We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Matterhorn Mountain Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Matterhorn Mountain Motel
Save
You added Matterhorn Mountain Motel to your Saves list
409 Bluff Street, Lake City, CO 81235   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Special!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Central Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

There aren't many lodging options available in winter in Lake City. "Perfectly acceptable" isn't exactly an overly glowing endorsement but that's what the Matterhorn is....it's perfectly acceptable. Considering supply and demand we were happy to just be able to find a place to stay in Lake City in March...if the price had been slightly less we might have stayed longer. While not fancy, for the price the Matterhorn is perfectly acceptable. Of note, the Matterhorn was one of only two places advertised as being open in winter that returned my email and phone calls...so I give them an "excellent" in terms of service.

Room Tip: They do allow small pets in some, but not all of the rooms...be certain to ask when making reservati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
14
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay. I had two great nights of sleep. The bed was so comfortable. The people who run the place were really nice. It is quiet and peaceful in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever been in. There is a small kitchen in the room that made it perfect for us, as we were traveling with our grandson. While we were there some people who had checked out left a huge carrier bag in the parking area. The manager called all the numbers for the people who left the bag and left messages. I met them when they came back to get their bag. ! They had thousands of dollars in hunting gear in their bag.
We went hiking here and met some wonderful people in this town. We were directed to the best restaurants and some of the loveliest views. Could not have had a nicer experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colona, co
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The few days I spent in Lake City over the holidays were COLD with night temps reaching down to 15 below zero. The Matterhorn was warm, clean, comfortable and friendly which means a lot when the weather is so intense. Great location, great views. Altogether a charming stay. I would recommend it to anyone who appreciates quality and good service.

Room Tip: The cabins are rel nice but all the rooms are of quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Manager extremely, extremely rude and unaccommodating. I drove my quiet street legal ATV up to my room at 9am for two minutes to load a cooler that was too heavy to lug the full block where I had parked it overnight. The manager came out screaming and yelling like a deranged fishwife that I had broken the rules and she was calling the police. She didn’t seem to mind the loud Harley’s that started up at 6am and could be heard for three blocks. Our room was not cleaned or made up after the first night. The tiny bathroom had no counter space and the tv was small and old. No restaurant within walking distance. There are several nicer, more friendly places to stay in Lake City for less money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matterhornmountain, Owner at Matterhorn Mountain Motel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
The Matterhorn has a strict policy in place that does not allow ATV's to be removed from trailers while on the property. This policy is clearly stated in our confirmation. This guest was approached in a professional manner by my manager to remind him that he could not ride the ATV in the parking lot and he verbally assaulted her to the point where I did, in fact, consider calling our sheriff. We asked the guest to leave instead. There is a town ordinance in place in Lake City which prohibits ATV's from being operated within town limits and there are signs posted by the Town. There are two ATV staging areas on the Alpine Loop where you may park your trailers and ride until your heart's content in our beautiful backcountry, but we will continue to abide by Town ordinances at the Matterhorn.
T. Morrow, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Matterhorn Mountain Lodge for a quick getaway to Lake City and we absolutely loved it!

The lady who checked us in was very nice and offered to help us find hiking trails, restaurants, etc.

The room was VERY nice - a small kitchen, a huge and COMFY King Size bed, a somewhat small bathroom. There were also lawn chairs outside of our room where we sat in the evening looking at the beautiful mountain views and stars.

The lodge was very easy to find and very close to the downtown historic area.

I definitely reccommend it to anyone looking to stay in Lake City. Staying here made our trip great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is an old 50s style motel with small rooms but well kept and with excellent service. Kitchenette with pots and dishes. Walking distance to town. We stayed for a week - a couple and a single sharing one room. Would recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

We stumbled upon this place. Perfect, with kitchen! Easy walking distance to town, yet off the beaten path. Reasonable rates, good size rooms & private. The host was very accommodating. Thank you for a great impromtu stay. :-)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Matterhorn Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matterhorn Mountain Motel

Address: 409 Bluff Street, Lake City, CO 81235
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lake City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matterhorn Mountain Motel & Cabins is located in the heart of Lake City's historic district, walking distance to restaurants, coffee shops, retail shops, arts center, parks, Henson Creek and Lake Fork of the Gunnison River. Wilderness begins behind motel, frequent wildlife sightings. Updated, clean & comfortable rooms. Queen or king beds, kitchenettes. Non-smoking property. Pet-friendly (accept dogs under 35 lbs in pet-friendly room only). Amenities include hot tub, wifi, flat screen TV, coffee service, hair dryers. Reservations recommended. Accommodating Lake City visitors since 1949. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Mountain Hotel Lake City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matterhorn Mountain Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.