We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oleo Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130   |  
Hotel amenities
Neosho, Missouri, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Oleo Ranch is a wonderful place, cabins are spacious and clean, it has several large ponds for fishing, lots of wildlife including moose, deer and many other creatures. The people who manage it are very nice and always happy to answer questions or help in any way. They usually have horses available to ride and the sunrise is wonderful. We have been there twice and plan to go back again next summer.There is no phones, or electricity so you won't be bothered by technology. However, there are propane lights and other modern conveniences, refrigerators and stoves, etc. Fully functional bathrooms in each cabin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dumas, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Oleo Ranch is wonderful.. Nice comfortable clean cabins with great views on a private ranch. We have spent time at the ranch the last two summers and plan to make it an annual event. The propane refrigerator, gas stove, modern bathroom and propane lighting throughout the cabin in an non-electric environment provide an unique experience. You are truly off the grid. No phone, no internet no worries....The scenery at the ranch is terrific, we had a moose walk within 20 feet of our cabin. The five ponds on the ranch came alive each evening with rising trout. I know we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Initially the idea of no electricity was a little off putting for the teenagers, but we adapted and learned to love the place. It's a step away from the grind. Even when the place is booked full, you're not crowded. If you want to interact with others you can, but you can also enjoy some peace and quiet.

My family has been vacationing at Oleo since 1996. In fact, since we started going to Oleo we've not vacationed anywhere else as a family. Our first year, we crammed the 6 of us into Alabama. We've stayed in Ramboullet, Willows, Loft, and La Garita as well. Even after a multi year break while the kids got through college, we were recognized and spoken to by name when we returned (all of us!).

Ronnie, Barbara, and their family work very hard to maintain Oleo and to provide an outstanding backdrop for the experience of every guest. They're sweet, honest folks who will stop and chat with you but wouldn't dream of interfering with your stay. They're as much a part of our experience at Oleo as the scenery, the fishing, and the peace. They're always responsive if anything turns up that needs attending. They also are very helpful when you realize you've forgotten something.

I was at Oleo twice last summer. The first trip was with friends to celebrate my mom's 60th birthday in her favorite place and the second time with my younger brothers, 93 year old grandfather, and some friends. Both stays were terrific. We were in La Garita for the first trip and in Loft for the second stay. Neither trip could have gone better and the newcomers are all hooked on the place.

I'll be back in late July and, hopefully, again in September. Don't let the lack of electricity intimidate you. You won't miss it at all once you're there. In fact, you'll be grateful for the respite. Even if you're not particularly interested in hiking & fishing, this is a spot you don't want to miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Just returned home--begrudgingly--from our second family trip to Oleo. If you are looking for simple living, peace, quiet, and perfect place to fish, hike, relax and enjoy your family, this is it. No frills, but great folks.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family comes up to Oleo Ranch every year in September. I look forward to this every year and count down the days starting in January! The cabins are just so fun. I love that there isn't electricity (it is all gas lamps, gas stove, and fridge) and a full functioning bathroom!! Our family gets quality time because there isn't electricity. It is awesome getting to see the wildlife that lives around there. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is so peaceful and relaxing and good for the soul!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been to Oleo Ranch for the last 4 years and we love every minute of it. The cabins are fabulous, the animals wonderous, the fishing is great, the air is cool, and the views are magnificent. It is also very handy to many fishing holes we like. Keep up the good work Oleo.This is exactly what is needed to get away from city life!

Room Tip: Any cabin will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited Oleo Ranch for the first time in Aug. 2011. It was probably the best cabin experience we've ever had. Unlike many of the area cabins, the ones at Oleo are situated far apart from each other, with at least four of them secluded among the trees. The one we stayed in, The Aspens, was a cozy two-room cabin with a deck that, while well shaded by the birch and spruce trees, provided an outstanding view of the mountains to the East. We may have spent as much time on the deck (hot cup of coffee on hand in the morning, cold beer in the evening) as we did inside the cabin itself.

The staff was very helpful. We arrived a few hours earlier than the scheduled check-in, but after a short wait, they had our cabin cleaned, stocked, and ready for us. This included all the dishes, cooking utensils, flatware, dish washing supplies, linens (to include extra blankets, if needed) and towels and such for the bathroom. The only thing we actually needed to bring on our own was the food. There is even a gas-powered grill on the deck which we used regularly. As a side note, the first time we opened the grill, one of the local critters had decided to make himself at home inside, using part of a mop head for his bedding. We told the folks that run the place about it and they took care of the issue when we were out sight-seeing. They checked daily to see that our firewood supply was fully stocked too.

The cabins are very well built, especially compared to many of the other cabins available for rent in the area. Each one is equipped with either a fire place or a wood-burning stove. The thin air can make it a little tricky to get a fire going, considering you're at about 10,000' altitude, but we managed to get one going every evening (adjust the damper folks; it's not rocket science). There is also a central gas heater in the cabin, but it can get a little warm if used in conjunction with the fireplace.

This was, by far, one of our best experiences in Colorado. We've already reserved a cabin for the end of this summer. It's no five-star hotel, but it was never intended to be. It's EXACTLY what we were looking for when we wanted to escape modern-day civilization for a few days, and we did so quite comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 10,500 feet of elevation, a breathtaking view of the Rocky Mountains surrounds Oleo Ranch in south central Colorado. Miles and miles of scenic trails for hiking, photography, fishing, hunting, or just relaxing await you upon arrival. The colorful wildflowers in summer and the spectacular fall foliage are seasonal highlights. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of Cebolla Creek provide guests with private fishing. Beginners to the avid fly fisherman will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Located just 18 miles south of Lake City, Co., Oleo Ranch is two miles below the Continental Divide and joins the La Garita Wilderness. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleo Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oleo Ranch to your Saves list