We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service good beer bad food!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Yard House

Yard House
14500 W Colfax Ave, Lakewood, CO 80401
303-278-9273
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 349 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Yard House is an upscale-casual eatery known for great food, classic rock music and 130 taps of imported, craft and specialty ales & lagers. Whether you’re in the mood for a grilled burger and a pint of your favorite ale, or seared ahi and a chilled martini, Yard House has something for everyone. Yard House is the perfect place to unwind and take a break - meet old friends for happy hour, or make new ones, celebrate a special occasion, or gather your family for dinner.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bad service good beer bad food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

A ton of beer selections but our bartender waiter was awful. Took our beer order then disappeared. He was around the bar area but disappeared in terms of checking in with us. Our food order was taken by a friendly lady who was better. Food was dry and fries tasted like they were cooked hours before. Overall not a great experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Shane A - You are deserving of a better experience. We are sorry to learn about the inattentive service received. It is also disappoininting to learn that the food arrived dry and the fries did not taste fresh. Would you mind contacting us so that we can learn more and hopefully turn things back around for you? If you don't mind taking the additional time, please email me at yhguestrelations@darden.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    56
    13
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beer Geek Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Used my Find Craft Beer app to locate this place. Excellent beer selection and very knowledgeable servers. Ate dinner one night and went back for lunch the next day. Food was very good and there plenty of people not having beer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

First time diners. And on a Friday night. Group was starving after a long day of travel. Found Yard House by accident while looking for a drugstore.

We expected average meals from a restaurant this large and in a mall but all three of us were pleased with quality. The French Onion and Tomato Bisque (especially) were outstanding. Son had peppercorn Filet. Was cooked perfectly and accompaniments were delicious.

Prices were very reasonable and soups and sauces tasted house made not processed.

Our server was very pleasant.

Our only complaint was the length of time it took from completing out meal to leaving. After plates were cleared it took 10 minutes to get our bill and another 15 for server to pick up our payment. Way too long.

Would recommend if you are in need of a menu with a wide variety and reasonably priced. Large parties are easily accommodated. It is extremely loud.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi JkmW67- We cannot thank you enough for your valuable feedback. While it sounds like you were pleased overall with our restaurant, we are sorry to hear that the service fell slightly short of our service standards and your expectations. Please accept our apologies with the assurance that we will be addressing your concerns regarding the slow service. Please know that we are always available at yhguestrelations@darden.com if you would like to discuss your visit. We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Bit of a Service Trainwreck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My wife and I stopped in 6/27 for dinner and a to-go order. The place always seems busy with people standing outside waiting so even though we live 5 minutes away we usually steer clear. We chanced it finally and were seated pretty quickly. Drink and food service was a bit slow but we had time and plenty to talk about. Prices are a little high but portions are large - appetizers will feed 2-3 easily.

Put in our to-go order as we wrapped up dinner and waited, and waited, and waited. About 20 minutes later I finally headed to the kitchen to see what was up - our server had conveniently disappeared. 20 minutes for a club sandwich? And it still wasn't ready! I just stood there waiting until I saw it come up, some poor manager apologizing for the delay. But, oops, they hadn't started cooking the side for it yet - still waiting, and waiting - told 'em to keep the extras, just get me the sandwich.

Given the service level on a not-so-busy night I can't imagine what it's like when people are standing around with a 45 minute wait. If you have a couple of hours to kill you can try it - otherwise pass.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yard_House, Guest Relations Manager at Yard House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi COFamilyTruckster - Oh, no! You are deserving of a more promptly paced meal than what you received. We are sorry for the delays you experienced. I know we can do a much better job and would welcome the opportunity to show you a better dining experience. When time allows, please email us at yhguestrelations@darden.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, Indiana
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Early dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife I and stopped here for happy hour. The food was above average and the service was excellent. I espeically enjoyed the house salad and mac and chesse2. A great variety of beers on tap.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yard House also viewed

 

Been to Yard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yard House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.