqua Cottages
#1 of 2 in Boulder
4.5 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins

Address: 18055 North St. Vrain Drive, Lyons, CO 80540
Location: United States > Colorado > Lyons
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lyons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 45 private acres between Estes Park and Boulder, Stone Mountain Lodge and Cabins is ideal for relaxing vacations, family reunions, unique outdoor Colorado weddings and romantic cabin getaways. There is a pond with ducks and fishing, towering red cliffs and a private hiking trail. Six unique cabin units and affordable lodge rooms are inviting with individual country charm. Air conditioning, cable TV, free Denver metro phone and free wifi. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Venere so you can book your Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stone Mountain Lodge & Cabins Hotel Lyons
Stone Mountain Lodge And Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing