We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what to expect from hotel and staff was very nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exactly what to expect from hotel and staff was very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The hotel itself is pretty much what you think of when you look at a Holiday Inn. The rooms were clean, well organized and had the normal stuff you would expect, like an iron, a place to hang stuff, etc. The lobby was also nice. Nothing was flashy or over the top, but everything was of good quality.

We did visit the business center, which was pretty nice. The computers had a 30 minute time-out, which could be annoying if you have to do something big, but that probably isn't an issue very often. The best part of it is that it wiped the computer each time, so that you didn't have to worry as much about bad stuff on the computers. The center itself was really quite nice with three computers.

The staff was also very helpful. We drove from our downtown hotel to this hotel during the day, and got to the hotel about 1:30 PM. Our room wasn't quite ready yet, which is understandable, but they found one that was ready, and put us into that one. That helped us out a lot, and allowed me to take a good nap before my event that night. Really quite a nice thing to do.

Overall, the hotel is exactly what you would expect from Holiday Inn, which is not flashy, but effective and clean. The staff really helped make the place even better. Would definitely stay again if we were in town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Thank you for your detailed review and recommendation. We work very hard to exceed our guests' expectations and hope to do so on your next visit. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    71
    20
    8
    9
See reviews for
45
40
16
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Called this hotel when we got shafted at the Hampton Inn down the street. They were very accommodating and gave us an EXCELLENT room. The room was very comfortable, larger than the Hampton room, and the staff was professional and very welcoming. Our experience with this hotel compared with the Hampton Inn was night and day. Oh yeah, my boyfriend just reminded me of how comfortable the KING SIZE bed was.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We were more than happy that we could accommodate you, that you were comfortable in the room and pleased with our outstanding staff. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Mt
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I travel to the Denver area every couple of months and always stay at this Hotel. Since I am an employee of a Holiday Inn property, I qualify for the employee rate. I was treated like any other guest and loved all the ammenities the Hotel has to offer. It is very quiet and the beds are sooo comfortable. Slept so well.
The Sports bar is a nice addition although both nights we were in there the Bartender was not very friendly and we sensed she wanted us out of there so she could close early, as she indicated that to us. All in all, it is always a great stay and I look forward to returning around Labor day.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so pleased that you had a good night's rest in our comfy beds. We will certainly share and address the concerns you shared regarding the bartender, as this is not our standard or acceptable in our hotel. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We came into Denver via train, which was 19 hours late. This was the only hotel with an available room at 2am. So for that reason alone I will forever be grateful to the Holiday Inn. The only room they had available was a smoking room, but they put an air purifier in it as soon as we finished making the reservation and it helped tremendously.
The room itself was very clean. The beds (2 queens) were very comfortable. There was a nice flat-panel television. The hotel was recently renovated and it shows, from the bathroom to the decorations to the furniture. We took advantage of the free internet as well as the shuttle - which will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius for free. We were able to take the shuttle to the Lightrail system, which helped save on cab fare.
We did not have time to take advantage of the outdoor pool, indoor whirlpool or fitness center, which they do have available to guests.
There is no complimentary breakfast, however there is a restaurant on premises and complimentary coffee in the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent trip to Denver - and especially that you took advantage of the LightRail (and our free shuttle) which makes it very easy to get around Denver. Safe travels - we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the Denver area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The front desk employees were very helpful with a difficult problem. Ginger and Shane made sure they covered their incoming guests and helped me with their problem solving skills. I appreciate their attitude, service and friendliness!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you for your comments about our customer service - especially in regards to our front desk team. They work so hard to ensure each guests' stay is perfect, and so appreciate hearing the feedback. Looking forward to your next visit to the Denver/Lakewood area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I am in Denver a great deal and the most receptive host and bartender in the Lakewood area is Christina at the Holiday Inn Lakewood, Recommend the grill highly and say hi to Christina.

Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
So glad you enjoyed the Sporting News Grill - we'll pass along your comments to Christina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights end of June to beginning July 2011. Overall experience was good, with an issue or two. First the good--rooms were clean, front desk staff was attentive. Before commenting further, I need to mention that they were FULL while we were there, and the guests included at least 2 groups of youth sport groups, so I'm sure the staff was pushed to the limit to keep up.

Housekeeping was slow to clean our rooms each day, and I heard others commenting on this same thing; in fact, I overheard one group saying they would reconsider returning due to this and saying they were extremely inconvenienced by this and had brought it to the staff's attention early in their stay, but nothing changed. By slow, I don't mean late morning, but rather sometimes it was after 3-5 o'clock before our room was cleaned.

Although our room accommodated four people, and housekeeping would leave four big towels, they would only leave two washcloths, unless we left a note asking for more. We thought one note would suffice for our stay, but not so--if we didn't leave a note each day specifically asking for towels for four, we got two washcloths. They also didn't want to leave separate bars of soap for the sink and the tub (even after asking for two)--I found that unusual. Contacting the front desk for these items always resolved the issue, but why should you have to ask for these basic items?

Also, the AC never really cooled the room (temp outside was running 80-mid 90's during the day). The AC would come on, and blow cold air while it was on. However, it would cycle off after a few minutes and wouldn't come back on for sometimes up to 40 minutes, and during this time, it was uncomfortably warm in the room. There was no way to force the AC to come back on during this down time, and you couldn't even make the fan run to help circulate some air. We asked for the unit to be checked, and they left a note saying they checked and cleaned it and that it was fine, but nothing ever changed. I know it was blowing cold air, but it cycled off too soon and you couldn't regulate when it would come back on--the only choices were low and high with no other settings available, you couldn't set a temperature. This was a problem as it was pretty uncomfortable when the unit wasn't running.

They do not offer a free breakfast which I found odd, as most places in this price range do. You could order room service, but as usual, that was a rather picey option. There is a small restaurant onsite, really a sports grill. We ate here one evening and found that to be a very pleasant experience--good food and excellent service.

There were some noise issues with the youth sports groups there, but we didn't find this to be excessive and quietened down before late in the evening. With groups of teens, you have to expect this. We weren't bothered by this, but were aware they were in the halls.

I would have to rethink staying here again, especially during the summer, due to the AC issues. There were several other comparable places to stay in the immediate area, so there should be no reason to choose to stay in a place where the climate control was lacking. To end on a positive note, everything was clean, and everyone was polite and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
Thank you for leaving your detailed review. We are pleased that, overall, you found the service and rooms to meet your expectations. Though we were busy on the weekend of your stay, we still hold ourselves accountable to our high standards of service and would like to apologize for the inconveniences in the housekeeping services and the A/C. We have passed along your comments to our Housekeeping manager to use in her weekly trainings. We would like to also look into more detail about the A/C issues you experienced as we understand when it's hot outside -- your guestroom should be comfortably cool at all times. Please know that this is definitely not a typical issue - and we do hope that you'll give us another chance on a future visit to prove that we can do better.

We realize that you have a choice in hotels when visiting Denver/Lakewood and truly appreciate that you chose the Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood

Address: 7390 West Hampden at Wadsworth, Lakewood, CO 80227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lakewood
#3 Green Hotel in Lakewood
#4 Business Hotel in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Denver area hotel newly renovated in 2009 - all guestrooms and public areas are beautiful and inviting. Free wireless and hardwired internet throughout the hotel; computer access and services available in the large business center. Exercise room, whirlpool, sauna, outdoor pool and free local shuttle are enjoyed by business and leisure guests alike. Holiday Inn Lakewood is a short trip to downtown Denver via lightrail or just an hour from the Rocky Mountains. Ski Packages avail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Holiday Inn Lakewood
Lakewood Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Denver Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.