We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowgirl Round up” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Loveland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch
Save Saved
You added Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch to your Saves list
2939 N County Rd 31D, Loveland, CO 80538-9763   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
GET MORE FOR LESS - 2014!
Lincolnshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cowgirl Round up”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

What a great weekend to spend with your gal pals! Went with 10 other girlfriends! The staff was tremendous in accommodating an 1 1/2 to 3-4 hr. rides on 3200 acres of land. They taught us how to care for the horses. You can ride as much as you want or relax the afternoon away. From massages to yoga to line dancing to singing around the campfire, the 4 day weekend was an experience to remember! Will definitely return with my family! It is family owned and you can tell that the staff is very passionate about what they do. The horses are so well trained. There are a variety of horses for all levels! Love the bell ringing for chow time!! The Jessep family really has a magical place to experience the great outdoors as a CowGIRL!!!!

Room Tip: We Stayed in the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse, as convenient as it was for all of us to be together the acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
14
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I grew up in Loveland and Sylvan Dale has always been regarded as a great place to stay and for weddings etc. It has been there for as long as I can remember. We were back in the area visiting family after a long absence. The cabin was clean and comfortable and we were just fine without TV. Cell phone reception is a bit spotty but wireless is available as is free access to a computer/printer. Breakfast was hearty and the food was good. My toddler LOVED the old fashioned merry go round, throwing rocks in the river and looking at the horses. I was horrified by the poorly thought out development around Loveland but the area near Sylvandale is just as lovely as it was when I was a child. We definitely will stay there again. My only complaint was that their walking and hiking trails are not well marked.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Benito, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I spent 3 nights with my family on September 16, 2011. The setting and location are outstanding right on the banks of the beautiful Big Thompson River. We stayed in the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse (the lowest priced accommodation). Clean and comfortable slept
well. They have many cabins that would probably be much nicer. The daily breakfast was
great. The staff was Very Friendly. We took a trail ride on horses and that was also alot of fun. The resort is only about 28 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. Enroute you travel through the Big Thompson River Canyon...which is breath taking.

Room Tip: In the bunkhouse either 9, 10 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We had never been to a dude ranch and weren't sure what to expect, but Sylvan Dale Ranch (SDR) is home away from home.

The Jessup family owns roughly 3,200 acres in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains, and the scenery is just beautiful. This is the setting for the ranch, which is a working ranch with cattle, which enhances the experience for guests.

Accommodations: there are numerous choices for accommodations, from cabins to a lodge to a couple of guest houses to a suite above the dining rom. All the rooms have names, and we stayed in the Big T (Big Thompson, named for the river that runs through the area and can see it from our room), a two bedroom suite just perfect for our family of four. We weren't actually in our rooms that much as there is so much to do, but they are absolutely fine.

Food: Chef Tom serves up three wonderful meals of comfort food each day, and there is always something there for everyone, including the kids. Breakfasts range from made to order omletts to eggs florentine to pancakes or french toast. Lunches were budgers or BBQ or sandwiches. Dinners ranged from steaks to ribs to mexican night. We never missed a meal!

There is a kids program to keep the little ones of all agres busy...they have their own area on the rnach as well. Kids can pet the foals, pick from the garden, receive riding lessons, go on trail rides, swim in the pool, archery, rock climb...you name it. All included in their price!

For adults, you have the option of the Heart J Rider prorgam, which lets you ride everyday. We had lessons and trail rides every morning, and then rides in the afternoon as well, with a competition at the end of the week. On average we were on horses for close to 4 hours per day. You assigned your own horse for the week (kids too), so that you and the horse get comfortable with each other.

Beyond horse riding there was skeet shooting, rock climbing, nature walks, hiking, swimming, hot tub, tubing, workshops...too many things to mention. And they were really flexible on times as sometimes activities overlapped, so they simply moved some times so guests could do everything they wanted!

Our youngest daughter (9 years old) said she didn't want to leave and asked if we could go back next year. While there are quite a few ranches in Colorado and Wyoming, what makes SDR special is the scenery, as well as the customer experience. The Jessup family runs the ranch and works really hard for the guests to have a truly great experience. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone and will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We only stayed one night on our trip thru Colorado, but we would definitely stay again and stay longer. We were in the "Baby Doe" cabin, near the river. Cabins and grounds were immaculate; the staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We hosted a training weekend for 50 volunteers. The weekend was great, and the evaluations from our attendees were unanimous in their praise of Sylvan Dale. The beautiful location, food, meeting rooms and accommodations were outstanding. The staff went out of their way to make everyone feel welcome and our meeting went flawlessly. Made our job very easy. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Recent led a Christian student group which hosted a retreat for about 40 students and alums from CSU at Sylvan Dale and it was nearly perfect! We used the Wagon Wheel Bunkhouse and it met our needs almost exactly.

The staff were amazing accommodating. The setting shone with the beauty one expects from a Colorado winter. The facilities are somewhat rustic but actually quite nice, except for a mediocre self-serve kitchen in the Wagonwheel, but that was actually ok too. Free wireless internet made up for poor cell phone reception. The common areas, indoor and outdoor, were awesome.

The whole experience really was heavenly. We had a magnificent weekend and hope to return. Thanks again Sylvan Dale!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch

Address: 2939 N County Rd 31D, Loveland, CO 80538-9763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Loveland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Loveland
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named "Best Family Vacation" by Frommer's Colorado guidebook and rated among the "Top Ten Colorado Dude Ranches" by True West Magazine, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch offers year ‘round outdoor adventure. Conveniently located just one hour from Denver in the Colorado foothills near Rocky Mountain National Park and Estes Park, Sylvan Dale’s 3200-acre working Dude Ranch and Retreat Center is nestled along the banks of Colorado's beautiful Big Thompson River. Offering activities such as cattle drives, trail rides, horseback riding, trophy trout fly fishing, hiking and nearby hunting, nature experiences, tennis, swimming, and many other activities,true adventure awaits you! Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch is perfect for your next vacation adventure!Much more than just an historic working ranch, Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch also provides exceptional services for business and private meetings, holiday parties, picnics, reunions, family vacations, bed & breakfast, weddings, and a variety of exciting outdoor adventures. sylvan Dale's delicious and healthy Heart-J natural grass-fed beef is also available for purchase. Come experience all that is the beauty of Sylvan Dale! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch Hotel Loveland
Sylvan Dale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sylvan Dale Guest Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.