We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation at Oleo Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oleo Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oleo Ranch
Save
You added Oleo Ranch to your Saves list
County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130   |  
Hotel amenities
Midland, Texas
1 review
“Vacation at Oleo Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed at Oleo Ranch for the first time last year in August. We were very impressed with our cabin it was equipped with everything you needed except food and clothes. The gas lights worked great at night. Ronnie was great to assist and help with our stay. It was so nice to see wild life and just have family time it was okay not have phone service or tv just good quality family time. You can always go to Lake City to have cell service if you need it. We are going back to stay with friends in June this year and can't wait. I would encourage and recommend
Oleo Ranch for a great family vacation.
Ulmer's
Midland Texas

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our family of 5 stayed at Oleo in 2010 ano the are headed back this summer. My husband has been going to the Creede/Lake City area since 1969 and as a family, we have continued on.
Oleo is stunning to stay the least. The cabin we rented then and again this year is big, beautiful and inviting. Wildlife is all around and the scenery is breathtaking. The caretakers are there if you need them but won't intrude on your trip. Clean, comfortable and I can't say enough, BEAUTIFUL!!!!! Thank you Oleo Ranch!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexia, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My family consist of 6 adults and 4 children. We love this place. Cabin is very roomy with good fridge, stove, oven and plenty of hot water. It is rustic with a huge fireplace. Deck goes all the way around the cabin and you can sit and drink coffe on the deck and view wildlife. Propane lites are adequate. bedrooms are big enough and comfortable. It is a wonderful getaway not really roughing but enough to make you feel that you have stepped back in time. Saw lots of wildlife and caught lots of fish. Will go back as long as I am able.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Wow, my family (I have 8 children) have been here numerous times, except it is so popular it is hard to get reservations unless made 6 months in advance. I am writing this review after reading the First Review posted, which must have been written by someone who has lived in Dallas all their life, and has no appreciation for God's creation. Yes, no electricity and no cell service - Like I say AWESOME!! Oleo is on Cieblo Creek and on the Continential Divide. If you like nature, you will see wildlife everywhere, including Moose, and a Billion Stars in the Sky at night. You are renting a cabin, (large, roomy,rustic), you are not at resort. Neat Freaks and Country Club snobs should avoid. Excellent trout fishing, and fun times abound from Lake City to Creede and everywhere in between.

Room Tip: Staff are caretakers, not servants to wait on you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

The area surrounding the Oleo Ranch is beautiful. Lots of wildlife and gorgeous mountains. The staff that runs it, the service, and the accommodations were horrible. We had a group of five and none of us would ever return even if they paid us to come back. To start with, you can't use the indoor fireplace because the smoke stays in the cabin. 2 of our guests couldn't use the beds upstairs because of smoke inhalation and had to sleep on the floor. There is no electricity so everything runs off of propane and to make it worse the propane lighting system doesn't work correctly so we had to sometimes use flashlights and candles to see. The refrigerator is about half the size of a normal fridge, so you really got to plan out what you want to keep cold. They advertise it as "A Poor Man's Spread" (that is literally the sign when you enter) and that is actually giving it more credit than it is due. The beds are like boards and the blankets (not even comforters) are 100% polyester that feels like plastic on your skin. Plus you only get one blanket per bed. Our cabin (the large "Loft") only had one propane heater that wouldn't stay lit, so the cabin was very cold and we were only provided with one polyester blanket per bed. The staff is very backwoods and non-friendly. We seriously felt like we were in the movie "Deliverence". They allow animals but you can tell they don't like them being there. When we drove into Lake City (which is a cool little town about 20 minutes away) and mentioned to the locals that we were staying at the Oleo Ranch, we found out that it is known as a real hole in the wall spot. Lastly, we cleaned our cabin thoroughly when we departed, it was immaculate and much cleaner than when we received it. Sorry for all the negative vibes but to be honest that is exactly what we got from staying there and would never ever go back. If you want a nice, relaxing, enjoyable get away in the mountains....I would look for another spot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oleo Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oleo Ranch

Address: County Road 17, Lake City, CO 81130
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At 10,500 feet of elevation, a breathtaking view of the Rocky Mountains surrounds Oleo Ranch in south central Colorado. Miles and miles of scenic trails for hiking, photography, fishing, hunting, or just relaxing await you upon arrival. The colorful wildflowers in summer and the spectacular fall foliage are seasonal highlights. Five stocked ponds and 1.5 miles of Cebolla Creek provide guests with private fishing. Beginners to the avid fly fisherman will have ample opportunity to wet their lines. Located just 18 miles south of Lake City, Co., Oleo Ranch is two miles below the Continental Divide and joins the La Garita Wilderness. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oleo Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.