We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I crave the tacos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mariposa Restaurant

La Mariposa Restaurant
1240 Ken Pratt Blvd Ste 5A, Longmont, CO 80501-6300
(303) 772-6288
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 210 Restaurants in Longmont
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Loveland, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I crave the tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I like it here but I only go in for the shredded beef Tacos Dorado. Some times I just have to have them, they are THAT good! The service has always been good for me. I have taken my parents here and Mom had a Shrimp Salad that she loved. They have a diverse Margarita and cocktail menu and I can definitely recommend you give one of their specialty Margaritas a try! My husband always orders combo meals and finds them to be run of the mill. The decor is cute, family friendly and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“"The Butterfly"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I try to eat here at least once a month! I love the decor! The staff is always pretty friendly.
I am really stuck on the chile rellenos, but do like their enchiladas also. Everyone I have taken
to La Mariposa have enjoyed it. I recommend the guacamole made at your table. It is on the specials one night of the week and is a fun addition to the meal. It is very clean and spacious. I always feel like we have privacy no matter how crowded it is since the tables are not placed too close together. The drinks are festive and happy hour is worth it. My friend had a burrito that was enough for 3 meals! Lunch is very reasonable with combo plates for under 10.00. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone I have visit. It is nice to have it in Longmont. Also in Lyons! I

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food bland but watch out for the daily specials”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

My main beef: Misleading daily special. Went on a Tuesday eve. First time. Wanted to try it out.
Signs there said the special that eve was two-for-one house margaritas. Nothing else said. I looked on the menu. Price for a margarita was $5. OK. I ordered dinners and the special.
I get the bill - notice it said $6.50 for the drink. I asked waiter. Said the special was for the "medium" sized margarita. I noted that there was not even a medium margarita on the drink menu. He agreed that it wasn't there.
I felt duped…..
I paid the bill plus tip (not as big of one if I hadn't been duped).
Service - OK. Two waiters just visiting for awhile, in my sight, while we waited for bill.
Food: portion size-fine.
Presentation-fine.
Taste ( I had enchiladas, wife had taco combo) --- really bland, even for me who doesn't like spicy hot. I added lots of the salsa that came w/ the (ok) chips. Still not much.
Probably won't go back. Just had this vision of staff in some corporate room thinking up ways to rip off or deceive customers via their daily specials.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Spanish restaraunt for the Spanish family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

It was almost like being back home with my grandparents! Good people and good food and good Flan! It was great to get as close to what I remember of my grandmothers home while living so far away from her!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“READ THIS BEFORE YOU GO!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I have had a great dinner here!! I had to order the 20" burrito and yes it was very large. My wife had the trio of meats That was very dry! I thought the chipotle shrimp are awesome.. The service is very good!! TIP: they have happy hour and daily specials. They also have a margarita menu that is unparalleled!! If this helps please like the review.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mariposa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Mariposa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mariposa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.