We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic ranch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
2939 N County Rd 31D, Loveland, CO 80538-9763   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GETMORE FOR LESS IN 2014!
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic ranch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Stayed here two nights in one of three Sweetheart Cabins with a wonderful wood burning fireplace. Our cabin was the Molly Brown (the closest to the river). There were only five or six other guests nights we stayed. At the (included) hot sit-down breakfast each morning, the owner made a point of coming in to greet everyone, make sure people had met, and took the time to sit down at each table, have some coffee, and learn about the guests. All the staff members were extraordinary. We went on a trail ride one morning, which was a great value, and will be back for some advanced riding lessons. The horses were well-cared for. There is no doubting this is a REAL ranch as you roam the extensive grounds. This was a great romantic place to stay for couples who like the rustic Western motif.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
14
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

Our family of 4 just visited Sylvan Dale for our 4th trip in 10 years. Our kids are now in their 20's and it's as much fun for all of us as it was the first time. The Jessup family welcome you in as part of their family. The ranch is beautiful, the food and entertainment are fantastic, the horses and riding programs are alot of fun, and the staff is terrific. Tremendous attention to detail. Lots of other activities besides riding if you choose. We will return to this great getaway!

  • Liked — Beautiful place and great staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

My family of 5 (kids aged 4,9, 12) is about to return to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch for our third time in less than a year...I am hooked on this wonderfully unique place. Although none of my family knew what to expect before we arrived the first time last summer, each and every one of us left with an excitement and thrill that we will not quickly replicate (my kids have talked about it all year). The week was filled with incredible horses and amazingly nice and knowledgable wranglers who taught us the art and skill of real western riding. Beyond the barn, our time was occupied with the month old colts, cow-penning activities, watching the free roaming chickens on the ranch, fishing on the on-property stream, great food -- and all in a beautiful setting! We were so struck with this place, that we returned for a short stint in March and are heading back in August. I can't wait for my kids to again enjoy the freedom and excitement (and no electronics!!) that is so very Sylvan Dale!! The pictures on the website are all very accurate and did I mention, the staff and hosts were WONDERFUL too!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2007

I'm glad to see that someone else wrote a recent review. We stayed 2/20/06 through 2/26/06. My husband and I wanted a different B & B experience, and this fits the bill! The photos on their website accurately depict the lodgings and landscape.

These are basic, clean and comfortable lodgings with nice, decorative touches. We had the opportunity to stay in a Sweetheart Cabin and loved the close proximity to the river and a real wood fireplace. We also tried a half cabin closer to the road, which had been more recently updated and was very comfortable. A full sized water heater and a clawfoot tub were a real treat! All cabins have heating and air conditioning, and are nicely insulated. One note of caution: the Sweetheart Cabins can be a bit smoky due to the fireplace, so if you are sensitive to smoke you may want to stay in another cabin.

Breakfast was simple and filling, a great way to start the day. The best part was having the ranch all to ourselves for the first three nights, and spending time talking with the staff in the morning. Everyone was so friendly, and it felt like you had joined an extended family.

If you like birding, there are plenty of opportunities to spot flickers, dippers, heron, geese, finches, etc. right now. We took a trail ride for an hour, and the property is starkly beautiful this time of year. I highly recommend seeing the property on horseback. We found frozen waterfalls by the river---gorgeous!

If you like getting away from it all (no phone, TV or internet except in the main lodge) and you love nature, stay at the Sylvan Dale!

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2007

We're stayed here twice. Each time we requested special favors the 2nd generation Jessup family bent over backward to accommodate us. The staff are all helpful.

Although it's just over one hour from Denver, and minutes from Loveland CO, the remote mountain setting will delight and repose.

This is not the place to stay if you're looking for very high-end digs. Try the C Lazy U for a more upscale, but less-authentic ranch experience. What you will find here are impeccably clean, rustic, comfortable rooms. Ask for a cabin or lodge room rather than the Wagon Wheel House. The room we stayed in there was OK but not as nice as the others. Watch their website for specials. The Big Thompson River flows through the property and creates some wonderful views

The ranch has plenty of activities for both active (multi-day cattle drives) and less active (short nature walks, one-hour horseback rides, corral rides for the little ones) cowpokes. Don't miss the hayride no matter what time of year. The Jessups know, and eagerly share, their ranch history, geologic history and wildlife. The newer building, which houses reception and after-dinner activities, is also a great place to hang out and read in front of one of the fireplaces.

Food was always copious and tasty. Just remember you're on a ranch, not at a high-end French restaurant. Thanksgiving dinner there was a special treat.

In short, I think you won't find a friendlier group anywhere. Sylvan Dale hosts go out of their way to ensure a great value for whatever your level of activities and whatever your needs.

  • Liked — scenic, rustic
  • Disliked — rustic
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2004

The back drop next to the river in June is the perfect place to get married. The service was better than average, almost excellent, with only one testy employee, who was quickly replaced with a more reasonable person. The food was excellent. Big tip: If you get married next to the river as we did, rent a PA system. The river creates too much background noise.

Be certain to plan pictures next to the heart-shaped pond and on the big tree swing. A tip on that as well: It rains in June, usually late afternoon. Plan accordingly. For pictures on the swing, bring something to lay on the ground under the swing and something to sit on.

Finally, book your rooms for overnight stay at the same time as you book your facility...

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel
Address: 2939 N County Rd 31D, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Loveland
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure!Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch to your Saves list