We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Can Be Good..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood to your Saves list
Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7180 West Hampden Avenue, Lakewood, CO 80227   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
St. Louis
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Average Can Be Good..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Recently stayed for two nights while attending an event at Red Rocks. While perhaps a bit dated from a decor standpoint (think 80's, cultured marble baths and counters) the hotel was completely perfect and well priced for a weekend stay. Service was just fine...

I booked a king suite which was huge. Two Rooms Two Flat Panel TVs. Lots of counter space and overall good. Prepaid for the Breakfast (5.00) which was a really decent buffet with a cook your own waffle station which is always a favorite of mine.

The indoor pool area was very nice as was the free wifi. So don't be put off by the average rating as with a little work to update the hotel to a more modern physical standard, this hotel could easily jump to very good or excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking to to provide your feedback. We appreciate your comments and use it to improve our services.

We are scheduled for a renovation in November 2012, and we are very excited about it. The renovation will include updates to the guest rooms, lobby, and all public space. We are getting the new Courtyard "Bistro" concept, which we are also very excited about. The renovation will be finished in early 2013, so please come back and see us!

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    33
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
16
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

There was an atmosphere of careful attention to cleanliness, details and friendly competence. The suite was very pleasant and comfortable in both design and function. Temperature was always optimum in the sleeping room and meeting room. My mother has severe rheumatoid arthritis and the bed was perfect for her. The service was amazing. Very impressed with the immediate response, knowledge and warmth to any request or question from the staff. We held a party of 30 people in the meeting room and it was very successful. It was a very pleasant
experience for all of our family. We all commented on our high satisfaction with the Courtyard in Lakewood. Can't comment about the spa because we didn't use it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We truly enjoyed hosting your group and getting to know you. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

First of all, let me say that I am not Marriott fan ( or atleast in the past was not a fan, but hotels like this are rapdily changing my opinion) and this Courtyard by Marriott is one of the nicest hotels around. Yes, you don't have all the amenities that a 5 Star hotel has, but the staff and the general manager make up for any differences. Very pleasant people, very consistent. The hotel has a breakfast there in the lobby which has everything you could want. The room was clean and spacious, again, everything I was looking for. I see the inside of hotel rooms each week and one looks about the same as another to me. The differences are the little things that the staff does. This hotel is on my list of places to come back to. I am in the Lakewood area frequently for business and I have found my new hotel each visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! Our goal is to set ourselves apart by providing excellent service, and I am very pleased that we succeeded in your case. We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Rooms need updating, but the room I had was large and also included a mini fridge. This, like most Courtyards, does not offer an included breakfast. Stayed for business, and would stay again, if it was close to my work.

Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback. I am very pleased to inform you that we will undergo a renovation beginning in November 2012, which will include updating of the lobby, public areas, and guest rooms.

I also wanted to let you know about our breakfast rate. Many of our regular rates do have an option to include our full hot breakfast buffet.

Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The staff is super awesome, they all seem to follow what is call the "Fred Factor". If you don't know what that is google it. The location is pretty central between mountains and downtown Denver. There are a lot of places to eat that are close by. The Meeting room is very accomidating as are the sleeping rooms. I am exited to see the place after there remodel is done at the end of 2012. Keep up the great work guys and gals, you are awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper level room on the west side of the builing to see mountains. Rooms on the south sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words! We all look forward to seeing you and hosting your groups each month - you have become part of our Courtyard Family. We truly appreciate your business and thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

The best part of this hotel is the staff. We stayed for 3 nights and everyone we met was very friendly and accommodating. The common areas, while not updated to the new Courtyard look, were in good shape with a small but pleasant buffet/sitting area and nicely maintained pool and hot tub.

The location is a bit odd. The hotel is situated right next to the highway (US 285) and yet at the same time "tucked" in the back of a dimly lit office complex which you have to drive through to get to the hotel. The area immediately around the hotel looks nicer during the day (which isn't saying much) and we never felt like it was an unsafe neighborhood, but the location certainly wasn't inviting.

We stayed in a King suite which was blandly painted, not updated and felt more like a motel than a Courtyard. The suite was basically two adjoining regular rooms with one of the rooms acting as a living room with a wet bar (sink, mini-fridge, and microwave) along the wall where you would expect to find the bathroom. The suite was very large, which of course was nice for the space, but it wasn't designed as a two room suite and it generally didn't make good use of the space. Since the bedroom was in the same room as the bathroom, this made for a very large living area and a relatively small bedroom.

The living area was huge and strangely it appeared as if they used the same amount of furniture (maybe one extra chair?) and decorations as you would expect in a regular size room. Also, oddly there was no coffee table... just a double ottoman. Considering the size of the room and the relative lack of furniture and decorations it just made it feel even more drab and motel-like.

The worst of it all, however, was the bathroom area which was split between the sink and the shower/toilet room. Not only was the sink counter outdated (a large counter with a small sink and small faucet) but the shower/toilet room was horrible. The metal frame to the door was rusted and the tile floor right outside the shower was cracked with scattered dark "moldy" stains. The subfloor had obviously been compromised as you could see the sag in the floor and it was "springy" when you stepped on it. I can only imagine that the bathroom below had water damage on the ceiling.

We mentioned this to the front desk and they said maintenance would have a look, but I doubt anything could have been done without taking the room out of service for at least a few days.

All in all, I give the hotel an average rating (3 circles) instead of a poor rating (2 circles) because I've certainly been in worse hotels/motels (although not worse Marriotts or Courtyards) and I doubt all the rooms had these same issues. Just keep in mind that, aside from the staff, this Courtyard is not up to Courtyard Marriott standards.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to provide your feedback about your stay. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with my staff. I did want to address the other comments you made about your stay, beginning with the room you stayed in. There was, in fact, a problem with the sub-floor in the bathroom. This was addressed by putting in a new sub-floor, tile, and grout. Next, I wanted to let you know that in November 2012, we are scheduled for a renovation. The renovation will include the lobby upgrade to the new Bistro concept, public space updating, and guest room updating. We are very excited about it and cannot wait to show it off in early 2013.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

First let me say the staff does their absolute best to try to make up for the dilapidated hotel. We checked in late at night during a snow storm and the front desk attendant was very helpful. When we opened the door to our room we found an outdated, bare minimum room. The king bed was placed oddly in the room and the television was located at a 45 degree angle from the headboard, making it difficult for the person on the far side of the bed to see it.

Another update needed is the ac/heater. Old school window type that is not set on a thermostat so the loud fan is constantly running unless you want to freeze to death ... needless to say I got no sleep. This place is in desperate need of updates that should include new carpeting, beds, bedding, furniture and bathroom ... okay I guess maybe it would be cheaper to change the sign outside to a Motel 6 or 8.

The night we arrived Mike had told us the hours of breakfast, a continental or hot breakfast is always a nice perk ... or so we thought. After eating breakfast an attendant arrived with a bill, I'm sorry but had we known that we would have gone elsewhere and eaten a better breakfast for the same or better price.

Weekday rates are the same as what we could have stayed at a 4 star downtown for ... DO NOT STAY HERE!

Room Tip: Different Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DENLKGM, General Manager at Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to fill out a review and provide us with your feedback. I felt really bad when I read your comments and wanted to apologize that your visit was not what you expected. I have already spoken with our front desk team to ensure we are explaining how our breakfast works at check in time. We do have several rates which include breakfast - I am really sorry this was not explained well at check in. Lastly, I am very happy and excited to let you know that we will begin our renovation in November 2012. The changes will include the new Courtyard Lobby concept called The Bistro; updates to the meeting room, public space, and guest rooms will also be included.

We really appreciate your feedback. Please contact me personally for your next stay for a complimentary upgrade and breakfast. Thank you very much and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood

Address: 7180 West Hampden Avenue, Lakewood, CO 80227
Location: United States > Colorado > Lakewood
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Lakewood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IT'S A NEW STAY! Courtyard Denver Southwest Lakewood has just completed a full renovation! Located just 20 minutes from Downtown Denver, our hotel features a state-of-the-art lobby providing greater flexibility with inviting media pod work spaces, free WiFi and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our touch-screen GoBoard(R). Among the best hotels in Lakewood, the Courtyard Lakewood features The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect(R) which provides guests with healthy food & beverage offerings in the morning and evening dinner service with a selection of wine & craft beers. Each spacious guestroom offers Marriott luxury bedding, large workspace with ergonomic chair, flat-screen TV and free WiFi! When visiting Denver for leisure, enjoy nearby attractions like Red Rocks Amphitheater, Coors Field and Elitch Gardens. Business travelers appreciate our convenient location near Denver Federal Center, Lockheed Martin and Academy Park Business Center, putting us at the top of hotels in Lakewood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Denver Southwest/Lakewood Hotel Lakewood
Courtyard Lakewood
Lakewood Marriott
Lakewood Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Denver Southwest/Lakewood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.