We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ew... that about covers it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ew... that about covers it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

When we checked in to our room there was a coffee maker with algae water still in the unit. We called to get a new one and it took them over 12 hours to get us a new one. Also, the first night we were there, at about 230a, someone attempted to barge right in while we were sleeping. Luckily my husband had put the latch over, so the door was only opened a few inches. When I went down to complain to the front desk in the morning, I found out that the moron who checked us in never "saved" our check in information and that they them rebooked our room to that unfortunate person who attempted to barge in. The only compensation they were going to give me was complementary breakfast which was a drop in the bucket for the horrendous experiance. They finally agreed to return half the 1 night charge to me. Which still seems tiny compared to the fear of falling back asleep after that one experiance. Lastly, we asked the front desk staff for a good local place to eat and he gave us complicated directions to a place that was out of business... classy.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
We, the entire management staff at the Holiday Inn, were dismayed to read your recent review. Your experience is not our standard and definitely not how we train our staff to serve our guests. Though the 'algae water' in the coffee machine was actually a cleaning solution that we use for our coffee makers - your experiences are unacceptable. We are taking your review to each of our managers to review with each of their team members to learn and grow from. Our Guest Services Manager, Michelle Edwardson, is reaching out to you personally, but we would like to publicly apologize to you and ask if you'd give us one more chance to make it up to you and your spouse. Yours in Service, The Team at the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
40
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

An awesome place, to just get away!! beautiful hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post a review -- we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Denver, and are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

To me, this hotel is basically the same level as a Hampton Inn (also in the area), although I will say the Holiday Inn kind of grows on you over time. Be sure to sign up for Priority Club membership before you go... gets you a room on the 6th floor (key card access), free breakfast in the morning, and two drinks for the price of one each night at the adjacent Sporting News Grill. Breakfast (in a lounge on the 6th floor) had the usual continental foods as well as eggs, sausage, and potatoes one morning; eggs with biscuits and sausage gravy the second morning. Nice view of the foothills from the breakfast lounge.

Front desk service and breakfast lounge staff were good - very pleasant - no complaints. Choice of firm and soft pillows already in the rooms. Only two coat hangers in the room when I arrived. Called for more and got an odd assortment of wire, plastic and wood hangers delivered. Rooms (mine was 652) are pretty standard for this level hotel... nothing special.

My last night there was a rowdy crowd in the pool... could hear them on the 6th floor. The pool doesn't close until 11:00, so I might consider asking for a room on the other side of the hotel next time.

If you don't need or want to be downtown, this location provides pretty good access via 285 and 470. One downside is it's on the opposite side of town from the airport.

I've tried several hotels in this area (near where I'm working), and have yet to find one that really knocks my socks off. However, I would have no problem staying here again for work in the Lakewood area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, July 2, 2010
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review... we are glad we 'grew on you!" We're pleased you enjoyed the room, services and Executive Level breakfast.We consider it a pleasant challenge on your next visit to 'knock your socks off' and look forward to having the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2010

We checked a few other hotels before the Holiday Inn and we were quite pleased with the way we were welcomed into the hotel. From the greeting by the staff to the check in (made sure we got everything we wanted and then some!) we felt very comfortable. The lobby is beautiful, the rooms are a bit upscale and very comfortable. The beds are very plush with both soft and firm pillows. One of the biggest bathrooms I've seen in a hotel! It was quiet and that meant a lot to us. We used the whirlpool and the swimming pool (which is heated in the cooler months) and it was very nice.
We truly enjoyed our stay and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, June 18, 2010
On behalf of the Management and Staff of the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, thank you -- we are so pleased that you enjoyed our service, amenities and guestroom. Our goal is always to ensure that guests have an enjoyable comfortable stay. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

From the opening of the front door in the afternoon until I left three nights later until the closing of the front door when I left I was treated with "Southern" hospitality. All the staff when asked a question answered immdeidately and handled kindly. The moring breakfast buffet was outstanding and the lady was very curtious.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, April 22, 2010
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly enjoyed having you as a guest and are thrilled that you loved our service and staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2010

The room was not as pictured. The hotel staff were incredibly unpleasent and unprofessional. All calls even local cost 0.75, so beware of that. There is not a microwave for free, you must pay 10.00 for the use of one. There are not alernative enterances, only the main one. You must drag in all your luggage through the main doors. NO privacy what so ever.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Michelle Edwardson - Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
We'd like to apologize that you felt your stay was less than perfect. We've been voted #1 on TripAdvisor for a number of months - and we attribute that to our high level of service; however, if you had an unpleasant experience with one of our staff members we sincerely encourage you to send us a direct message via Trip Advisor or contact us directly to let us know so that we can address the issue immediately. We take service very seriously. Our rooms have been newly renovated and the photos we have on our website are taken directly of the guestrooms (if you've found an outdated photo on another website, please let us know so that we can update it to be more accurate).

Though we do charge on a per stay basis for the use of a microwave, all rooms now have refrigerators and FREE local phone calls.
Lastly, yes, we have one main entrance to the hotel, for the safety and security of our guests, which we hold of utmost importance.

If you would like to contact us directly regarding your previous stay or an upcoming visit, please don't hesitate to call me directly. I am at your service.
Michelle Edwardson
Front Office Manager
michelleedwardson@hilakewood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Mountains
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Stayed at the Holiday Inn in Lakewood, Colorado in January 2010 with some customers and co-workers. This hotel has been completely renovated. Being in the construction business, we notice the details. This hotel was well built and QUIET. The staff is friendly too. Would highly recommend to families or others on business. Thank you Holiday Inn Lakewood.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, February 13, 2010
Thank you so much for your review and for noticing the details. Our management team as well as ownership, as you noted, have taken great pride in the details when renovating the property and we are excited when our guests recognize that ... as much as the details that our service staff take care of when serving our guests. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Address: 7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lakewood
#3 Green Hotel in Lakewood
#4 Business Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver area hotel newly renovated in 2009 - all guestrooms and public areas are beautiful and inviting. Free wireless and hardwired internet throughout the hotel; computer access and services available in the large business center. Exercise room, whirlpool, sauna, outdoor pool and free local shuttle are enjoyed by business and leisure guests alike. Holiday Inn Lakewood is a short trip to downtown Denver via lightrail or just an hour from the Rocky Mountains. Ski Packages avail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Holiday Inn Lakewood
Lakewood Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.