We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Sante FE Mexican Grill

Old Sante FE Mexican Grill
994 W Dillon Rd, Louisville, CO 80027-9448
720-890-8456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 85 Restaurants in Louisville
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
blue ridge mountains
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Ate here 3 times during a four day visit, so we obviously enjoyed it. Sauces were very tasty, portions ample and prices fair. Service was friendly & professional.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced Mexican.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Got two tacos, two margaritas. The chicken was either from a steam table or something similar, and was not drained well. I picked it up wrung about two ounces of water out of it. It must have been on a steamtable or equivalent, as it came out within two minutes of my order. It's also offputting when the server(s) and/or bartenders hang out with their friends at the bar. Kind of makes you feel like you've walked into someone else's house uninvited.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Hills, Colorado
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Food, Average Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Although the refried beans were runny; they had a good flavor. The other items on my plate were quite tasty. I had the #6 sampler. The portions were about right; and the price was in line with other mexican restaurants in the area. I was given a glass of lemon water that was cold and refreshing. It was a nice compliment to the meal and the draught beer I had selected.
I felt a bit rushed by the waitstaff. I eat a bit slower than some people. A waiter with a leftover container appeared at my table about 3/4th of the way through my meal. I had not asked for this. I did clean my plate before leaving. This natuarally lowered the tip, and ruined otherwise acceptable service.
Try this place at least once before deciding. It has great potential.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good service, average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The service here was excellent , the waitstaff was very attentive. The food however, had a chain restaurant quality to it. It was better than many restaurants of this type but still pretty uninspired. On the inexpensive side but I suspect better food can be had in this area for less.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Had a quick lunch here. Good food, typical Mexican, but fresh and well done. Great service.
Reasonable prices.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Sante FE Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Old Sante FE Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Sante FE Mexican Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.