We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked the pain perdu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucile's Creole Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lucile's Creole Cafe
2852 W Bowles Ave, Littleton, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 367 restaurants in Littleton
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Liked the pain perdu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Wait was'nt bad at 10am on a Sunday. Loved the French toast in pain perdu, with andouille sausage. Their orange juice really is freshly made. Service was fair, as we're prices. Guess I'm leary of restaurants offering logo'd shirts, sweatshirts, visors, and shot glasses in the lobby!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    11
    9
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Best creole food around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was the presenter to a small group meeting at Lucile's. Quite frankly, I was unaware of this restaurant. The restaurant is a rambling southern style building, quite large, and eaily had space for our group with privacy. The menu is varied, with shrimp creole ($10.25), Blackened Salmon, mashed potatoes and collard greens ($12.55), Crawfish Etouffee ($13.10), etc. I had a Creole Omelet that came with spicy sausage sauce, grits, and a buttermilk biscuit. Everyone loved their meal. There is a large play area for kids for weekend customers I'll make a point to miss that. Be advised hours are 7:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m., so breakfast and lunch only. Other locations in the Denver metro area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What was really good has definitely changed for the worst”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have been regular customers at this location since it opened and have seen a steady decline in the quality of the food, service and overall ambiance. Within the past few weeks our breakfast has been served at room temperature, was sent back and returned in the same manner.

We wouldn't recommend this location anymore, but hold out hope that their other locations have retained the quality that made them a place to gather.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Authentic creole breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Go! Be prepared to wait (and enjoy a delicious bloody Mary or other breakfast cocktail).
It's worth it.

Understand the atmosphere is casual, nothing fancy (cut pieces of fabric as napkins), as it should be. They focus on the food and that's the most important part!

If you go with kids, there is a dance floor for them to strut their stuff (this location used to be a sports bar and before that a night club), there is also a toy play area, and if that doesn't keep the busy, there is a gazebo and fire pit outside.

Highly recommend the biscuits and gravy, Cajun breakfast, eggs sardou, and well just about anything on the menu (especially if it includes crawfish)! My 4 and 5 year old cant get enough of the delicious beignets, biscuits with housemate jelly and the shrimp & grits!

Great place to take out-of-towners or to break your Littleton dining out routines!

Ps- service is always consistent, as is the food- and that's enough to get me back regularly!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lunch with the guys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Bets Cajun I have found in the Denver area. Plan to return time and time again to try every thing on the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucile's Creole Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lucile's Creole Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lucile's Creole Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.