We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the stay at Super 8” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Leadville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Leadville to your Saves list
Super 8 Leadville
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1128 US Hwy 24, Leadville, CO 80461   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
usa
1 review
“Enjoyed the stay at Super 8”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Hotel provided great value for the price paid with a nice and helpful staff. Great breakfast

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    36
    67
    20
    7
See reviews for
44
47
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grandview, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We checked in on Friday for the weekend. The staff very friendly and remembered us right away from a previous stay a few months ago. Our room: very CLEAN and comfortable, had a fridge and microwave and a pretty nice view. It was nice to relax in the sauna after a long day of walking the beautiful historic town of Leadville. Good filling breakfast to start the morning right before we left.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesilla, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

At 10, 200 feet in Colorado's historic mining town of Leadville, this is the highest elevation Super 8 in the world! The views alone are 5 star! Colorado's highest 14 000 foot peak, Mt Elbert along with it's 14,000 foot neighbor Mt Massive form the backdrop for this motel.
The place was neat and tidy, the staff friendly and the rooms were clean. Prices were average at $79 and there was a fridge, microwave and Wi-Fi which is great if you need to stay in touch with family and other internet interests. TV got plenty of channels for being so remote from a big city. The conti breakfast was plenty adequate with your typical items. The place was a bit noisy (traffic-a truck route) for being on the end of town next to the road but with the windows up we were fine. Bathroom had plenty of hot water.

Room Tip: Book ahead to save a few bucks. Choose a room on the north side (non-highway side) on the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

When you stay in a Super 8, you probably know what to expect. This Super 8 had a great price & a good location for what we were there to do - hike Mt Elbert. It was only 20 minutes until we were on the trail. However, it was not walking distance from the downtown area. The room had a refrigerator & microwave, which was nice. It was also clean & the beds/pillows were comfortable. The staff was nice and gave good advice on dining options.

Some of the downsides were as follows: the refrigerator was so noisy that we had to unplug it at night to be able to sleep. We reported it but the front desk said they checked it out & it didn't sound very loud. I suggested that they check it out at night as the noise level is different when you are trying to sleep. I would also suggest getting a room away from the road (odd-numbered rooms) as it was noisy if you wanted to keep the window open. The first night the Wi-Fi was very slow but not a problem the other nights we were there. The breakfast was not too bad, but very much needed some protein sources. Everything was carbohydrates: waffles, toast, pastries, cereal, oatmeal. There was also a lack of electrical outlets. We only found one in the room that we could access and it did not accommodate 3-pronged cords. I had to plug my laptop into the bathroom outlet and then be careful to not trip over the cord. Towels were a bit thin & small.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side away from Highway 24 - the odd-numbered rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The price was good at $79 but you get what you pay for. The hotel is very noisy, I had a room on the second floor and the floors were very creaky with every step. Some electrical updates are needed, simple chargers would actually fall out of the wall outlets. I had to prop a chair up against it to hold the plug in place. The highway noise drops significantly at night since there's not much traffic. If all you need is a bed and shower, not a bad place.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the north side, opposite of the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
237 hotel reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

by reserving in advance i was able to get a rate that was lower than that of several other small mom and pop type hotels in town that don't have the pluses of a super 8.
the front rooms with great mountain views also face the highway so you'll have to deal with some traffic noise. i had a room facing the rear of the hotel with a limited mountain view from the third floor, but it was very quiet.
breakfast was very good: excellent waffles, pastry, microwave oatmeal, oranges, cold cereals, coffee, juice.
the room was clean and bed was comfortable as other reviewers have reported. there was a microwave and fridge in the room as well as expanded cable tv on a flat screen tv.
, and a table and chairs.
location is fine- on the highway and just a few blocks from the downtown historic district. very convenient to all the hiking trails in the area too. there's a forest ranger office just east of the motel.
check-in was very fast.

Room Tip: i liked the third floor but there's no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Take the great reviews and the horrible reviews and throw them out the window. This is a clean hotel, a Super 8, with decent service in Leadville. There is not much to the breakfast but you get a room with fridge and microwave. The hotel staff kept the room clean and the bed was fairly new. We were here 3 nights and it had everthing we needed for around $300. If I'm back in Leadville shorlty, I'de probably stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room that faces toward the front. You could have a nice view of Elbert and Massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Leadville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Leadville

Address: 1128 US Hwy 24, Leadville, CO 80461
Location: United States > Colorado > Leadville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Leadville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Leadville 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Leadville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Leadville Hotel Leadville
Super Eight Leadville
Leadville Super Eight
Leadville Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Leadville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.