We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Drinks in Leadville” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Two Guns Distillery - CLOSED

Two Guns Distillery
401 Harrison Avenue, Leadville, CO
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Description: Distillery manufacturing plant with a handcrafted tasting cocktail-lounge. We make 100 proof spirits based upon historical 1880's recipes from Leadville, CO. Have a selection of over 18 signature cocktail recipes of the spirits produced, aged, and bottled on location. No food offered in the winter, but bring in take out is encouraged!
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Drinks in Leadville”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went in for a beer and what a surprise. We had the Moonshine Mule, Singapore Sling, Moonshine Berry Mojitos, Whiskey Lemonade and The Gatling. All were tasty treats containing their own brew of moonshine and whiskey. One of the owners, Sarah was our drink master and she was a delight. The best she made was the Gatling a concoction of whiskey, chocolate and caramel a great dessert!
As a special treat they had a smoker on the front patio. Chef Jim was cooking wild game sausage of Elk, Boar, Jackalope and Buffalo all were delicious.
This one should be on your list.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Cool, Hip Place in Leadville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Unique, Cool and Hip. Seems like Aystin, Texas with beautiful Leadville, Colorado scenery. Nice outdoor patio, folk music piped into the speakers. A variety of Handmade Grilled sausages are the only food on the menu. Simple and delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barra del Colorado Wildlife Refuge, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“I wish them luck in this new endeavor!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It is nice to see a new place in Leadville. The first time we went there the line was far too long and we left. On our second visit we again waited a long time for a drink, I realize that the drinks are hand-crafted and unique and this takes time. The drinks tasted good but not sure they are worth the price. The décor and atmosphere are very impressive. The owner seems like a personable man. I am glad it was only open until 11 as it would be very easy to have too much to drink here as we did notice that on some of the patrons. What I did not like was smelling cigarette smoke in the outdoor seating area and we tried the sausage platter and unfortunately it did not "sit well" with all of us the rest of the evening. I do hope Two Guns Distillery can be sustainable in Leadville.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Unique place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This place is new to Leadville and owned and operated by an amazing guy. Don't miss the opportunity to talk with B.A. Dallas. He distills all the moonshine(like vodka) and Wild West whiskey. Very creative/fresh cocktail concoctions with fruit, mint, ginger beer and even chocolate. He is also the artist of all the impressive paintings displayed!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Locally-owned with a great vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I grew up in a small town and have since moved to a metropolitan area. Even still, I love seeing what small towns have to offer especially because it brings out a uniqueness and passion that is often lost in urban sprawl. Two Guns Distillery is the epitome of these characteristics with a fantastic product to boot!
The atmosphere is unparalleled in the area, offering that old-timey feel that going to a boom town should offer while also providing corn hole and occasionally live music!
I did not indulge in the sausage cart, but I got the feeling that going for a delicious cocktail was their primary focus and definitely worth it. I'll most certainly be back and can't wait to see their product on the national market.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Two Guns Distillery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Two Guns Distillery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.