We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean bed in a decent area....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1301 North Main Street, Lamar, CO 81052 (Formerly Cow Palace Inn)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Clean bed in a decent area....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Far from great but good enough for a good night sleep. The carpets and walls are gross but the beds were very clean and location was surprisingly good. Everyone we spoke to was very helpful. Pool looked nice but we were really just there to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Thank you so much for being so kind to us as we work through our remodel of the great Hotel. It is our labor of love and I'm so happy you are seeing the result of our efforts. I'm especially happy to know how much you enjoyed our Euro-Pillowtop mattresses. We are a Hotel first, so we wanted to give you the best bed possible. Come back, I'll treat you to our great ice cream. Best Wishes. Douglas Thrall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    7
    8
    17
See reviews for
25
13
1
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel is not a five star affair, but it is a reasonably priced hotel with a nice bar and restaurant and a great indoor pool, hot tub and garden area. Sherry, our front desk clerk helped us solve a minor problem with our room, and made sure we were getting the lowest rate (even lower than originally booked on the corporate website). She put us in a room adjacent to the pool. We would definitely stay there again. It may not seem possible, but there is a lot to see and do in and around Lamar, expecially for history buffs.

Room Tip: Get a room that opens to the inside, near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. We have been working very hard over the past 18 months on our major remodel and it make us feel good when we hear that folks are seeing the results of our efforts. Glad you enjoyed the food and lounge as well. Hope you had the opportunity to jump in the pool and we keep it at a nice 86 degrees. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The building had so many stains on the carpet, it was disgusting...the rooms were the same. There was a family in the pool and very loud...to be expected, but when they left the pool the kids ran up and down the stairs and across the landing until fairly late. No one said a word to them. There had been a bad review about the restaurant, but we decided to find out ourselves. The poor guy seemed to be doing everything, maybe even cooking. One table there before us, one came after, but they got menus we didn't. It was very dingy and several dirty tables, we finally left and found a Pizza Hut. They were supposed to have breakfast the next morning starting at 6, we were out of there at 0630 and there was no one around, no food, and no lights on...never stay there again! Yuck!

Room Tip: We paid $80 to have our dog there and he was much cleaner than the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Shelley, I appreciate your comments and have completed a full investigation of your issues. You are correct in your assessment of the spots on the carpet in your room. That room was supposed to be placed on the "out of service" list until it was remodeled. I could not determine how it ended up on the "in service" list but rest assured that it has been taken off that list. I empowered our front desk guest service providers with the authority to resolve this kind of issue in late 2011, and sincerely wish you would have contacted them when you arrived at your room. They could have moved you immediately and accompanied you to ensure you were satisfied with your room. Same goes with any noise from other guests. We are happy to slow the kids down once we are made aware of the problem. You were also correct with the breakfast not being made available at 6:00 a.m., and we have a strict policy on "no show, no call" behavior from our employees. That morning Chef has been dismissed, as were 2 of the evening staff that did not service you the evening before. My goal is to make your stay something to remember from a positive standpoint, not a negative one. I would ask you to call me on my personal cell phone on your next trip to Lamar and I will be more than happy to take care of you. My number is 801-842-4000. Thank you again for your thoughts, as I can only improved on those things that you make me aware of. Our Hotel is a work in progress and I would appreciate the opportunity to serve you at another time. Best wishes in the future. Douglas Thrall, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We travel often between Kansas and New Mexico, and finding a nice place to stay can often be a little difficult in some of the smaller towns. After staying here, we will make this one of our for sure stops. No, this isn't a brand new Holiday Inn Express, but we found the rooms comfortable, clean, and the amenities nice. In fact we rather enjoyed the hotel not being part of a bigger chain. There are some nice restaurants a few mins away downtown, and this location on the western end of town is the perfect spot to drive from the next day. My kids enjoyed the stay as well, and that's saying something. Save some money and stay here.

Room Tip: There is not an elevator in this hotel, if you have trouble with stairs I would suggest calling ahea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. I really appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about our Hotel. We took the property over in 2011 in very poor condition and have put our hearts and souls into the remodel. It is a work in progress and the next time you visit I believe you will see many more upgrades and improvements. Good luck in your travels. Best Wishes, Doug Thrall, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I don't know what the negative reviews are talking about!?1? We were completely happy with our experience at the Cow Palace. This hotel has been renovated and updated and it is a delight. The pool and atrium are gorgeous. It has a nice restaurant and all of the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat! Ignore the negative reviews I honestly think they must have been meant for another location or something. The Cow Palace in Lamar is great! By the way, the person who said the pictures aren't accurate is wrong too. That is exactly how it looked when we stayed in 2013! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Jill,
We want to thank you for taking the time to write so kindly about our property. We are continually working toward the completion of our remodel and appreciate knowing that our efforts are paying off. We hope that you will be our guest again very soon and that you will ask to speak with one of us so that we can thank you in person and show you the newest renovation,
Our best to you,
Lee and Doug
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Can't disagree more with past reviews. Very respectful staff and the food was very good! Slept well and appreciated the cleanliness. (The military can do that for you.) Very patriotic with American flags flying, made me feel right at home. Thank you for the military discount! Glad I saw it for myself!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi James,
We just wanted to reach out to you to first thank you for serving our country and for giving us the privilege to have one of our finest stay in our Hotel. Second, we are happy that your stay was good and appreciate you taking the time to post such a positive review. Our prayers are with our military and heartfelt thanks to all of you.
We hope you will be our guest again soon. Please tell the staff that the owners would like to speak with you personally so that we can express our gratitude for your service to this country in person.
God Bless,
Lee and Doug
Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was once a great hotel. Not any more. Do not believe the pictures on here. The nice pictures of the place are from when it first opened over 30 years ago. The front desk is rude, the restaurant is bad, the rooms still have those nasty bedspreads. Go across the street to the Days Inn or the Holiday Inn, you will be glad you did. The pool keeper put so much chlorine in the pool we thought we were going to be gassed. This place is more of a COW PIE than a Cow palace. If you need anything from the front desk be prepared to go get it. There are not towels by the pool so if you need one you have to go past the bar and restaurant to get one from the front desk who acts like you are out to steal. I tried to talk to a maintenance person and was unable as they only spoke Spanish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAT52, Owner at The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Hi, I am Lee one of the new owners of the Cow Palace Inn. We want you to know that we read each review and take them very seriously. We would like to comment on your thoughts and invite you to contact us and give us the opportunity to discuss your recent visit with one of the owners. We are troubled and sad that you chose not to ask to speak to the manager or us about your multiple complaints while you were still at the hotel.
The pictures on the website were just completed by professional photographers employed by Choice Hotels. These were taken no less than 3 months ago. The pictures show among many other things the brand new hot tub with beautiful new redwood deck and the newly painted and refurbished pool. Our pool is maintained by a professional pool and spa company and our maintenance gentleman keeps it clean and checks the chlorine levels daily. In checking the logs for the past 6 months every day shows chlorine amounts to be correct and the pool maintenance company did not change any settings. There have been zero complaints from any other guests and we have an average of 60 guest rooms occupied each day. Also, there is a welcome letter in each room that explains all of our amenities, times and pool rules. It explains to call the front desk for anything that you need. The reason we have chosen to not have towels at the pool is because in the past housekeeping has found the towels in the pool, hot tub, courtyard and also have been used for other purposes than for pool use. Again, the front desk has a supply of towels available at all times.
Our maintenance personnel are two very nice young men who both speak perfect English and one is bilingual. I have asked everyone and cannot find out who you could have spoken to that could not communicate with you. Our housekeepers are bilingual and if one is not completely fluent she is partnered with one who is.
We apologize if you feel that our front desk was rude to you. Again, we would have appreciated it if you would have asked to speak with the manager or owner at the time you were here so that we could have addressed it at the time. Again, we invite you to contact the hotel and ask to speak with one of us or the manager.
We are very proud of our Restaurant, Clementines. Our food/hamburgers/steaks are made fresh daily and because of this sometimes it might take a little longer to get your meal but we have been told many many times that it is definitely worth it. No details were given to support your negative comment so I am unable to address it.
It is our hope that you will take the time to call us so we can discuss your recent stay.
Thank you.
Lee
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn

Address: 1301 North Main Street, Lamar, CO 81052 (Formerly Cow Palace Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lamar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Lamar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cow Palace Inn has been a landmark hotel of Lamar, Colorado since 1972. It has mounds of tradition, a number of eating establishments; for breakfast, lunch and dinner; as well as all the amenities of your traditional hotel establishment. Recently remodeled, and under new ownership/management, the Cow Palace Inn is well on its’ way of becoming the finest hotel in Lamar. An indoor atrium, lined with skylights, allows natural sunlight to filter into an extra-large, indoor courtyard complete with swimming pool and hot tub. A newly remodeled kitchen and dining area provides guests with exceptional dining and commendable service. Check out the espresso bar and the ice cream shop. We are proud to say that we have the richest ice cream sold in the State Of Colorado. We’re a proud partner of Rodeway Inn and look forward to your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Hotel Lamar
Best Western Lamar
Lamar Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cow Palace Inn/ Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.