We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too rustic for our taste.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Texan Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Texan Resort
Save
You added Texan Resort to your Saves list
860 Hinsdale 142 Ct Ct, Lake City, CO 81235   |  
Hotel amenities
Farmington, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Too rustic for our taste.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at Texan Resort, the first was a year earlier. Both times we were traveling with friends who had stayed there before.

Our first stay was in an individual one-room cabin, with a small kitchen, bed, couch and a full bath. The unit's log and heavy wood construction was unique and attractive, but obviously old. The room was reasonably clean and the kitchen had the basics--sink, stove and refrigerator. The bed was far too soft for comfort, the linens were worn (I have better towels in my shop ragbin).

Our second stay was in an upgraded cabin with the couple we were traveling with. The unit was a two-storey, two bedroom plus a double loft, two bath cabin built in 2008. We were informed of the upgrade opportunity when we checked in for the individual cabins we had reserved. The upgrade was for the same rate as two individual units, and is available during slow periods, so you should ask for that if you're traveling then. When we saw the interior of the upgrade, we jumped at the offer. The newer construction was much more attractive, and the cabin was far more spacious and light than the individual units. And, it was right on the river, providing a most pleasurable background. Once again, though, the linens were old, a bit threadbare, and the pillows were more like large pot holders, very little cushion for sleeping. We also made the "mistake" of selecting a loft bedroom directly above our companions' bedroom, but with an adjacent bath. There are no rugs to muffle footsteps, and the upper flooring is also the lower ceiling. If we do this again, we'll take one of the two downstairs bedrooms and walk upstairs to the bathroom.

The most pleasant part of Texan Resort is the grounds and the bordering river. There are many opportunities for a nice walk among the trees or along the river. There are also fire rings and grill units available at most of the units, though many of the grills are in various stages of disrepair. We wondered among the vacant units until we found a suitable grill and relocated it.

Wen we next stay in Lake City, we'll try a different resort for comparison. Our overall impression is that Texan Resort is past its prime.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place for our whole family while on our vacation. The Texan Resort has a great price what you receive. All amenities provided, even fire pits and fire wood. Lake City is a great place to bring children and adults. Saw mule deer every day.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the most unique Independence Day ever. Not only did we do the usual fishing, hiking, and off roading, this year we experienced the parade and sense of community at their town center gathering. The shoe-kicking contest had us in stitches. We stayed at the Texan for the first time and were impressed by the hospitality and friendliness of the staff/management. They went out of their way to accommodate our last minute reservations. Our room was very clean and thematic (bird watching). The river was so peaceful with a few pools full of willing trout, almost in our back yard. When we realized we left something behind, we called and they were nice enough to toss it in the mail. Phyllis and her team took great care of us and I wanted everyone to know how special the whole trip was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Yea, i was referred too by some friends and didn't know what to expect. We had a great time, wildlife everywhere! Good fishing on-site, cabins fully stocked right on the river. Fires just off the porch, and friendly guest-neighbors. Made some friends here and can't wait till this summer, just reserved actually;)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coloorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in two different cabins. Both were not clean. Apparantly they expect the guests to do all the cleaning, and do not clean up after the guests leave. Spider webs, dirty bathrooms, dirty dishes were encountered. Also the beds and other furniture were cheap and uncomfortable. Polyester sheets were on the bed. Shocking to have such poor quality when you're spending $140 a night for 2 people. Would never recommend such a run down and dirty place.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

This was recommended to us from some friends, and it was worth the trip. It made an excellent base camp for us as we explored the area on bikes. The rooms were very quiet through the night but a little dusty. Locals in Lake City were very friendly as was the owner of the Texan. I will recommend this for any of friends looking to escape as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

Went to this resort on a friend's recommendation if I wanted to be out of the city. This place couldn't be more of what I'm looking for. Scenery is amazing! It's very relaxing and there so much to do; wish I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Texan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Texan Resort

Address: 860 Hinsdale 142 Ct Ct, Lake City, CO 81235
Location: United States > Colorado > Lake City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Lake City
Number of rooms: 38

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.