We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the Best Hot and Sour Soup in Colorado!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Szechuan Chinese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Szechuan Chinese Restaurant
9090 W 6TH Ave, Lakewood, CO 80215-5121
(303) 232-4558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 320 Restaurants in Lakewood
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Arvada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely the Best Hot and Sour Soup in Colorado!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

I've eaten at Szechuan over the past twenty-five years or so, and customarily order a simple lunch consisting of a tureen of their Hot and Sour Soup--honestly, the best I've tasted anywhere. It's absolutely delicious when thickened with a small order of steamed rice and crisp noodles. Along with their fresh tea, it's the perfect lunch! Occasionally I'll order the pork chow mein, also fantastically good! My guess is that everything on the menu here is top notch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    9
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Broad menu and excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Tucked away in a small strip mall, this long time local eatery offers very good food, served piping hot and with a smile! The broad menu offers a wide variety of Chinese favorites including plenty of vegetarian options. We recently dropped in for lunch and had a very filling and tasty meal at tremendously affordable prices.
A pot of hot tea and iced waters were placed on our table the moment we sat down. The menu has so many options that it took us a bit to decide which new treat we would try. I opted for the Cashew Chicken lunch which includes an appetizer and a bowl of soup. My companion had the Hunam Beef and loved it! They will adjust spicy dishes according to the customers' tastes and both meals were served very promptly and hot out of the kitchen.
The wait person noticed that a knife would be helpful with the beef dish and offered it immediately.
It has been a while since I last visited this cosy restaurant; however, my next visit will be sooner rather than later!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

To quote good, old Yogi Berra, "It was deja vu all over again!" My late wife and I discovered this place in the early '70s when we lived in the area. It quickly became a place we visited almost once a week. Then we moved to another part of town.
Three weeks ago, AG and I decided to go out for dinner. Since she lives in Lakewood, I suggested we try this place. It was as wonderful as ever. She tried the Shrimp and Vegetables and I had the Twice-Cooked Pork. MAGNIFICENT! Far better than the highly advertised and trendy Chinese restaurants. In fact the servings were so large, the left-overs furnished dinner the next evening.
This week we returned again, but were smart enough to only order one entree and shared it. Both times I had the Hot and Sour Soup. It was good and spicy. They will adjust the spiciness of their "Hot" dishes for your taste. You won't go wrong here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A 30 year favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Szechuan Chinese restaurant is a family favorite for 30 years, it was recently closed for 6 weeks due to kitchen fire. Last night was the first Saturday they were open. Although not as busy as usual, it did not miss a beat on the food. We have ordered many different dishes over the years and have never been disappointed. Last night we ordered hot and sour soup-best in town! Also, combination Lo Mein and Sesame Chicken. The Lo Mein was full of great veggies and tender juicy shrimp and chicken, pork, and beef. The sesame chicken wasn't too heavily breaded, nice and light and crispy, with a sauce that was perfect. We ask that all our dishes be made extra hot cuz we love it hot, and they do it just right.
The service is good with the owner always there and chatting to make you feel welcome. They seem to do a huge carry out business too.

Don't hesitate to add this to your list of Chinese restaurants. Yummy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Best Chinese in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Coming from NY, it's hard to find good Chinese food out here. Szechuan is great- favorites are crab rangoon, fried dumplings, sesame chicken, lo mein.
-Mr. 8000

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Szechuan Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Szechuan Chinese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.