We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing at Oleo Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130   |  
Hotel amenities
Westminster, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My family comes up to Oleo Ranch every year in September. I look forward to this every year and count down the days starting in January! The cabins are just so fun. I love that there isn't electricity (it is all gas lamps, gas stove, and fridge) and a full functioning bathroom!! Our family gets quality time because there isn't electricity. It is awesome getting to see the wildlife that lives around there. I would recommend this place to anyone, it is so peaceful and relaxing and good for the soul!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have been to Oleo Ranch for the last 4 years and we love every minute of it. The cabins are fabulous, the animals wonderous, the fishing is great, the air is cool, and the views are magnificent. It is also very handy to many fishing holes we like. Keep up the good work Oleo.This is exactly what is needed to get away from city life!

Room Tip: Any cabin will suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, OK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We visited Oleo Ranch for the first time in Aug. 2011. It was probably the best cabin experience we've ever had. Unlike many of the area cabins, the ones at Oleo are situated far apart from each other, with at least four of them secluded among the trees. The one we stayed in, The Aspens, was a cozy two-room cabin with a deck that, while well shaded by the birch and spruce trees, provided an outstanding view of the mountains to the East. We may have spent as much time on the deck (hot cup of coffee on hand in the morning, cold beer in the evening) as we did inside the cabin itself.

The staff was very helpful. We arrived a few hours earlier than the scheduled check-in, but after a short wait, they had our cabin cleaned, stocked, and ready for us. This included all the dishes, cooking utensils, flatware, dish washing supplies, linens (to include extra blankets, if needed) and towels and such for the bathroom. The only thing we actually needed to bring on our own was the food. There is even a gas-powered grill on the deck which we used regularly. As a side note, the first time we opened the grill, one of the local critters had decided to make himself at home inside, using part of a mop head for his bedding. We told the folks that run the place about it and they took care of the issue when we were out sight-seeing. They checked daily to see that our firewood supply was fully stocked too.

The cabins are very well built, especially compared to many of the other cabins available for rent in the area. Each one is equipped with either a fire place or a wood-burning stove. The thin air can make it a little tricky to get a fire going, considering you're at about 10,000' altitude, but we managed to get one going every evening (adjust the damper folks; it's not rocket science). There is also a central gas heater in the cabin, but it can get a little warm if used in conjunction with the fireplace.

This was, by far, one of our best experiences in Colorado. We've already reserved a cabin for the end of this summer. It's no five-star hotel, but it was never intended to be. It's EXACTLY what we were looking for when we wanted to escape modern-day civilization for a few days, and we did so quite comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband & I spent two lovely vacations at Oleo Ranch in 2 different cabins - The Aspen and The Alabama. Our first trip we were a bit surprised by the remoteness, but we were immediately charmed by the ambiance of the facility. The lighting, heating, cooking, everything is run on propane gas, but the cabins are comfortable, clean, well accommodated and set well apart from each other for privacy. You just need to expect to be totally off the grid - no cell phone/internet/television. An excellent separation from the anxiety producing demons of life.
Both of our trips included our multiple large dogs. While the deposit was high, it was fully refunded both times after they found we had left the cabins in good order & undamaged. Unfortunately this has apparently not been the case with all of their guests and the ranch no longer allows pets.
If you are looking for luxury cabins, this is not the place. But if you are after a true get away from all of life's stressors, you will love Oleo Ranch.
Our trips were in the fall of 2009 & 2010 but the travel dates choices do not include those years.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can't wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer's
Midland Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won't intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can't say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexia, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family consist of 6 adults and 4 children. We love this place. Cabin is very roomy with good fridge, stove, oven and plenty of hot water. It is rustic with a huge fireplace. Deck goes all the way around the cabin and you can sit and drink coffe on the deck and view wildlife. Propane lites are adequate. bedrooms are big enough and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway not really roughing but enough to make you feel that you have stepped back in time. Saw lots of wildlife and caught lots of fish. Will go back as long as I am able.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Lake City
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 10,500 feet of elevation, a breathtaking view of the Rocky Mountains surrounds Oleo Ranch in south central Colorado. Miles and miles of scenic trails for hiking, photography, fishing, hunting, or just relaxing await you upon arrival. The colorful wildflowers in summer and the spectacular fall foliage are seasonal highlights. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of Cebolla Creek provide guests with private fishing. Beginners to the avid fly fisherman will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Located just 18 miles south of Lake City, Co., Oleo Ranch is two miles below the Continental Divide and joins the La Garita Wilderness. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleo Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oleo Ranch to your Saves list