We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saloon in an old west town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Dollar Saloon

Silver Dollar Saloon
315 Harrison Ave, Leadville, CO 80461-3611
719-486-9914
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 22 restaurants in Leadville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: A bar/restaurant full of history and memorabilia. Great food and hospitality. Photos allowed and info on the back of the menu.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Saloon in an old west town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was drawn to the Silver Dollar Saloon because of the big sign on the sign of the building about it being an old saloon.

I enjoyed the vibe walking in, though it wasn't so much of a saloon feel but more of a dive bar feel. That was definitely ok as I love dive bars.

I was disappointed that they didn't have any beers on tap, so I settled with a bottled 1554. I tried both the chicken fried chicken sandwhich and the fish and chips...I would definitely recommend the sandwhich and not the fish and chips.

Be sure to check out the picture of the supposed ghost in the back of the bar. I for one like to believe in ghosts, but I question that picture. You can be the judge.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

34% Recommend
    15
    15
    28
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Great ambiance - old saloon. Has been in business well over 100 years. Lots of history. Good food, good service. Enjoyed the place and would go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great saloon with lots of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I love to bring guests to this old time saloon and share its history. Be sure to check out the mirror behind the bar and the old tiles on the floor. Oh, don't forget to look up!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little bit of history and a cold beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a cool little bar with a historical past. Great service and a history lesson. Stop in and check this saloon out. You'll be glad you did.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Save your money and eat elsewhere.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The service was bad. We were a large group and split us into 2 tables, which was fine but never took the order of the second table. When the second table did ask to have their order taken, we were treated like we were troubling them.

Food was small portions for the price. The vegetable beef soup was very spicy.

We watched other folks leave because no one came to their table.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Dollar Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Silver Dollar Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Dollar Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.