We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leenie's Southern Cafe

Leenie's Southern Cafe
800 S Hover, Suite 9, Longmont, CO 80501-6419
303-776-4195
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 242 Restaurants in Longmont
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

On the plus side.
The service is excellent. The staff is friendly and attentive without being pushy. Our coffee cups were filled regularly. (And the coffee was pretty good, too.)
The Pain Perdu was delicious as was the syrup with which it was served. Eggs were done perfectly to order. The beignets are excellent and you'd have to go to New Orleans for better.

The eggs Benedict, unhappily, were another story. The sauce had broken; that's a hazard when you're dealing with Hollandaise, I guess. But even if it had held, that wouldn't have helped. No lemon that I could detect.No tang, no bite, no . . .nothing. While the ham (No, there was no Canadian bacon, but you won't find it anywhere anymore, it seems) was pretty good, the English muffin could have been crisper; mine was soggy.

Bottom line? Partner loved it and when I go back I'll stick to the biscuits and gravy or perhaps try the hash.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    4
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beignets in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Who would have expected beignets in Longmont. The Cafe was a pleasant surprise during our trip to visit our daughter in Longmont. Everything we had was excellent!! The menu for breakfast was very broad. The corned beef hash was homemade and tasted great. Guy where are you? Dannitta thanks for the great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Definately NOT made from scratch!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Where is Robert Irvine (Restaurant Impossible) when you need him? Red beans out of a can! Green chile that is brown! A sausage patty that you aren't sure what animal it came from! Jiffy Corn Bread Mix? The items at this restaurant are not made from scratch! Tasteless. And cold. And we were there when they were not busy, so I'm not sure why my food was cold. Cold Plate? The wait staff is very friendly and pleasant. The bathrooms were clean, as was the eating area. Unfortunately, the food is poor. And boxed and canned.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
“Great staff and Great tasting food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Glad they moved to a bigger location the old one was so small and you had to wait.

The only thing I would change is expanding the menu, but what is on there is so good!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average breakfast place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Friendly service, but greasy place and greasy food. If you like that for breakfast and if you want your clothes to smell for days like a greasy diner, then this is your choice. The food is about average. There are better breakfast places in Longmont.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leenie's Southern Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Leenie's Southern Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leenie's Southern Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.