We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free! Who can beat that!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loveland Museum/Gallery

Loveland Museum/Gallery
503 N. Lincoln Ave, Loveland, CO 80537
970-962-2410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Loveland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Free! Who can beat that!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Loveland got it right when they opened this museum. They have world renowned traveling shows, local artist cases and the parking lot beside it usually has community event going on.
The museum is the heart of the community and free to the public. Donations are welcomed and always appreciated. Learn about the cities history and local artist. Make sure to check the list of events or classes they host on the bulletin board downstairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
147 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“An engaging museum visit (every time I go!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

What I love most about this museum is the wing that is devoted to the history of sugar beet farming. The displays, journals. images and stories make you realize how much Northern Colorado prospered when sugar beet farming was at it's prime.

The next best thing I love about this museum is the display of rivers and mountains located upstairs. If you live in the area, you must visit this display to get a good appreciation for the vast channels of rivers, irrigation canals and water flow. You'll also get a good history of the Big Thompson flood.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Impressive for a small museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I visited when I was a child and I recently took my nieces back. I was struck by how much really is here for a small museum. It's not just a bunch of replicas or donated junk, but researched history of the city. The fact that children are allowed to experience so much of it hands on is really valuable. I couldn't believe how much my nieces enjoyed the carriage in the front!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Small Town Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When we first moved to CO we were surprised to find a museum in Old Town. Well, at least one that is worth the time to visit. This place is definitely worth a visit. There is a very interesting permanent exhibit on the city's sugar beet industry which was once the primary economic basis for the town. This exhibit ties into a very well done exhibit on life in Loveland during the sugar beet boom years. Upstairs there is some interesting memorabilia on how the city has historically celebrated Valentine's Day. The main gallery hosts travelling exhibits that are of mixed quality, however some are exceptional. If you're interested in the travelling exhibits you can check on-line at the Loveland city website. We usually visit once or twice a year.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, COoorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Surprise in a small package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Thelayout, arrangement, and quality of the shows are more typical of large museums. National exhibits like that of Chuilly and the Colorado Govern;r's Invitational are just examples of the caliber you will find in the galleries. A few permanent exhibits are well done.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loveland Museum/Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Loveland Museum/Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loveland Museum/Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.