We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelly's Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyons
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shelly's Cottages
Save Saved
You added Shelly's Cottages to your Saves list
16188 N. St. Vrain Dr., Lyons, CO 80540   |  
Hotel amenities
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful, beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Absolutely lovely surroundings, wonderful grounds to walk, with a bubbling stream...it was bliss. If you want solitude, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

I had researched many places on the internet, I was looking for a relaxing, romantic, close, getaway for my boyfriends birthday, I was very skeptical because of some of the reviews I had read. Upon our arrival, I felt very welcomed, the cabin was small but very clean and modern, ours was the Maples cabin. The private hottub was the main reason I had chosen Shelly's. And we truley enjoyed every moment, the outdoor hot tub was so relaxing, with the starry night above that was something I will always cherish. My only regret is that we only stayed 1 night ! We will be back very soon....

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We've been going to Shelley's for about four years now. We really enjoy it. The cabins are not 5 star luxury, but certainly sufficient and always very clean. The grounds are always very well maintained. The owners are welcoming and accomodating. I think people who stay here have to keep in mind that this property is family owned and operated so there are some minor inconveniences related to that issue. They have resently updated the insides of the cabins so they look nice and homey. We have only had trouble with the hot tub one time. They are usually quite hot, clean, and relatively secluded. Our biggest complaint is always comfort. The living rooms have futons--not the most comfortable when you want to put your feet up and relax. Overall, though, a great, relaxing, affordable place to stay. We'll be back. (ps- we have NEVER been charged any kind of extraneous fee. We clean the messes we make and respect other people's property.)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

I think Shelly's was ideal to visit during the winter. My boyfriend and I were looking for a cabin not too far away from Denver where we could relax and do a little hiking. The cabins are located close together, so if all the cabins were full I feel that it would not seem as private. The hot tubs are very private, though.

The cabins were extremely clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We had everything we needed for a getaway!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

Two days of unwinding, relaxing and enjoying life the cabins were great,the kitchengave us a choise to cook in or a short ride to town. the river and grounds made us feel like we wanted to stay longer. what a place to get away to. den

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

Shelly's is amazing. You get that rustic feel of being in a cabin in the wilderness, but with modern convenience. Great rooms with amazing beds, private hot tub out back and a great little kitchen. Each cabin also has a grill, which we use on every trip. Right next door to Shellys up the dirt road is a great hiking trail. Only a few minutes to Lyons and under 20 to Estes Park its a great location, and being able to sit on the grassy island with the river running all around you....nothing beats that.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

My girlfriend and I escaped to Shelly's for a scrapbooking weekend. We could not have made a better choice! Just outside of Lyons and located in the canyon-it is very quiet and beautiful, we had no distractions, unless you count the scenery. We were able to check in with no issues, the owners were very informative and extremly kind. The room was perfect for our needs. We had plenty of space to spread out, which is important when you are scrapbooking! The beds were very comfortable and the room was clean. We had picked our cabin from the internet, and it was exactly what we expected (their website is great!) When we needed a break it was nice to be able to walk down to the river and just enjoy the mountain air. It's very quiet and peaceful. We both really enjoyed sitting in the hot tub and staring up at the stars, perfect for catching up with a good friend. We hated to pack up and leave, we will return for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shelly's Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelly's Cottages

Address: 16188 N. St. Vrain Dr., Lyons, CO 80540
Location: United States > Colorado > Lyons
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Lyons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Shelly`s Cottages Hotel Lyons

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelly's Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.