We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food in a spectacular setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tennessee Pass Cookhouse

Tennessee Pass Cookhouse
259 County Road 29, Leadville, CO 80461
719.486.8114
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 24 Restaurants in Leadville
Price range: $0 - $70
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Glenwood Springs
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

It's hard to decide which is better, the food, the views or the setting. Luckily, there's no need to choose at Tennessee Pass Cookhouse, all three are incredible. You start out at the Tennessee Pass Nordic Center at the base of Ski Cooper in Leadville, Colorado. They will set you up with snowshoes or cross-country skis, but you can also hike since the trail is so well groomed. It's a one-mile trip to the cookhouse - uphill on the way there, but thankfully downhill on the way back with a full belly! They'll even bring you back on a snowmobile if you want.

The cookhouse is in a yurt, with a deck overlooking some of the most beautiful mountains in the West. Inside, it's a fairy-tale setting, with beautifully set wooden tables lit by candlelight. I had a chicken and wild rice soup, with sweet potatoes in a coconut curry base, that was so good I could have just eaten that all night long. I chose the cedar plank Alaskan salmon, served with asparagus and baby carrots on wild rice. Dessert: homemade pie! The wine and craft beer lists are wonderful as well.

This is one you should not miss if you're in the Leadville/Summit/Vail area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    7
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Blissful dining in the mountains!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

After a 1 mile XCounrty ski in to the yurt (you can also snow shoe or hike), we had a fabulous meal. Elk, Lamb, Salmon entrees all excellent. Even on a Monday night with only 9 guest dining, they did a fabulous job. $75/person. Worth the drive! One of the highlights of our ski week in Colorado.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Almost out of this world dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Your evening begins with a one mile cross country ski up to the Cookhouse. (I understand they can take people up who are not able to ski or snowshoe.) Built on the side of a mountain at 10,600 feet of elevation, the view is spectacular during the day. A four course fixed price meal is served. Two of us had elk tenderloin entrees and the third member of our group had wild Alaska Coho Salmon cooked on a plank. The meal started with appetizers including bruschetta made with mushrooms, pine nuts, sundried tomatoes, and other ingredients. Additionally, there were ricotta stuffed dried figs, and Boar's Head sausage slices. Second course was your choice of salad or soup. We tried both and thought they were excellent. The salad had mixed greens, pear slices, candied walnuts and a light sprinkling of feta cheese with pomegranate vinaigrette. Chicken vegetable soup with barley was equally delicious. Dessert was strawberry rhubarb pie with whipped cream on the side. All the food is made in house.
Because we were the only diners that evening the chef was also the server. He explained how the yurt was built as well as about the historic wood fired stove that heated the building. Most of the light was from candles on the tables but there were four small solar powered ceiling lights. The service was perfect, the timing was not rushed, and we thought it was a great way to spend an evening. The price included ski/snowshoe equipment for anyone who needed it as well as headlamps to help you see as you skied back to your car. You could also go early and ski around the trails without any additional charge. When you reserve, you tell them what entree you want to order.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Unique Experience - Very Expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Let's face it, you know going in that it's $75 a head. You are paying for the experience. I live in the Denver area and frequent the mountains but this is a very unique dining experience even for those of us who get the see the Rockies all the time. If you are a flat lander this is a must do outing. The folks at our table who ordered chicken were underwhelmed but the elk and the lamb was outstanding.

We stayed at the brand new for winter 2011 sleep yurts. That was a wonderful experience and next time we'll likely skip out on the Cookhouse expense and pack in some crab leg and lobsters tails and cook in sleep yurt.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, CO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Great food, fun ski-in, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I went up to the Cookhouse with my wife, her father, and two friends visiting from abroad. The food was delicious, and we very much enjoyed the atmosphere. Skiing into the cookhouse was a lot of fun, though some of our party decided to walk in instead. The track was very firm and no snowshoes were needed. It's about a 300 foot rise over a mile to get there, and the ski out in the dark, with headlamps, was lots of fun too. We'll be coming back soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tennessee Pass Cookhouse also viewed

 

Been to Tennessee Pass Cookhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tennessee Pass Cookhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.