We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Experience in Earthly Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at the Lake

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at the Lake
Save
You added The Inn at the Lake to your Saves list
600 Co. Rd. 33, Lake City, CO 81235   |  
Hotel amenities
Huntsville, Texas, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Heavenly Experience in Earthly Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Inn at the Lake, Lake City, Colorado July 5-14, 2012. It was so wonderful; the comradery, hospitality, scenery, accommodations and overall experience! From the time we arrived, we felt welcomed and like we were home! They had just updated and redecorated our king room with a fishing theme and a temperpedic bed. It was so quant and comfortable. David and Rosie Whitelock provided a hot breakfast with fresh fruit each morning for the guests, and we sing a song and start with prayer and a short devotion. We would then go our own ways for the day and after a wonderful day of relaxing, off-roading, hiking or various other activities, we would come back home. The view from the inn was unbelievable! The mountains and trees as a backdrop and reflecting off of the georgeous blue Lake San Cristobal. We look forward to coming back and bringing another couple with us. We will highly recommend The Inn at the Lake to all our friends, family and acquaintances.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innatthelake, Owner at The Inn at the Lake, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for your gracious review of the Inn at the Lake. We were glad you were the first to experience our brand new renovated King Room. We enjoyed having you here and look forward to having you here next year and meeting your friends. Tell them we don't lie about the view. I truly think it is one of the most beautiful scenes in America right off our front porch for all our guests to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

The setting is gorgeous, the rooms are comfortable, the service is great (they deserve a 6 our of 5), and the breakfast buffet is out of this world. But most important the words of encouragement from the Whitelocks and their staff and they way they live out their faith in service to others gave my faith a tremendous boost. Everyone of every background is welcomed with open arms and will depart wrapped in the warmth of the people at the Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Accommodations were comfortable and clean. An amazingly good and plentiful breakfast was followed by a short devotional challenging the guests to become better Christians. Much camaraderie was experienced among the guests, volunteers (who staff the lodge) and hosts on the beautiful porch facing the lake. This is truly a ministry of sharing.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

The Inn on the Lake, graciously hosted by David & Rosie Whitelock, provides the opportunity to renew, refresh and revitalize. An awesome breakfast is provided every morning- a sit down with David & Rosie and be served kind of breakfast, not a serve yourself a waffle kind of experience. After breakfast, one of the Whitelocks share a devotional for the day. They use scripture and personal experience to challenge and encourage everyone there. The location is amazing- spectacular views of the mountain and Lake Sam Cristobal in your front yard.

I highly recommend that if you are in the area and you are weary, check out David & Rosie. They are like a cool drink of living water to a parched and thirsty soul!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

The owners are wonderful people who took a real interest in making us feel welcome. The accommodations are top notch and the view is outstanding. I would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Great views. Great base for exploring the San Juan Mountains. David and Rosie (the owners) are wonderful. I've been coming to Lake City for years and this is by far the best place I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Lake

Address: 600 Co. Rd. 33, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the Inn at the Lake, a cozy mountain retreat situated a few steps from Lake San Cristobal just outside of Lake City, Colorado where each of our ten rooms reflects the charm of a mountain lodge and has a stunning view of Lake San Cristobal and the mountains beyond. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.