We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice souvenir stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dam Store

The Dam Store
10103 US HWY 34 West, Loveland, CO 80537
+(1)970-667-2070
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 36 things to do in Loveland
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice souvenir stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Dam Store is on the way to Estes Park as you travel west on Hwy 34. They are a small store with a few nic nacs, lots of T-shirts, post cards and pretty much all the souvenir odds and ends you would expect in a souvenir shop. There are plenty more of these shops in Estes Park. I think what makes the Dam Store special is their longevity in the community, the way they bounced back after the recent floods in Colorado and the way they allowed folks up on their roof to view the damage caused to our beautiful gateway into Rocky Mountain National Park. They are not the nicest souvenir shop around but I always stop in and shop there to show my appreciation for their kindness when it was so desperately needed. Take a break there before heading through the canyon. They have some stories to tell!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Shopping, Neat Items and prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Dam Store, is a great place to buy Colorado items, neat location by the Big Thompson River. Visit it at least once a year.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Historic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

This store is unique and the first store you see going up to Estes Park. This store has weathered 2 floods and is still standing. There is a lookout tower you can go up into and view the surroundings, it is wonderful!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The End of the Line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Well we were on our way to Estes Park, but the floods have closed the roads. Intrigued by "road open to Dam Store" and ".99 Elk Jerky". So we went. We got the jerky, we climbed the tower, we got the inside scoop from the locals, and we got the photo. We had a great time!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“ONE MORE STORE FILLED WITH JUNK”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thought this would be a cute store with the name and all and instead it is filled with all the same souvenier crap you find for CO that is probably all made in China. They could have done so much more wtih this store but instead chose to sell lots of cheap junk you can probably find in Walmart.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dam Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dam Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.