We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy hour maybe, haven't risked dinner in a while” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Simms Steakhouse

Simms Steakhouse
11911 W 6th Ave, Lakewood, CO 80401-4705
(303) 237-0465
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Simms Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #70 of 354 Restaurants in Lakewood
Price range: $31 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Simms
Transit: Local Public Bus. Union & 6th avenue
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Happy hour maybe, haven't risked dinner in a while”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Used to love this place for dinner or happy hour, but every time we go the service seems to get worse. Lack of attention, clearly unorganized bar & staff. The food is generally good though, and although not the bargain it used to be but the value at happy hour is pretty good. We haven't been for dinner for sometime as we kind of test it by doing happy hour once in a while. Unfortunately the service scares us away every time. Did Thanksgiving there thinking it would be okay as a buffet, but the food wasn't much better than country bucket, service was okay. The most memorable thing from our dinner was how cold the room was. They would turn up the heat on request, just to have it freezing again a few minutes later. Seems to be one of those restaurants that survives on old reputation from the 70's and 80's and the great view.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    33
    19
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“DreadfulThanksgiving Buffet”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

For most of the 20 years that my husband and I have been married either we made Thanksgiving dinner or visited family for the holiday. This year we decided to try a Denver restaurant and avoid all those excessive (but delicious) leftover calories.

We made reservations at Simms Steakhouse, which sits high on a hill overlooking the Denver skyline. The reviews for their legendary Thanksgiving buffet were pretty good. So we took a shot.

First sign of trouble: Confused young women with short memories who served as hostesses. We checked in and one woman said we would be seated in 5 minutes. We sat at the bar/lounge area not more than ten feet from this woman. Within 10 minutes she had completely forgotten who we were and we had to re-introduce ourselves.

Once seated, we were greeted by a very gracious server who told us all about the buffet and suggested some special drinks.

Second sign of trouble: We entered the buffet area, which was very small and packed with people bumping into each other. The seafood area was supposed to be stocked with crab legs, mussels, and shrimp. We found a smattering of empty crab leg shells, no shrimp, and a pile of dried out mussels.

The carving station was supposed to have prime rib, ham, and turkey. Turkey and prime rib were MIA. Cranberry sauce was gone. The stuffing looked like canned cat food. The mashed potatoes looked like tile grout. The hot tray for “Turkey and Gravy” had stuffing with chunks of turkey. No gravy in sight.

I walked away with a plate of chopped salad, a few dried mussels, and (finally) some large peel ‘n eat shrimp. My husband returned with a similar plate of barely-edible food. I had already lodged a complaint with the hostess and our server.

By the time I finished my little plate of “appetizers,” the manager was down on bended knee by our table apologizing profusely. He was clearly overwhelmed and told us we would pay for nothing.

We were starving and had to find another restaurant on the fly. It was 7:15 pm.

McCormick and Schmick’s in the DTC could accommodate us but we had to be there by 7:30 pm. Definitely not happening. Like Simms, M &S is a Landry’s restaurant, yet far superior to Simms. We celebrated our anniversary there last year and were treated like royalty. Outstanding food and service at M & S…highly recommend it.

The Rodizio Grill in LoDo on Wynkoop Street was open for dinner. Rodizio Grill was an oasis of calm after the chaos of Simms. The hot/cold buffet and skewers of meats were fresh, delicious, and plentiful. The hostess and servers were friendly and competent. The Rodizio Grill saved Thanksgiving!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Thanksgiving buffet was a disappointment. We had dined at SS twice before and had been delighted with the quality of the food. Having had such nice experiences, we made reservations for Thanksgiving. The buffet was a little better than a typical chain (Golden Corral), but not by much! I had my heart set on a beautiful chocolate dessert. Instead, they had a cheesy chocolate fountain and small, dry, tasteless brownies (Costco?). What a huge come down from the previous experiences. Bottom line, don't bother if they are serving a buffet!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, MI
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food, friends and view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

I had a fantastic meal here - porkmthat was the special of the day. Sat and enjoyed a meal with a couple of friends while I was in Denver from out of town. We used the table for a long time with some drinks, an appetizer, dinner, then split one desert three ways. We were never rushed, just taken care of. Excellent friendly waiter that was willing to give me good advice on the menu.
If you are concerned with the price, then save this for a special occasion or go somewhere else. If you want good service and good food, and have the finances not to worry about it, give this place a try.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Happy Hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've been here a few times with friends for their happy hour. We have been seated indoors and outdoors. Both have been excellent with attentive staff and good happy hour choices for both food and drink.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simms Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Simms Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Simms Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.