We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Thermostat Faulty” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7190 West Hampden Ave, Lakewood, CO 80227   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
Rapid City, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Room Thermostat Faulty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed two nights at the La Quinta Lakewood, CO the nights of 4 and 5 May 2014. Check-in was quick and friendly, and our room was clean and properly appointed. The continental breakfasts were great and all staff we encountered throughout our stay were friendly and accommodating. The rooms are equipped with a Honeywell-designed thermostat (whose brand is “INNCOM”) that evidently is employed to ensure that the hotel can save energy. The thermostat is wall-mounted well away from the in-room HVAC mechanical system itself. The thermostat employs a sensor of some type that evidently must detect motion or heat from room occupants in order to operate the air conditioning. On our final night’s stay, when we returned from dinner, we found the room to be warm and somewhat humid. Since we prefer to sleep in a cool, dry environment, in the low-to-mid-60s F, I attempted to get the air conditioner compressor to engage by simply lowering the desired temperature setting on the thermostat. The air conditioning refused to operate. Period. I called the front desk and was told to “… set the thermostat to 74°F, then lower the setting” (after some unspecified time had elapsed) as that would supposedly solve the problem. What was indeed an unorthodox-sounding fix only caused the HVAC unit to produce warm air. Subsequent lowering of the temperature setting did not cause the compressor to engage. In fact, the compressor did not operate throughout the remainder of that night. Outside air temperature was about 63°F, so we left the fan on in hopes that the HVAC unit would bring in cool, fresh air, since the compressor was for all intents and purposes useless. The intake of outside air lowered room temperature to only about 69°F and of course did nothing to lower the relative humidity. When we arose the next morning, I heard the compressor cut on momentarily, leading me to think that the sensor on the thermostat detected motion or heat and decided to send a “go” signal. Obviously, the thermostat is set so as not to engage when the OAT is around 63°F; or the sensor that detects presence of guests in the room was malfunctioning; or the calculus that Honeywell employs to govern compressor operation is quite exotic. I even reset the circuit breaker on the HVAC power plug once but it made no difference. I would advise La Quinta Lakewood to check operation of its thermostats, or at least the one in room 412, so that future guests are not uncomfortable at night as we were. It is great to save energy, but not at the expense of guest comfort. And summer is coming.

Room Tip: Ask to take a quick refresher from hotel staff in "Operating Room Thermostat 101"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    92
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
123
43
27
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Telluride, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The Lakewood La Quinta, after its recent ground up remodel, it a great place stay in this price range. Maybe the best in the Denver area under $100. Attractive breakfast area with TV. Plenty of parking. About 25 minutes to downtown Denver.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here with a friend while visiting Colorado for the first time for a few days in April. It was not in a downtown area, but centrally located enough that we visited Rocky Mountain National Park and also Colorado Springs with our rental car. It was clean, the staff was friendly, and continental breakfast was ok. I did not check out the pool or gym. The elevator was extremely slow at times so I took the stairs instead most often. Most days, the conference room and lobby were occupied by business conferences. Free wifi with plenty of plugs & USB ports to charge electronics. I would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestone, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I love this hotel in Lakewood. I spent 4 days with my son visiting friends. The breakfast is abundant and the staff is very attentive. It was an easy trip from the San Luis Valley to the hotel. The hotel is clean, inviting and the cleaning staff is great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rifle, Co, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The staff was very friendly and the service was good. The only problem we had with the hotel is that the breakfast is on the skimpy side. Basically a continental breakfast plus waffles. I would not stay here based on the free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The La Quinta in Lakewood, CO has been our place to stay when visiting Denver area. We like the outdoor pool during our stays and will definitely return when we visit in August because of this feature. They serve a continental breakfast which is O.K but not exceptional but for the price of the room is adequate. The staff is helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is the 4the time I have stayed here during the Easter holidays. I have also stayed here for a Denver Bronco football game. Location is excellent and the value is hard to beat. I highly recomment this motel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood

Address: 7190 West Hampden Ave, Lakewood, CO 80227
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lakewood
#2 Family Hotel in Lakewood
#3 Business Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
La Quinta Lakewood
Lakewood La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Denver Southwest Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.